We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT! Unusual and delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obica Mozzarella Bar - Madison Avenue

Obica Mozzarella Bar - Madison Avenue
Ranked #1,126 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Obica Mozzarella Bar is a casual contemporary Italian dining concept which offers the freshest buffalo mozzarellas and a wide range of traditional products and recipes including artisanal pizza. Obica NY Madison's tables are in a private corner of the stunning Atrium of the IBM Building, graced with enormous bamboo plants and oversize sculpture garden that make the Atrium a tourist landmark and the perfect spot for people-watching bustling Madison Avenue behind the floor-to-ceiling glass walls.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT! Unusual and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat lunch on a Sunday in Midtown. We ran into this place, which we thought must be Asian by its name. It turned out to be a wonderful cafe that served Buffalo Mozzarella cheese that you could pair with various items as a tasting type of menu. We sat at the bar and ordered a bottle of red wine and some creamy Buffalo Mozzarella and onion spread and prosciutto. They keep the rustic bread coming as long as you ask and the service was very attentive. I would never have thought of such an idea for a restaurant. We loved it and would recommend it to anyone!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    74
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, Ca
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mozzarella...yes please!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hard to resist cheese! We accidentally found this one, and enjoyed a mid-day cheese and beer break! It's inside one of the Trump properties, in an atrium so it was warm and protected but sunny. Italian beer & food, though the name seems more Asian (?)We had a nice snack and had fun sampling the different varieties of mozzarella- who knew?! Restroom is a walk down into the building, but clean once you get there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iwannag0there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having eaten at the Toronto location several time (and loving it) I was really looking forward to lunch here with a friend.
Wow, so disappointed......
Their lunch menu is extremely small, lacking most of the items available for dinner - you couldn't even order one of their amazingly delicious pizzas, something the Toronto location always has on their lunch menu. Our waiter thought he was being fast and efficient, but was actually curt and annoyed. The buratta was really good (which saves this review from being a 1 star), but the butternut squash soup was meh at best. Both were overpriced.
We ate as quickly as we good, gulped at the sticker shock of our final bill and left. Won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shamrock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
192 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good food, nonchalant service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch with my son, he had a good pasta dish and I took the large cheese and meat cuts platter, both of excellent quality and well prepared. Waiter service does not match the quality of the setting though since we had to ask twice for a drink at the start of the meal and then he left for his lunchbreak himself leaving it to a collegue for us to pay the bill; sloppy.

Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A calm oasis at the back of Trump Tower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We popped in to this calm oasis at the back of Trump Tower following a busy morning exploring the Upper East Side and Midtown areas of Manhattan.

I'd never been to a mozzarella bar before and wasn't too sure what to expect. My mozzarella loving vegetarian fiance was keen so we gave it a try!

I was pleasantly surprised - a huge selection of (you've guessed it) mozzarella and accompanying dishes to choose from, I went for a thinly sliced beef and smoked mozzarella pairing which was delicious.

The staff were fun and friendly and the food was excellent value. We could have stayed here for a while enjoying a beer and calmly watching the world go by through the window.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obica Mozzarella Bar - Madison Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Obica Mozzarella Bar - Madison Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing