We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mozzarella...yes please!”

Obica Mozzarella Bar - Madison Avenue
Ranked #1,256 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Obica Mozzarella Bar is a casual contemporary Italian dining concept which offers the freshest buffalo mozzarellas and a wide range of traditional products and recipes including artisanal pizza. Obica NY Madison's tables are in a private corner of the stunning Atrium of the IBM Building, graced with enormous bamboo plants and oversize sculpture garden that make the Atrium a tourist landmark and the perfect spot for people-watching bustling Madison Avenue behind the floor-to-ceiling glass walls.
Fresno, Ca
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mozzarella...yes please!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hard to resist cheese! We accidentally found this one, and enjoyed a mid-day cheese and beer break! It's inside one of the Trump properties, in an atrium so it was warm and protected but sunny. Italian beer & food, though the name seems more Asian (?)We had a nice snack and had fun sampling the different varieties of mozzarella- who knew?! Restroom is a walk down into the building, but clean once you get there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iwannag0there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    74
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having eaten at the Toronto location several time (and loving it) I was really looking forward to lunch here with a friend.
Wow, so disappointed......
Their lunch menu is extremely small, lacking most of the items available for dinner - you couldn't even order one of their amazingly delicious pizzas, something the Toronto location always has on their lunch menu. Our waiter thought he was being fast and efficient, but was actually curt and annoyed. The buratta was really good (which saves this review from being a 1 star), but the butternut squash soup was meh at best. Both were overpriced.
We ate as quickly as we good, gulped at the sticker shock of our final bill and left. Won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shamrock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good food, nonchalant service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch with my son, he had a good pasta dish and I took the large cheese and meat cuts platter, both of excellent quality and well prepared. Waiter service does not match the quality of the setting though since we had to ask twice for a drink at the start of the meal and then he left for his lunchbreak himself leaving it to a collegue for us to pay the bill; sloppy.

Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A calm oasis at the back of Trump Tower”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We popped in to this calm oasis at the back of Trump Tower following a busy morning exploring the Upper East Side and Midtown areas of Manhattan.

I'd never been to a mozzarella bar before and wasn't too sure what to expect. My mozzarella loving vegetarian fiance was keen so we gave it a try!

I was pleasantly surprised - a huge selection of (you've guessed it) mozzarella and accompanying dishes to choose from, I went for a thinly sliced beef and smoked mozzarella pairing which was delicious.

The staff were fun and friendly and the food was excellent value. We could have stayed here for a while enjoying a beer and calmly watching the world go by through the window.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I got a Sfilatino con Speck Panini -- error”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We should have taken a table "inside" Obika where the menu that most people are reviewing looked pretty interesting. I goofed. Everyone sitting at an atrium table in the IBM building was on lunch break. All the tables were filled. It looked pretty nice, and so did the sandwiches available for "carry-out" to the atrium, so I ordered a panini. Once pressed and flattened, I could barely find the meat on my sandwich and the greens were only a bitter, green memory. For $9, perhaps the thinnest "Sfilatino con Speck" Panini I had ever seen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyFineFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obica Mozzarella Bar - Madison Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Obica Mozzarella Bar - Madison Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing