We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad intimidating, but so worth it!”
Review of Beauty & Essex

Beauty & Essex
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #405 of 13,843 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Cross street: Stanton & Rivington
Transit: by Train: F, J, M, or Z train to Delancey/Essex Street. by Bus: M9 or 14A to Essex Street
Reviewed July 12, 2016

Took my mom on a trip to NYC last Christmas and this place came highly recommended. While initially we were a tad intimidated (the exterior is a bit cagey and the crowd was posh), we LOVED IT. We split the grilled cheese and tomato soup dumplings (HOLY!), the lobster tacos, empanadas, the rib eye, and the Elvis sunday (being from Memphis and all). It was so much food, but we wanted to try so much! We really lived it up and really enjoyed this evening...right down to having a glass of champagne in the ladies room!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jennifermS1229PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (2,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 901 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

We had heard of B&E and gave it a shot on a Friday night. Thankfully we had the forethought to make a reservation.
The restaurant is tucked behind a door in a Storefront selling costume jewelry and odd lots.
Slip through the door and you're transferred to a time before. Low lighting. Grand staircase. Small bar and tables lining the walls.
Food was eclecticism . Bar and wine menu diverse.
Pricey but it's NY and your paying for ambience as well as food /beverage

Recommend!! Parking is a bit of a trick so plan that out in advance.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank FireWireDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Beauty & Essex is such a fun place to go for tapas! The restaurant is decorated like an antique pawn shop at the entrance, with classic guitars on the wall and showcases of jewelry.

As soon as you go through the door, the restaurant changes to extravagant decor with dim lighting. The chandelier at the entrance is massive and very pretty! They also have a huge window in the ceiling that is beautiful during the day and at night. The tables are huge and decorated with large vases filled with plants and peacock feathers. It is a very unique restaurant with a trendy ambiance.

Dishes I loved:
-Crab Rangoon Jewels on Toast: Simply divine. A must have!
-Apricot & Ricotta Jewels on Toast
-Grilled Cheese Dumplings in tomato soup spoons: really cool presentation, pretty good taste
-Short Rib over Mushroom Risotto - My favorite entree
-Salmon Entree
-Salmon Ceviche appetizer
-Lobster Tacos for brunch
-Butterscotch Mousse with Cookie Spoons dessert

Underwhelming dishes that I would not order again:
-Crab Cake BLT
-Scrambled Eggs Jewels on Toast
-Lobster & Chorizo Hash: Lacked flavor

None of the "underwhelming" dishes tasted bad at all, they just were not as memorable or impressive as the others!

Service was consistently good during both visits. Even though Beauty & Essex always seems to be busy, they do a great job at taking care of their tables and making recommendations! This restaurant is a great place to take a date or celebrate a special occasion! It's also a fun place to go for brunch & cocktails with a large group!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jblatz716
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

This place was so good that we went back a second time. Both with a group of people. The service is great. From the moment we arrived we were well catered for. Cocktails in the meeting area where quick. Menu and wine list had something for everybody. The fit out and lighting on this two level establishment is really cool. Great place, great food, couldn't fault it.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Harrigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

We recently celebrated an NYU graduation here. It was a repeat visit (after having a great experience our previous visit). What an awesome place - the food is innovative and really good; the staff is friendly; and the setting is exciting. Great vibe. We have eaten both upstairs (a little more intimate) and downstairs (high energy space). Good drinks in the bar, too. Given the elegance and the quality of the food and service, it really is not as expensive as one might fear.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelmQ0587VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Beauty & Essex also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Beauty & Essex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.