We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! Lovely food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beauty & Essex

Beauty & Essex
Reserve with OpenTable
Beauty & Essex is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: Stanton & Rivington
Transit: by Train: F, J, M, or Z train to Delancey/Essex Street. by Bus: M9 or 14A to Essex Street
Description: Located in the historic Essex Street Market Building, Essex is a loft-like multi-level space with contemporary cuisine inspired by the flavors of the Lower East Side. Essex is known for its weekday dinner and happy hour specials as well as its lively weekend dinner and bar scene. The weekend brunch is a New York institution and is always a top pick on Open Table Diner’s Choice and other sites. The expansive layout allows for intimate balcony and banquette seating as well as festive group dining and private parties.
Oxford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place! Lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We went here on recommendation from a friend. It was a lovely place, great atmosphere and lovely food! We had been to several places to eat and drink the days before this and hadn't had a decent cocktail, we got one (or two ;-)) here! The staff were very attentive and explained the menu to us so we didn't over order. Would definitely come back here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    416
    128
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, beverages and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The conceit that you are entering through a "secret" door in a pawn shop is less than impressive, but everything else about this restaurant is top notch. They have a great selection of artisinal cocktails, which seems to be the "ante" for stylish restaurants in NY these days. Still, the list here holds up its function to set the stage for a great dining experience. These are mostly "small plates" so think tapas / sharing. Every dish we had was delicious. Ricotta on toast. Eggplant on flat bread. Risotto with brussel sprouts (we love the taste of sprouts and the flavor was not overpowered by the rich earthy risotto). Meatballs. As far as value for the dollar goes, you can't beat the ribs - 6 large ribs with a side of onion rings, or the burger - a hefty cheeseburger with grilled onions and a large side of cajun fries. The desserts were heavenly, rich, creamy, decadent and flavorful. The apple pie had a touch of orange which was great. The molten chocolate cake was very rich and dark and semi-sweet, a great counterpoint to the ice cream on top. The butterscotch pot du creme was great - the only dessert we finished - but there was not as much flavor distinction between the layers as we expected. The decor is impressive. Captures the speakeasy feel they are aiming for. Room is crowded but nice background music and not so loud you can't hear the table conversation. One highlight is the ladies bathroom with free champaign bar (or so my wife tells me). Prices are fair for a high end restaurant in NY. Some of the cocktails are rather small for the price, but this is also not unusual for Manhattan. The chef is known for being a tough critic and perfectionist when he is a judge on Chopped. Well, his restaurant can back up his high standards. They was not an off note in any of the dishes we tried. 8 items and 8 successes both as to recipe and as to execution. Kudos!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

First time here and it was a really cool NY experience. Loved the opportunity to try sooo many different foods in bite size portions. Really surprised that I was full at the end of the meal but I was definitely satisfied. It was pretty loud but that just added to the ambience. Looking for a unique NY experience...then this is a MUST.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cool cool cool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Cool entrance, awesome food. A bit chilly in the corner we were seated, however nothing big. A speaker was right above our head, so quite difficult to speak to each other sometimes. Again great food! Higly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Mads O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decadent dining (with a fun pawn shop twist)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Yes ok the pawn shop entrance is more for show than anything but what a way to enter the most opulent restaurant you'll see in a while. Think 1920's Al Capone speakeasy mixed with opulent furnishings and dimmed lighting.

The meal was tremendous - we had a mix of starters before our mains and I can highly recommend the tomato dumplings.
For the main, the egg and zucchini pasta and the burger were the standout dishes.

Ladies - when you use the toilets, on your way out you are greeted with a glass of champagne to accompany you back to your table, lovely touch :D

Def worth a visit - book on Opentable

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NAT_LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beauty & Essex also viewed

 

Been to Beauty & Essex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing