We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Secret”

Central Park Sunset Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Sunset Tour of Central Park
Ranked #129 of 610 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Extensive Central Park tours offered at sunset, the most beautiful time of day. Your guide will bring the park to life for you while bringing you to well known sites like Strawberry Fields, the Central Park Zoo, Sheep Meadow, Tavern on the Green and Bethesda Fountain; as well as lesser known park gems. Visit The Ramble: Central Park's wild woods, Belvedere Castle, The Shakespeare Garden, and The Arsenal. Along the way, your guide will share stories of the park's history, explain the architecture, and reveal locations from your favorite movies.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Great Secret”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

To discover brand new things in a town where you have been everywhere and know everything about it is quite unique. Bring water and good shoes, especially during the Summer. If you are lucky enought to have Carolyn Walsh as your guide you will not be disappointed. she has a thorough knowledge of the Park as well as the City of New York. Run, don't walk to the first chance you get to go on this tour but don't forget the good shoes.
Leo H

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    15
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Park Tour”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a great Central Park tour. The park has a nice feel at sunset. Our guide was Carolyn and she did a great job. Lots of bits of information about the park and how it came to be. There is a LOT of walking, so come prepared with comfy shoes! This tour was informative and lot of fun. I would highly recommend it. There are food carts in the park where you can buy drinks and snacks. Also, there is a restroom break in the middle of the tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShastaCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really excellent tour!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A group of 4 of us went on this tour and it was really excellent. Most of us had been to Central Park before but never been guided around and told all about the park's history. We even found new spots that we can go back and check out again in the future. We would totally recommend this tour for New Yorkers and visitors alike. Matt, our tour guide, was very informative and friendly as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Matt was awesome”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The sunset tour of Central Park has been the highlight of my NYC trip this year. His vast knowledge about Central Park was great. Now if I can just remember some of it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DSWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Magical Evening”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Long shadows, the scent of flowers in the air, cool breeze off the lake - and plenty to see. As a frequent visitor to Central Park, I was hoping to see it in a new way. Carolyn shared so much interesting history in an engaging way; pointing out small details that I had never noticed, that it felt brand new. Our group was small enough that we could hear her and get our questions answered. While we walked, she kept a nice brisk pace through the long stretches, but we had plenty of time to pause and photograph at the points of interest. I wish she had not waited so long for the folks in the group who wandered slowly behind; they quickly learned that she would wait and took advantage. So we wound up standing around a bit too much. Otherwise she's first rate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Park Sunset Tours also viewed

 

Been to Central Park Sunset Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing