We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crisp Outside and a Good Chew”
Review of Ess-a-Bagel

Ess-a-Bagel
Ranked #17 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
243 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Crisp Outside and a Good Chew”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here many times and always enjoy it. The everything bagel is my favorite, while my wife prefers the sesame. My go to spread is the lox cream cheese and my wife likes the plain. Sometimes we get them toasted and at other times we don't. I think it depends on whether or not we want a little added crunch. We ate here twice over a long weekend and the first time was a little better than the second because of a mix up on my bagel that resulted in me getting lox rather than lox spread. I accepted it and paid for it and enjoyed it---I just hadn't planned on getting a breakfast sandwich---there were not many slices of lox and I had read of similar issues. All in all, it is a fun place to eat and watch visitors who are unfamiliar with the ordering process look like deer in the headlights. I think the confusion occurs when people walk to the take out bagels only area instead of getting a "dressed" bagel in the regular line when they want it to go. The servers seem to take it in good stride because they seem to realize that their idea of speedy service just doesn't jive with some first time visitors. The bagels are large, fresh, and a perfect way to start the day. I knocked down the ratings by one circle because of the mix up on receiving lox rather than lox spread one day. I guess I could have refused it but hey, sometimes you roll with the punches.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1NCfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    336
    104
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great breakfast bagel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

So much choice of fillings & bagels & at good prices. I was here twice at 6 a.m. but the third time when I fancied a bagel for lunch I gave up becaue the line was so long. Great place for an early breakfast though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scousepeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is where you get a real NY bagel”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are many excellent bagels in this city but these are the BEST bagels. Why? Warm, chewy, and huge. The experience is NY too. You walk in to the most delicious smell and you will see two lines. Along the wall on the left is the bagel sandwich line... it is always long and getting a sandwich increases the cash outlay. But, for those of us who need bagels for the week, we go to the smaller counter on the back wall and get a baker's dozen of warm (sometimes hot) delicious bagels. You can ask for a small (or big) container of cream cheese or butter or lox spread.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCR_10029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Bagels and other breakfast items Close by the hotel and reasonable prices. Quick service, and a wide variety of bagels and cream cheeses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrasmus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eh, it is ok”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I wanted an authentic NY bagel after hearing people rave about them my whole life. I searched the web and found this was voted one of the best, so we decided to check it out. I got a plain bagel with chocolate chip cream cheese and an iced coffee. My husband got a pizza bagel and a soda.
The bagel was just ok. It tasted like a Lender's bagel. The cream cheese though was AMAZING. IT was like eating cheesecake on a bagel....so good. The iced coffee was good, but not the best. The price was sort of high for what we had (about 15 dollars for our breakfast).
We also tried Murray's bagels and I recommend it over Ess A Bagel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ess-a-Bagel also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ess-a-Bagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing