We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can get much better in New York”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jazz on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jazz on the Park
Bath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“can get much better in New York”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

stayed here one night before beginning a tour, they did not pass on any of the info my tour guide had left for when each person joining the tour arrived there. Squeaky beds, super noisy AC, doors slamming all night. slept about 4 hours for the one hour I was there and they didn't start serving breakfast until 9am so if you want to get up and out early you miss out on it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    156
    130
    68
    59
See reviews for
16
35
269
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Apart from being really close to central park and a subway station i didnt like this overpriced hostel! Our private room was just an uncomfortable squeaky double bed in a room with nothing in it! Bland! The cleaners use the strongest smelling bleach when cleaning bathrooms and mopping which ruined a few pieces of my clothing from not being rinsed properly! Breakfast was one other highlight except we had to use plastic forks to eat cereal and spread butter and jam on toast! We were lucky New York City has so much to offer, we didnt have to spend much time at the hostel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Blumenau, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The only good thing about this hostel is it's location (which it's not the best, but then it could be a lot worse). They were not organised, as they didn't know the type of room we made reservations for. We had trouble falling asleep because the doors on the hallways kept slamming through the night. Our room smelled funky, and it looked dirty. There were no places to hang or leave clean clothes or towels in the bathroom while we took our showers, so our only option was to leave it on the floor (wet and dirty). The breakfast is free, but it's not good and there aren't a lot of places to sit. The website says wi-fi is free, but it's not! We had to pay for it. We had two lockers in our room, but they were broken and if I didn't have a padlock I wouldn't be able to lock my stuff in there. Keycards usually worked only on the second or third try. The staff wasn't prepared, there were times when I needed them and there was absolutely no one at the reception, and when I went looking for them they were all watching a game on tv in the kitchen. I would not recommend this place, if you're after a hostel in New York this is not the one -- keep looking!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blumenau, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this hostel for 4 days. There is no atmosphere and they nickel and dime you. We asked for towels and had to leave our i.ds with the receptionist until we returned them. This is inconvenient as you do not want to have your passaport left there overnight. They could demand them at check out for example. We stayed at another hostel in San Francisco afterwards which was way better prepared and more fun. We didn´t think the bathrooms were clean enough, there´s no place to hang your towel or clothes. They do not make sure the guests obey their regulations. Throughout the night we heard slamming doors and on a number of occasions we caught girls in the men´s bathroom. We aren´t staying at this hostel again when we visit New York again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were staying at HI hostel which is awesome they were booked out our last night so unfortunately we had to stay at jazz on the park. They said they only had 2 beds left and charged us $66 each put us in a 4 bed dorm. The room wasn't full, beds were uncomfortable, Showers were cold with no place to hang clothes,no atmosphere even movie night was cancelled, staff had no idea about anything, and no kitchen. Would have been cheaper to stay in a hotel. Wouldn't recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We took a room in this hostel as the last one we were in was booked out. When we arrived the girls on reception were not helpful at all we asked questions about surrounding area and they knew nothing. After checking in I found it.... The worlds most uncomfortable bed ripped torn and springs hanging out. I then went to have a shower as a guy I'm not to fussy but the bathrooms were a joke cold water one door in and 5 showers all joined. Long story short I would not stay here or recommend anyone stay here it's over priced and offers nothing in return check out hosteling international around the corner

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felix123_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed here for just one night--as the next couple nights I was staying at a hotel in Midtown with my friends. The rate was right, and it seemed to have the features for which I was looking in a hostel. I appreciated the location in terms of being very walkable to the Subway and close to Central Park (not that I would ever walk in Central Park as a young woman all by myself at night--which is when I was there).

I was starving when I arrived and my Urban Spoon app didn't really come up with anything that interested me. I really just wanted something like a Subway tuna sandwich but there seemed to be no low-key chain restaurants like that in a walkable distance. The whole area was pretty unexciting. I ended up going to a B-rated deli hoping the cheese steak I got was not going to give me a food-borne illness (it did not).

I was in a double mixed room, so ended up sharing with a very nice guy. Unfortunately, I couldn't sleep well because there were people outside on the basement patio talking and smoking all night and even though the window was closed, it sounded like they were right next door, and the smoke smell seeped into the room. Also, whenever my bunk buddy below me tossed and turned, the bed creaked and kept me up.

The thing that scares me most about staying in hostels is the bathroom. The showers just made me cringe. Unfortunately, I really do like showering daily, so I had to bite the bullet. Luckily for me, I did not have to wash my hair, so i was able to be in and out pretty quickly. Only 1 shower was working but luckily I didn't have to wait. There were hooks right outside where I hung my clothes but there was nowhere to put my things, including my room key. I had to put them right next to the shower curtain on the floor and whenever I needed to bend to get something, I had to be careful not to hit the wall. It was rather unpleasant. No complaints about water temp.

Also, I got there in the evening, and the bathroom sink was obviously dirty with toothpaste and whatever else (they are trough sinks with multiple faucets and drains). When I was in the bathroom the next morning, it was still dirty. I felt like I never had the opportunity to use a clean bathroom.

I didn't enjoy the breakfast at all--there was white toast and cereal with only whole milk. I was glad I brought my own oatmeal to-go thing.

The one cool thing was that it was a Thursday night and every Thursday and Sunday they do a free comedy show in the basement. Basically, local comedians come and try out their new jokes on the crowd! It was entertaining! Also met some cool people and learned about other countries--always the beauty of being in a hostel. I'm gonna stick to hotels though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#396 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#18 of 163 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#15 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on the Park

Property: Jazz on the Park
Address: 36 West 106 Street, New York City, NY 10025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Jazz on the Park 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trip to New York is not complete without a stay at Jazz on the Park Hostel. Best known for our funky coffee bar, weekly pub crawls, and summer BBQs, staying at Jazz on the Park Hostel guarantees good times as well as comfort. Jazz on the Park Hostel is located in the heart of the Upper West Side, along Central Park and super close to subways and buses, so the whole City is at your fingertips. Explore local hangouts or walk through Central Park to 5th Avenue and the Museum Mile, where you will find the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, and much more. If you just feel like relaxing, chill in our Basement Lounge and swap stories over a game of pool. Jazz on the Park Hostel is the perfect launch pad for all your New York adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Jazz on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing