We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Harlem YMCA
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
$104
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$327
$244
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$177
$170
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$221
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$129
$123
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mela(New York City)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$156
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Lotte New York Palace(New York City)
$425
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
$192
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
33
86
59
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
86
59
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedssubway stationadam clayton powellny attractionsplace to sleepshared bathroomstayed two nightscentral parkmini fridgesmall roomwould stay here againhosteltoiletwifigymfloorcloset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 209 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is the perfect spot for the perfect price. My first experience with a hostel and would definitely do it again. While traveling in New York you will spend a lot of money so saving on your resting place is great. The location is easy to get to from LaGuardia Airport via subway and or the public bus, only 2.50. I took a cab when we arrived and it was 28.30, whew too much. The staff was very friendly, the only complaint is the bathroom but it is what you would expect in a shared bathroom. No televisions in the rooms but we were exhausted so that didn't matter, but there is a lounge in the lower level you can watch television in. This was perfect for the price we had bunk-beds which did just what it was suppose to allowed me to rest. Small but who stays in their room on vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1127
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Harlem YMCA is situated right by the subway station as well as by some great places to get food. The staff were fantastic - extremely helpful. One even printed out an A3 sized poster of the subway lines when I lost mine! All their facilities and exercise classes were open to us and they had free wifi as well. The rooms are simple and so are the bathrooms, but are clean and tidy. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone travelling on a small budget.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Accommodation basic with no meals on offer at this location. Stayed 7 nights. There were plenty of coffee shops near hand with takeaways. There were kitchens and microwaves to cook your own food. Place clean and staff very friendly. Pity we went when Sandy was going on. We didn't get to see all the attractions we had planned to see because of the storm. We did get a small refund of our NY attractions card but I felt the refund was quite small. A bit of compensation was on the way when the transport was free from the Wednesday to the Saturday. A pint of lager worked out at about 8 euro, but that was in Manhattan. Back home the same pint would be 3.50 euro. Be prepared to pay a good bit extra when in NY. 3 hours wait in JFK on arrival. Very slow customs and immigration. My mobile didn't work at all after I was assured by O2 that there would be no problems while in NY. Everyone else on different networks experienced no problems. Would go again, but maybe in the summertime.

Room Tip: The room at the front were I stayed was good and quite, as there does not seem to be too much traffic on the road outside.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johncastlefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Harlem Y for 2 nights. The location was fine, and actually quite easy to get to from La Guardia airport. The subways were close by and efficient, so getting around the city was really no problem from this location. Furthermore, you can get breakfast and lunch vouchers to have a meal at a local buffet (focus on soul food). We gave that a go, and really enjoyed it. I would also like to add that we had this preconceived notion that Harlem was going to be sketchy, but it was not. This neighbourhood in particular felt safe and comfortable even late at night.

There was some confusion with our check-in... and what we considered to be some unnecessary waiting, but it got resolved. I would like to say that the guys working during the day were much more courteous and professional than the lady working the night shift, but it really didn't change our opinion on the place as a whole. Our room on the 10th floor had a bunk bed, a dresser and a fridge. There were also towels and soaps, which was a nice surprise. We had a shower room right across from our door that no one else seemed to know about, so it was empty whenever we required it. The halls were a bit noisy - it seemed impossible to close doors without them slamming. I don't think anyone was intentionally being noisy, it's just the nature of the building. The common room down stairs was nice - free wifi and possibly a place to meet fellow travellers. I wish I remembered my bathing suit because the pool looked nice as well.

All in all, I would probably stay here again as it was a good deal and we had a good experience with the friendly and knowledgeable staff. It might be better to stay here when you're travelling with a friend rather than a significant other, as the bunk beds are not an ideal romantic setting, but you can certainly squeeze 2 in a bed if needed :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bananas2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Ymca is a very pocket friendly hotel in nyc. The location is easily accessible by metro.
Very international back packers.
In our booking, wit was stated that no check in allow after 12 mid night. Our flight was delayed and we tried contacting them. They never pick up calls after numerous tries. We even left a voice mail and email. Luckily we arrived just before mid night.
Upon arrival, we did the 'first part' of check in and was told to do '2 nd' part on the morning. They even took our passport.
The next day,they lost the check in card we filled the night before and was told thatbwe could pay when we check out but5 minutes later,was told to pay.
The room is clean and no bed bugs HOWEVER although we are on the 10th floor, we can still hear the traffic downstairs. There is an air condition in The room, but it was extremely noisy, imagine a car with the engine turn on in the room. It's loud. The corridor was also noisy with ppl slamming their doors and talking loudly. On sunday night, i guess the cleaners were cleaning the toilet at 3 am. It was VERY noisy... Perhaps we are also unlucky enough to have a group of noisy spanish students staying on the same floor...so, be ware, it's not sound proof.
The rooms are clean with thick mattress and a small fridge. The bath room....it's shared and you can only use the 7th, 10th and 11th floor. The bath room has alot of hair on the floor. I think, it will be great if they have more bath rooms on every floor, either you wake up early to use the toilet or queue.
Wifi is only available on the common room on the ground floor.
In all, if you are really on a tight budget and dont mind noise, this is a good place. Cheap but i couldnt really recommend it though...

Room Tip: Avoid rm 1024 to 1026 as it is near the toilet and shared area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia K, General Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Leslie,

We're very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our hostel!

We appreciate your feedback about the overnight check-in. We do have 24 hour security to help facilitate overnight check-ins, but because security staff have no access to our booking system, only our trained guest rooms staff can complete the payment and check-in. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused you, and are always looking for ways to streamline the check-in process.

I also want to apologize about the noise. During the low season we plan to carpet the hallways which we hope will dampen some of the sound that travels.

Once again we appreciate your feedback, and will continue to work to provide the best possible experience for future guests.

Kind regards,
Thalia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews