We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nothing Spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Harlem YMCA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harlem YMCA
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing Spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I really didn't enjoy my stay here at the YMCA. I have heard that this hostel is suppose to be just somewhere to get a cheap stay but I will not be staying here again. The hospitality was good but the rooms and bathrooms were def. a 3 out of 10 rating. Easier just to spend an extra 20-50 dollars on a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia K, General Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your honest feedback about our guest rooms. We're very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time around and are working diligently to improve our facilities and services based on recommendations from guests like yourself. We are currently doing major renovations to our guest rooms floors which will include flat screen TVs in our deluxe rooms. A complete renovation of bathrooms on all floors has already been contracted for this year which will increase the number of restrooms available to our guests on each floor as well as the overall quality. I hope that you will get an opportunity to see the changes! Once again, we appreciate your review.

Sincerely,
Harlem Guest Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    62
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
22
43
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

YMCA would be the place...the hostel is extremely simple but at least they have beds and baths! And 24hours security, I would never recommend for anyone older than 25, can be humiliating.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hesoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia K, Guest Relations Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our site! Please let us know what we could have done differently or better to improve the experience next time. We strive to maintain an environment that is comfortable and appropriate for adults of all ages. We appreciate your honest feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I was looking for some cheap stay in NY for three nights and tried Harlem YMCA. It is truly cheap considering NY prices, reasonably located (1 minute walk to subway, 15 minutes ride to Times sq.), clean and safe (24/7 security) place to stay. Neighbourhoods could seem little gloomy at first sight, but it is nothing to be afraid of. Nearby IHOP restaurant serves tasty breakfasts (mmm the omelets), cheap chinese takeaway is two blocks away (5minutes walk). Rooms looks like small cells, but they are clean (and cleaned every day). Try to avoid rooms faced to main street (135st) - during night there used to be a lot of noise from ambulances!

Room Tip: Rooms facing 135st are noisy (ambulances from Harlem hospital are hear a lot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank m-bargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Useful informations about the hostel:
- Metro stations are five minutes away in each direction:
Station name: 135th street
Directions: Uptown/Bronx or Downtown/Queens/Brooklyn (map.jpg)
- Small Grocery Store: 135th/Adam Clayton Powell Blvd (7th Avenue), small bottle of water: 1$
- Breakfast: IHOP - International House of Pancakes, opposite of the Grocery, small stack of pancakes: 5,49$ - special (morning) offer stack/2.99ea
- Walking to the Central Park: 30 Minutes (normal walk speed)
- our room was on the 10th floor, we had 3 bathrooms (toilet, shower with hot water) on the floor
- our room: tv, bunk bed, closet, fridge, nice view on the skyline of NYC
- if the showers are occupied, you can always try the showers on the 11th floor (seperated rooms for men and women)
- there is a room (lounge with tvs and free WIFI access) in the basement reachable from the lobby
- the staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are simple but clean

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krangpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Harlem Y provides basic accommodation - a room with a bed, dresser, closet - shower and toilet down the hall. There is free wifi and a TV in the lounge downstairs. You can use any of the Y's facilities while there - pool, gym, etc. There are no frills. BUT - the place is absolutely spotless and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The subway is less than half a block away and there are plenty of delis and shops. I was in the area for a job interview and did not want to spend a lot of money for a hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SavvyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

the room was very average. the tv had no cable, and there was no reception for the telly. there was no hot water for a hot shower! they were also like those `gym showers`, where there is one big room with a couple of showers in it, as opposed to individual showers. but the staff were very friendly, especially the lady at the booth that took the payments and stuff. i would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arq16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We paid $323 for 3 nights stay for a double bed room which is rather pricey considering the location and condition of the rooms and bathrooms. The location is rather far away from downtown new york though the hostel is near a metro station. The conditions of the room is poorly maintained as the broken windows are boarded up by cardboards. But at least the bed was properly made and quite clean. The bathrooms are terrible and there is only one toilet per gender for the entire level. The conditions of the toilets are also poor as the toilet floods and looks very run down.

The service provided at the front desk and security is decent enough. The facilities include swimming pool, gym. But the internet is poor and can only be used in the basement.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geolpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#19 of 194 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#29 of 194 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#24 of 194 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Manhattan
American Dream Hostel
American Dream Hostel
#11 of 194 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Midtown
New York Budget Inn
New York Budget Inn
#5 of 194 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harlem YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlem YMCA

Property: The Harlem YMCA
Address: 180 W 135th St, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030-2902
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 194 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harlem YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get more and pay less, when you stay with us at the YMCA! Enjoy our full-service fitness center which includes swimming pool, steam room and sauna, and cardiovascular and strength training studios. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi and television in the tourist lounge, business center, daily housekeeping services, and 24-hour security. For travelers who are on the go, we are conveniently located near four subway lines (2/3, B/C) which run 24 hours a day. A 10 minute ride will take you to the most scenic and serene sections of Central Park, and 10 minutes more will take you to the heart of Manhattan and hotspots like Times Square, Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center. Stay in the neighborhood and admire the historic architecture and rich cultural sites on a guided tour through Harlem, get a taste of soul by Top Chef Master, Marcus Samuelsson at Red Rooster, and polish off the night with some smooth jazz on Sugar Hill. We have private single rooms as well as private doubles (bunk beds). Guests share common bathrooms which are conveniently located on each floor. • Free unlimited Wi-Fi (in tourist lounge)• Clean linens & towels provided • No curfew or lockout • Each room is private with own lock and key• Each room has air conditioning & refrigerator• 24 Hour security• Elevator building• Free Tourist Information and Maps. If you would like to inquire about group rates, or have additional questions please contact us!Please Note: All guests must be 13 years of age or older. Valid Photo ID is required to stay at the YMCA. Maximum length of stay is 25 days. Visitors are not permitted on the guest room floors. Check-in after 2pm, Check-out by 11am. Reservations may be cancelled up to 24 hours prior to arrival date without incurring penalty charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Budget Places and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harlem YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harlem Ymca Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing