We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revolutionary War Tour - Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Patriot Tours

Patriot Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Alexander Hamilton Walking Tour
Ranked #135 of 596 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Patriot Tours conducts Revolutionary War and Civil War Era walking tours of Lower Manhattan. We'll take you through the oldest parts of New York City and imagine it as it once was. You'll have a fantastically entertaining time while learning about the city's impressive history!
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Revolutionary War Tour - Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I took the Revolutionary War tour on Tuesday, 16 July - a brutally hot day in Manhattan. All we can say is that we were totally enchanted by Karens ability to weave a story and work in facts along the way. She was excellent. She was also very considerate in that she stopped several times along the walk and took advantage of the shade. The 2.5 hours flew. We have taken many walking tours in European cities and this was our first in NYC, it won't be our last. Karen is extremely well versed in the topic and times and has an ability to create a timeline that pulls every thing together!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PennyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband my two kids and I took the Revolutionary War tour during our stay in NYC. Our guide was extremely knowledgable and a very talented guide. I could not believe the wealth of knowledge she shared with us! Our family is huge history buffs and we learned so much during this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Revolutionary War Tour - HIGHLY recommend it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

There were four of us in our group, all born and raised in NYC. It was amazing how much we did not know about the history of lower Manhattan. We took the Revolutionary War tour with Karen and she was fantastic! No idea how she keeps all of the information straight in her head, but she was full of facts and many anecdotes. Even though there really isn't much left to actually see, the tour was extremely interesting. We all thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend it. Karen keeps the groups small ( we were about a dozen), so it is very easy to hear her and have dialog with her. (There were no children in our group so can't say for sure, but it may be a little boring for little ones since there isn't very much to see.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYLizzyTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
“Patriot Tours does a fabulous job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I took their Revolutionary War tour recently. I totally agree with the other reviewers - Karen is passionate, knowledgeable, and delightful. I'll definitely take their other tours when I return to New York City.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great gift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

As a Christmas gift my son signed us up for this tour. Knowing my interest in NYC history and our Founding Fathers this was a TERRIFIC gift.

Karen had incredible knowledge, passion and presentation. No question went unanswered.

What a great way to learn about our nation's history

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathLikesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patriot Tours also viewed

 

Been to Patriot Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing