We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've ever been” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Hotel

Washington Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Washington Hotel
Save
You added Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #420 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I've ever been”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I've ever been in many hotels in Asia, Africa, Europe and Americasand this is definitely the worst one I've ever seen. Avoid it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stefano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Old and simple, but good service and excellent location. 3min walking to central park, 1min to train station. We really liked it!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jness11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed at the Washington last January for a week for my 21st birthday with my boyfriend. The best thing about the hotel is its location- its about a 5 min walk from Wall st. Its also pretty reasonably priced- which i think is the real reason we went there to be honest- my dad wanted to say that he'd paid for half of it, so he found the cheapest hotel he could!! We stayed on one of the top floors, so we got a pretty nice view.
The room was pretty dodgy though- the bathroom was tiny with temperamental hot water and the room was right beside the elevator- so although we didn't actually spend much time in the room, it was still quite annoying to hear "ding"s when we were trying to get to sleep. It was really cold when we were there, it snowed for about the holiday- so the city looked pretty, but we could have done with some kind of heating in the room. I complained about this on the second day, as there was a heater in the room, but it was stone cold and we couldn't get it on. The receptionist told me she would sort it out- but i'm don't think anything was done about it.
I probably wouldn't recommend this hotel, but it still wasn't the worse hotel i've ever been to. As ive already said, the hotel's location is ideal- i'd definitely recommend Fluffy's cafe which is a couple of doors down- really nice and pretty cheap!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katelmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

Our room was the size of a closet! A bunk bed and the door...that's it! No window but a hole cut out of the wall at the top so we could hear other people on our floor. The sheets were dirty, there was a rat in our room, and I would not for the life of me use the NASTY toilets and showers! They were so disgusting!!! We left early because we couldn't stand it!!! NEVER EVER STAY HERE! Spend a bit more for a place you can actually sleep well and clean yourself...a nice B&B in Brooklyn if Manhattan's too expensive. I'd rather pay extra for a nice place and a subway ride to the city than stay in what I think Hell might look like!

  • Stayed October 2002
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2004

My family stayed there for FOUR nights. The worst christmas vacation ever. It looked like prostitutes slept there. The rooms are VERY VERY small and you have to SHARE A BATHROOM with all the people in you floor. Rooms share a window too. My window looked at another room. There was no heat and I slept with my coat on. DON'T EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL. I cannot believe how there could be a hotel like this in USA. It was horrible.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2003

i've got some bridges in iowa to sell you.avoid this place at ALL costs. it is a terrible, festering sore that exploits the "sight-unseen" component of internet booking to the fullest.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2003

I stayed for 4 nights, staff was helpful, maids friendly...however you do get what you pay for as far running into numerous prostitutes on my way our of the hotel at night... unusualy small bathrooms... a window compariable to one of a jail cell.... Over all its just OKAY, nothing special

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#176 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#242 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Chelsea
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
#426 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Waldorf Astoria New York
Waldorf Astoria New York
#281 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,158 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,507 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hotel

Property: Washington Hotel
Address: 2289 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10028
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #420 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Number of rooms: 85

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing