We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park South Hotel
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This well located hotel on 28th Street is an idea base for exploring the city with the subway nearby. Our room was very comfortable with and excellent tiled shower. You do not need to go any further than the attached Black Duck restaurant because the food is superb. Breakfast is also served here. The staff where very helpful. there is free Wi-Fi and use of the computer suite which helped with the printing of flight boarding passes. I would certainly come back when visiting New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nasonandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind feedback. I’m very pleased you found the hotel enjoyable as well as our staff helpful. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally when booking your next visit. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    773
    155
    66
    29
See reviews for
525
654
87
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I found the staff to be rude. The room are depressing . In my opinion they look bland 1940's style. Beds Are rock Hard. Neighborhood is not the safest.Difficult for a taxi to find. The one good thing i can say about the hotel is the included breakfast is European and good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rd400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m very disappointed to hear that you did not find your accommodations or our staff pleasing. This is certainly not indicative of our team but somehow we have left you with this impression. I would greatly welcome the opportunity to speak further with you in the hopes of gaining a better understanding as to the root of any rudeness you encountered. Please feel free to call or email me at your convenience. My apologies, I look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Found hotel to be in an ideal position for exploring NYC .the rooms were clean and spacious. The staff, from room cleaners to reception, were extremely curteous and helpful. The breakfast was an added bonus and a great start to the day.
Renovations which were taking place had no effect on the great holiday experience we had.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkBatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind feedback, we appreciate that you took the time. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be helpful. It’s true we are in the process of a refurbishment and we are making every effort to be as unobtrusive as possible to our guests. I hope you will join us again soon to enjoy the fruits of our labor. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch Worcs UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

A great base for our first Trip to the big apple! After a long trip from London we were greeted by very friendly staff. Check-in was smooth and we were quickly unpacking ready to take in all the sites of the city. As this was my wife's Birthday weekend and the reason for hitting the apple. It was great to find a card and free drinks at the bar voucher in the room what a great touch!!
I wanted to make sure we wined and dined well. This is where Cat on the front desk came in to her own. An amazing sweet girl who could not do enough to ensure we knew where we were going and had some great recommendations for restaurants. One such being the Mexico Lindo which was not far from the hotel with great food and amazing staff and manager!.
Cat had also arranged for two of the famous NY cupcakes in our room upon return one evening which was so thoughtful. The Hotel itself was in the process of a little maintenance but is clean and tidy regardless. Breakfast buffet is great and Bagels all the way :-) and quite rare to get it included in NY.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger or king room if you are a space lover. But have you come to NY to spend it in yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandsue007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay. We are delighted to be chosen as your host hotel during your first visit to New York City. I’m happy that Cat was able to assist you with recommendations. I’ll be certain to share your wonderful comments with her. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally on your next trip.

Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was a lovely surprise, especially considering I thought I was stuck staying here when other hotels closer to my office were booked. I didn't know that I was in for a treat! Not to mention, you really can't beat the price - great value here.

When I arrived, jazz music was playing and I immediately felt a little more relaxed. Check in was friendly and quick with info on the free wifi and morning breakfast at the restaurant next door. (I love free breakfast!) I was given a room on the 7th floor facing 28th Street. The view is not like some other places I've stayed, but I could see a corner of the Chrysler Building and it was nice to be up higher (I think it's only 8 floors). The room was surprisingly spacious with 2 comfy double beds, desk area and a lounge chair with table. The best part of the room was arriving to a box of chocolates and 2 bottles of water, with a note from the hotel to welcome me and let me know that a Sinatra concert was scheduled in Central Park that evening. Love this personal touch! The neighborhood was also a nice change from the other spots I've stayed in midtown. Great restaurants in the area and I enjoyed the awesome sushi place around the corner on 27th. Oh, and I did like the breakfast in the morning - which included bagels, pastries, fruit, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juices and coffee.

Two minor shortcomings: 1) The gym only has 1 treadmill. Another guest arrived the same time I did, clearly looking to use it, but I had just stepped on. Bit awkward for the next 30 minutes. I suppose I could have gone for a run outdoors instead to avoid this situation entirely. 2) The bathroom door in my room didn't seal at the bottom. It's a sliding door that slid left and right, but leaned out at the bottom. So when the door was closed, you could still see into the room through the bottom half of the door. It didn't really matter for me, but could be a privacy issue for other guests. In general, I think they are doing renovations around the building, so that may be something to check on before you get your room.

In any case, I had a nice stay and will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing 28th St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write about your recent stay at the Park South. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our complimentary continental breakfast is always a nice way to start the day. It’s true that there are some limitations with our existing fitness room but I am happy to report that this is scheduled to change soon. Your observations are correct we are in the process of refurbishing the hotel although all efforts are currently focused on our guest rooms. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon; we welcome your feedback on our progress. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly on your next visit. Thanks again.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a good location as it is within walking distance to Times Square and steps from the Subway station There is a buffet breakfast with lots of choices to start your busy day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The higher floors seem to have less AC sound although this hotel is generally quiet throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write about your recent stay at the Park South. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our complimentary continental breakfast is always a nice way to start the day. It’s true that there are some limitations with our existing fitness room but I am happy to report that this is scheduled to change soon. Your observations are correct we are in the process of refurbishing the hotel although all efforts are currently focused on our guest rooms. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon; we welcome your feedback on our progress. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly on your next visit. Thanks again.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great location and a friendly hotel. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. As a first time traveller to New York we asked the staff a wide range of question which they were more than happy to answer. We shall return when we have saved up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. It’s always nice to know we are delivering on good service and that our complimentary features are well received. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Property: Park South Hotel
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing