We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money with good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park South Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Park South Hotel
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money with good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Park South while attending the NY Motorcycle Show. The registration was quick and the personnel was very helpful and client oriented. The room was clean and comfortable. The nights were quiet and restful The included breakfasts were also quite good. And the price for all of this was very reasonable, by New York standards. The only weakness was the fact that the room had no fridge and ice had to be obtained from the bar. However, I will go back there anytime I visit New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaynaldLortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    773
    155
    66
    29
See reviews for
525
654
87
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I am currently staying at the Park South Hotel. It is a very nice and clean hotel. The 6 train is just a few feet away and about a 15 min walk to Union Square. I reserved this hotel on Travelzoo. It comes with a delicious breakfast every morning and free WiFi (couldn't ask for more from a hotel in NYC). My room is small but you expect that from a hotel in NYC. The bed is super comfortable, great heating and a nice bathroom. My only complaint would be that I didn't have a refrigerator in my room (that's why I gave it 4 stars). The staff is very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again when I return to New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meri007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Originally our choice was based upon location and availability. What we soon discovered was an amazing boutique hotel that had not only aesthetic charm, more importantly a staff that was warm, inviting, extraordinarily helpful and FUN! Notably our favorites were Krystal & Elvis. While each member of the staff was professional and courteous the two named were simply stand outs for our 8 day stay. We have plans to return to NYC and know that this will feel almost like a home coming when we return to the Park South Hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janethurmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is very nice and well lit, located on 28th off Park Ave South. The rooms are clean and spacious. The closet is "uber-sma;;". If you plan too spend more than a day, you need to figure where you are going to hang your clothes.

If breakfast is included in the price that is okay, but if you have to pay extra, or can negotiate the price without breakfast do so. There are several coffee shops on the block and on Park Ave South which are reasonable and offer a better selection of choices. The room has a small screen TV and limited space in the bathroom to put out your toiletries. I used part of the desk for a lot of my stuff.

Still if you are there for one or two days it can work. If there are two people in the room you need to decide who gets the mini-closet space. I did ask i f my room was different from the others and they proudly told me "no, they are all the same".

Lastly, the staff is great and are more than glad to help you and accommodate your needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are looking for a quaint hotel with great service at reasonable rates, this is the place to stay! I really enjoyed the people. Great diversity of guests from many countries. Lots of restaurants and services loca.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed for New Year's eve 2013 in NY in this hotel that is promoted as "Boutique".... the term is known to describe hotels which often contain luxury facilities of varying size, furnished in a themed, stylish and/or intimate settings with full service accommodations.
Well this is not a Boutique Hotel. They tried, through the furniture, to get close to the concept... but they missed it. Night stands and closet are useless and you will need to learn how to shave in the minimal sink without messing the floor.
In the other hand, the Hotel is well located, next to the subway station of the green line and 15 bucks away from all main neighborhoods. The staff is friendly and professional.
Rooms are clean, bed are comfortable,nice tv set and free internet in all rooms.
Breakfast area is kind of small, well provided with cereals and juices but no hot items like scramble eggs, bacon, sausages, etc.
If you like Indian food... just walk to Lexington Ave and you will find the best Restaurants in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallamand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

i booked through priceline for a 3-star hotel, and i was very happy with this bid. park south is a very nice hotel that was comfortable and clean, although the room was small. it's in a great, safe location near major sites. this is a good value, and i would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoFifi_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Property: Park South Hotel
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing