We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GS from Sydney AUS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park South Hotel
Ranked #53 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“GS from Sydney AUS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel location was excellent in relation to what NYC has to offer. The reception staff, incl Cat and Rachel and Debbie and all others were most helpful and help make our first trip to NYC quite enjoyable. We missed the hurricane by a couple of weeks. We were quite happy with Park South and would rebook if we visit NYC again. Internet service was very good. Would suggest they add oats to breakfast menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    771
    155
    66
    29
See reviews for
521
654
86
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Park South in the week of the hurricane and blackout, with my two children. I would have recommended the hotel anyway, under normal circumstances, but on this occasion they were absolutely great. In difficult conditions the staff were friendly, helpful, resourceful and selfless. They managed to provide a fabulous breakfast buffet every morning, and somehow rustled up complimentary food and drinks in the evening - by candlelight. The hotel staff worked hard to try and find us a room in another hotel to move to, but when that proved impossible, were very happy to continue to look after us. I can't wait to go back to NYC and would definitely stay at Park South Hotel again.

Room Tip: try and get the room with the view of the top of the Chrysler Building !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this 8-storey hotel. We arrived 4 days after the power was restored & everything was "normal". I was travelling with 7 other women. The front desk staff were very friendly & helpful, as were the staff at their restaurant, The Black Duck. Breakfast was a continental buffet with a good variety of items. Rooms were very nicely appointed, clean, bed comfortable. Just steps from the subway at 28th St. & Park Ave. Good restaurants in the vicinity, especially Les Halles on Park Ave just around the corner. Would recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto 28th St (front of the hotel) and we did not find it too noisy. Our room was bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragondiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a native NY-er, who stays in the city on occasion for business. I booked this room just prior to the hurricane, and 1 week later, was worried that they would not be up and running. I was pleasantly surprised -- they were fully operational and I had a very pleasant stay and found the staff very helpful and friendly.

By NY standards, the room and bathroom were average -- small but neat and clean. Mattress was OK, but not competitor-worthy as so many hotels offer now. TV was on the small side, and annoyingly, no channel guide was available to tell me which number corresponded to which channel. The surrounding area was fine; if you like Indian food you'll be thrilled esp if you turn left out of the hotel to Lex. If you don't, you'll have to walk a few a few blocks in the other direction for a litle more variety.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheredonethat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is in a good location and the staff are excellent, very helpful.
I spent four nights here with a friend in September. The only downside was that room service stopped at 10pm, so the one night we needed it, we couldn't use it. However, there are plenty of other places to eat within a few steps, so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Park South hotel exceeded my expectations. I stayed at the Park South for a "girlfriends" weekend. We had a 2 bed room on the 6th floor. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. Beds were very comfortable. For 2 people the size was perfect. It might be tight if you try to squeeze 4 people in, especially with one bathroom. The desk and bell staff were consistently friendly and accommodating. Had brunch at the restaurant. Food was good and very reasonable. Bartender also provided great service at happy hour. The breakfast is included and was very good with lots to pick from. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and plan to stay again. Also great location right down the block from the subway.

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was there during Hurricaine Sandy and sadly checked out the day after the hotel lost electricity and water. BUT I will say the that the staff at the hotel were AMAZING! They were calm and helpful in spite of all the chaos that mother nature caused. The staff stayed at the hotel to help guests all the while not knowing what awaited them back at their homes. All of you were just really awesome! And it is because of the staff, I'll go back to Park South Hotel when I'm NY again..hopefully next year. The location is great, close enough to everything but far enough to feel relaxed and away from the hustle and bustle of mid-town. The bagel place next door rocks and duane reade is around the corner for last minute supplies. I absolutely loved the complimentary computer center downstairs as most hotels charge. To Anna at the front desk, Ben the concierge and everyone else- thank you so much! You guys rock! Pay raises for everyone! =)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 808traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Property: Park South Hotel
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing