We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room, great staff and location at Park South”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park South Hotel
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, great staff and location at Park South”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Park South hotel exceeded my expectations. I stayed at the Park South for a "girlfriends" weekend. We had a 2 bed room on the 6th floor. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. Beds were very comfortable. For 2 people the size was perfect. It might be tight if you try to squeeze 4 people in, especially with one bathroom. The desk and bell staff were consistently friendly and accommodating. Had brunch at the restaurant. Food was good and very reasonable. Bartender also provided great service at happy hour. The breakfast is included and was very good with lots to pick from. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and plan to stay again. Also great location right down the block from the subway.

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    782
    158
    66
    29
See reviews for
538
661
90
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was there during Hurricaine Sandy and sadly checked out the day after the hotel lost electricity and water. BUT I will say the that the staff at the hotel were AMAZING! They were calm and helpful in spite of all the chaos that mother nature caused. The staff stayed at the hotel to help guests all the while not knowing what awaited them back at their homes. All of you were just really awesome! And it is because of the staff, I'll go back to Park South Hotel when I'm NY again..hopefully next year. The location is great, close enough to everything but far enough to feel relaxed and away from the hustle and bustle of mid-town. The bagel place next door rocks and duane reade is around the corner for last minute supplies. I absolutely loved the complimentary computer center downstairs as most hotels charge. To Anna at the front desk, Ben the concierge and everyone else- thank you so much! You guys rock! Pay raises for everyone! =)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location, near everything but far enough of everything as well. Clean, excelent breakfast, extraordinary personel. We stayed there during hurricane Sandy and they really made a difference, keeping everything running, cooking us dinner and offering drinks as courtesy. I was amazed that the employees took up to three hours to get there, others didn't even go home, and yet they would have a smile on their faces, and kind things to say to the guests. They gave us a discount also, even though Nature was to blame for any inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Paula_Freitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We returned today from our stay at Park South Hotel during Hurricane Sandy. We have had an amazing time in New York and despite the unplanned adventure really enjoyed ourselves. The staff at the hotel were amazing and kept everything running very well. We were so surprised when we checked out that the hotel paid for our meal on Sunday evening due to the power outage. There was absolutely nothing the hotel could do about this outage and they were so helpful in securing a room for us should our flight be cancelled. They also allowed us to check out late with no penalty and were happy to cancel our extended stay when our flight did leave on time.

Personally I was really shocked and sad when I overheard some other guests complaining that their bread was not toasted in the morning, this was a highly unusual situation and the fact that the hotel had managed with no power to feed guests to a good standard at breakfast was very welcome.

Coffee and hot water was made available at all times, temporary internet usage was set up and rooms were still made up daily.

The room we had was a vey good size and the location was very handy. If you dislike staying in the type of 'plastic hotel' recreated in every country around the world then you will like the character and warmth of the Park South.

Our children (10 and 6) loved this hotel and preferred it to the Crown Plaza (with pool) where we stayed the night before our flight.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vin1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife, daughter and I just finished a week at the Park South. Our first room was rather small so we requested a larger room. They cheerfully accomodated our request with no upcharge.

A couple nights into our stay, we experienced the onslaught of Hurricane Sandy. We lost power about 8:30pm on Monday night and it had still not been restored when we checked out on Wednesday morning so Monday and Tuesday evenings were spent in the dark. During that time the staff of the Park South demonstrated their true character, going above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay comfortable. Never once did we hear a raised voice or see a frown from any of them. In spite of the difficult circumstances they worked diligently to help their customers find new hotels in the city. When we checked out we noticed that they had not charged us for the final night even though they could certainly have justified a reduced rate. Their day manager, Joanne, was very accomodating and always upbeat.

Also, during the blackout their restaurant, the Black Duck - a charming little place with a delicious menu - had breakfast set up for us each morning and opened their bar to serve complimentary wine and beer in the evening. Again, always with a smile. A special shout out goes to their manager Richard and bartender Jesse, though the entire staff was a delight.

Bottom line, we will go out of our way to stay at this hotel again. Comfortable rooms, professional staff and great location - Bravo Park South!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jness002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

this is a great hotel for business travelers and tourists alike. good neighborhood with terrific indian restaurants and local watering holes. easy walking distance to Madison Square Park and Flatiron. the bar is friendly and a great place to unwind in the evening. wonderful breakfast included in the price. rooms can be small and nothing special, but it's quiet. i wouldn't go here for pampering, but for sheer utilitarianism, it's tough to beat

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel was centrally located, and we were greeted promptly and warmly. The room was on the smaller side, but it is NY, so what can you say? Added bonuses were the free breakfast (continental, but plentiful supply of goodies) and complimentary cocktail vouchers you can redeem during your stay.

(I don't remember there being a pool or spa....so ignore those ratings below)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discopantsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Property: Park South Hotel
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing