We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My absolute favorite kind of restaurant:perfectly cooked meal in cozy, comfy surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Square Meal - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Square Meal
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Upstate, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My absolute favorite kind of restaurant:perfectly cooked meal in cozy, comfy surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Absolutely delightful meal. Comfortable, elegant, and inviting atmosphere. Welcoming, attentive and good humored service. Very much a local, older-ish crowd. As others have noted, the menu is small -- maybe six entrees. In my opinion, that is the mark of a serious chef committed to creating a few brilliant offerings a la minute rather than trying to please the masses. And I like the fact that the chef will not cater to the "sauce on the side" crowd. Why should he/she compromise his vision for the evening's meal?

The details: All three of us started with the Boston 'n buttermilk salad - a large plate holding a whole head of tender Boston lettuce sprinkled with bacon and garlic croutons and drizzled with buttermilk dressing. The lettuce was fresh and crisp, just the right amount of bacon and croutons, all precisely seasoned. Our entrees were the scallops, duck and crab cakes. Everyone agreed that the portion size was perfect and that the preparation was outstanding. We split a butterscotch pie which was tender inside, lightly crunch outside.

The wine list is very small but the few offerings are excellent, reasonably priced selections, all avialable by the glass. They do welcome BYOB with a corkage fee that goes to charity.

All in all, we look forward returning often.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Ten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This restaurant has delicious food,friendly service,romantic but fine for friends too. The atmosphere gives you the feeling that you are in someones town house.I have been here 2 times and both times were equal in service, quality of food and friendly staff. I think the hours may have changed,so call ahead to see if they are open on Sunday. Reservations for bigger parties.
The calamari appetizer is perfect,even those who don't like calamari love it, tender and perfect! The duck meatballs are delicious and desserts are too.If you are unable to decide what to eat,ask the waiters,they are honest in their descriptions and recommendations.
The staff said," brunch is delicious" I haven't tried it yet.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swingdancers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city, new york
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“walked out of a restaurant for the third time in forty years”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife ordered scallops with sauce on the side. The reply was, We won't do that. She repeated that she was not requesting that the dish be altered, just that the sauce be on the side. The maitre d' looked us straight in the eye and said that they will not alter a dish to suit the customer's preferences, even by putting the sauce on the side. I can understand the recently-closed El Bulli requesting (not demanding) that people eat their highly idiosyncratic dishes a certain way, but this is not El Bulli. Although it was clearly a lost cause at that point, just for the fun of it I checked out their corkage policy which I did not believe when I heard it the first time. We came in with the very ends of two bottles, perhaps a total of one-third of a bottle between them, because we were going to a concert afterwards and did not want to walk in with a half-drunk bottle of wine. We were advised that, nevertheless, we would be charged for two bottles. When I checked this with the maitre d', his comment was, Well you came in with two bottles. Although their corkage fee is ridiculously low, I could do without the attitude. We walked out, went a block down the street, and found Paola's, which was as nice and accommodating as Square Meal was arrogant and nasty.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
365 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best Brunch In Carnegie Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

In a neighborhood lacking in decent restaurants, this place is a true piece of charm. Located on the ground floor behind the Yura Bakery and featuring many of its signature items, Square Meal is a great place for a romantic brunch, a quite bite in between museum hopping, or a lazy Sunday morning breakfast. Fresh ingredients, good prices, and nice staff. Delightful.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga
Level Contributor
198 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Calm & home like atmosphere with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Visiting NYC for girl's weekend and needed a restaurant near the MMO. Great find!! Quiet enough by New York standards to chat and the food and service were perfect. Well priced for quality and portions of food. Would go back!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Meal also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing