We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP New York City Times Square South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #174 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Great service. Complimentary Wifi. Ask for the family room ...comes with bunk beds and extra space in room.
Parking $45/night @ Meyer Parking across the street with validation from TRYP Wyndham Hotel front desk. (Trust me that's a Manhattan bargain!)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed using our free Wi-Fi. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    1,254
    295
    98
    76
See reviews for
1,341
938
129
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, PR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Easy check-in and check-out, friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, half a block from the subway (A,C and E lines). We stayed in a premium room on the 7 th floor and it was wonderful, spacious with two bathrooms and really quiet. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dlopardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Went on our yearly trip to NYC, this time it was my girlfriends 50th birthday. The hotel was soooo accommodating, friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very modern and spacious. Alfonzo the concierge was extremely helpful getting us tickets for shows and the Mets game. Awesome seats for all the events. The front desk staff was wonderful throughout the trip and helped make it a special celebration for my 50 year old friend. Mr. Fitness oversaw everything and was very pleasant and helpful as well. Thank you all so much, we will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high level floor away from the police department, unless the view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachuca, Mexico
Level Contributor
183 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Spent 3 nights there with my family (6 adults), the subway is right at the corner (the hotel is the middle of the block, the walk during night is not that nice). The room was large enough and had two beatiful bathrooms (the only downside is that the vent was not working for one of them), you also have a small fridge and a fancy coffee machine.

When you visit NYC you spend few time in the hotel but this one is very comfortable to rest and the location is excellent, we took a train to Washington and the Penn station is just across the street, you can walk to several main spots of the city or just take the subway, the E line is the closest and that one takes you to the airport, it takes one hour to get there.

The best part is the price, it was an average of 500USD per night but for 6 adults its a great deal, the room is very large for NYC standards and again, the location is excelent.

I didnt like that they charge you 2USD per bag if you want them to take care of your luggage after checkout, they should ask for a tip instead of charging that. I think you would even pay more than those 2 dollars and still have a better impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan José F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very conveniently located hotel and the rooms were great - modern and new, good sized and the bed was extremely comfortable. The concierge, Alfonso, was one of the best we've come across - very professional, helpful and always patiently and comprehensively responding to all our queries. He brought the service standards of the hotel up a notch!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileeny-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We hope that you will come back and visit us again at the beautiful TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have just returned from an 11 day vacation in NYC, where I stayed at the Tryp by Wyndham Times Square South. During the first 5 days, I was with a group of 5 ladies, and we had a family room with 2 bathrooms and 3 double beds. This room was fantastic for our group, we had plenty of room and housekeeping was awesome. After the girls trip, I changed to a room with a king bed, when my husband joined me for the rest of the trip. This room was also perfect, large and clean. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and informed, the breakfast buffet was a great way to get going every day, and there was lots of shopping and restaurants in the neighborhood. It was a little bit of a walk to Times Square, but the shops along the way made it enjoyable. Would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: I was happy to see the hotel is environmentally friendly, it really makes a difference.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jancrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and you love the decor of our hotel. Indeed our Premium and Family rooms are a perfect size for girl’s weekend, multiple guests and especially large family. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel was perfect for us. It is down a side street near Times Square so we had great sleep. The beds are super comfortable and the room is really big. We had a sleeper sofa, plus two full size beds for 5 people. Two TV's are also in the room so with 3 "adult" children we were really comfortable. We could walk everywhere. The drinks at the bar were reasonable and made us feel very relaxed. The macaroni and cheese is a must have. Get the sampler and you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beach4twenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed our Gastro Bar. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,709 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,774 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing