We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Big rooms, nice design, fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP New York City Times Square South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #184 of 479 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Big rooms, nice design, fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked via a discount website (Priceline) and got a reasonable deal at approx £90 per night. Not bad for NYC. The hotel was easy to find, on a quiet road next to Penn Station. Check in was fast and we were quickly shown to our room. We were very pleasantly surprised with the size of the room, Having been told that NYC has small rooms, our room was spacious and very well designed.

For us the hotel was in a perfect location. Walking distance to time square (5-10 mins), 1 block from MSG, Walking distance to ESB (5-10 mins) and 1 min walk to penn station.

In summary we were very happy with our choice and would definitely stay again.

Pros:
1) Great location, central to everything, yet down a quiet street away from hustle and bustle.
2) Good design and very well maintained.
3) Large rooms

Cons:

1) Although nothing directly happened to us, but as i was checking out, we heard one of the staff members being fairly curt/short/rude to another guest. I am not sure what exactly happened, but when he left the member of staff was rude about the guest to another colleague. i heard clearly her talking badly about the customer, and for me, interactions like that should be kept behind closed doors in private, not in an open hotel lobby with guests around.

Room Tip: although the front of the hotel is not noisy, ask for a room facing the back if you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grant_vera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
On behalf of the Tryp Hotel, I sincerely apologize for service you witnessed and experience during your stay with us. I can assure that we train our staff to all cases with our guests with great care and compassion. I have taken the time personally to sit and coach our staff in understanding the Wyndham ways of pleasing our valued guests. I hope this incident does not tarnish our reputation and that you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Please feel free to contact me with any further concerns you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    1,129
    267
    84
    64
See reviews for
1,154
859
115
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

great place and a lot of courtesy!
my wife cancelled the meeting by mistake and did it again
they ynderstood it was a mistake and waived the cancellation fine

lovely from their side, as all hotells should be

will be back for sure

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luiz_loureiro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataumet, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Tryp is a small, but nice hotel only a few blocks from the Javits Center. I was attending a show at the Javits and chose Tryp based on its location and positive reviews from past guests. I booked online and opted for early check-in to drop my bags in the room before heading to the show. The room was ready as promised. The room was facing 35th St. The décor was modern with hardwood floors. It was clean and comfortable. That night, the heavens opened up while I was out and I came back to the hotel soaked. The next morning I asked at the front desk for a ziplock bag to put some of my clothes in, as they were still damp and needed to be packed. The front desk sent me to the café, and they told me they would contact housekeeping. I ended up using one of the wastebasket liners, since housekeeping didn't show up. Not a deal-breaker at all, and I would recommend Tryp for a good hotel within walking distance to the Javits Center. Tryp has a café, but no restaurant, but there are restaurants nearby. The noise from the street was noticeable, so if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room not along 35th St. For the price and location, choose Tryp.

Room Tip: Rooms off of 35th St will reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Service was outstanding......friendly and courteous. Great location. The room was spectacular! The decor of the hotel is a fun, funky and trendy. Loved seeing so many visitors faces smile with delight when they walked into the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a belated review. Our son moved to Manhattan a year ago, and could not make it home for Christmas. We as a family decided to bring Christmas to him. His apartment is miniscule so I looked for a hotel with a room that could accommodate his two siblings, both of us parents and have room for him to sleep as well. We booked a premium room for a reasonable holiday rate. The hotel is leeds certified, which means something to us. The décor is trendy, no carpets, cool lighting, and high end shower and bath. Our room had a bar with stools,a fridge and microwave so we could bring some of our traditional homemade Christmas eve snacks and eggnog. The room was large, with two queen beds and a pullout and plenty of room to lounge. The hotel is in walking distance to Macy's, the Garden, and many attractions. We took cabs to dinner and the Rock Center, but walked back from there. It was doable and fun. We rented Christmas movies,late at night, then had our Christmas morning, followed by brunch downstairs. My only criticism would be the quality of the brunch---not special. Everything else was great including the demeanor of the staff. No real view, but we didn't ask for one....

Room Tip: the premium room is worth the price
See more room tips
Green Features: Well done. We were pleased with the efforts made. We were pleased with the attention to detail and the effort made in the safekeeping of our environment.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived very early Sunday morning after a red eye flight - we were greeted very warmly by the front desk staff. I asked if we could wait to check in so that we could get a room on a higher floor. The desk staff were very accommodating and we ended up booking in to a room on the 10th floor.

We had a King Deluxe Room and it was perfect for us. Plenty of room, a nice desk and clothes storage area. The bathroom was small but that is to be expected. The room was clean and very well appointed. Nice furniture and everything was in great shape.

The location is perfect - close to the subway station for easy access to all of the areas you would want to go. Don't be intimated by the subway lines, get a map and use it. You will figure it out in no time and once you do, you can easily get everywhere you want to go.

The staff are fantastic, very friendly and very attentive. They stored our bags for us with no problems and helped us when we needed restaurant suggestions.

The beds are very comfortable and we slept well every night. I would recommend bringing ear plugs - we wore ours and they blocked out all of the noise from people slamming their doors (so annoying, why do people do that?), sirens, and from the children next door in the Family Room. Also note that the air conditioning works well but is quite loud, so if you like to have air flow at night, the ear plugs helped to block out that noise as well.

All in all we were very impressed and had a wonderful time at the TRYP. We will definitely book here again the next time we come to NYC.

Room Tip: Book into a room on a higher floor and one that faces the north side of the building (away from the...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have Shampoo, Conditioner and Body Wash dispensers in the shower which hold nice products. You don't need to bring your own!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chels74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer. However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

14th floor - Standard King room. The only 2 negative things I can say about the room is that the was very little room to store 2 suitcases, and the noise woke us up at all hours of the morning. But that is NYC not the room.
The location of this hotel was perfect. Madison Square Garden right around the corner, diners and plenty of food options within 2 minutes walk.
The free in room wifi, and complimentary business centre (lobby), in room coffee machine, and friendliness of the staff made the stay near perfect.
I was recommended this hotel by 2 other friends who recently stayed here and I will have no hesitation to pass this hotel on to any friends visiting NY.
Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: When booking, use the hotels official website. Cheaper than anywhere else. When I booked, the room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! That is very high praise indeed! It also sounds like you great time. Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#344 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#121 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#140 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#282 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing