We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
$104
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$177
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$327
$244
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$221
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$129
$123
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mela(New York City)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$156
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Lotte New York Palace(New York City)
$425
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
$192
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,077)
Filter reviews
4,079 results
Traveler rating
2,021
1,465
357
138
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,021
1,465
357
138
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roompenn stationpremium roombunk bedspolice station next doortimes squarenew yorkmadison square gardenquiet streetempire state buildingcoffee machinemodern hotellarge roommini fridgearound the cornerfew blockslocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,848 - 1,853 of 4,079 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived very early Sunday morning after a red eye flight - we were greeted very warmly by the front desk staff. I asked if we could wait to check in so that we could get a room on a higher floor. The desk staff were very accommodating and we ended up booking in to a room on the 10th floor.

We had a King Deluxe Room and it was perfect for us. Plenty of room, a nice desk and clothes storage area. The bathroom was small but that is to be expected. The room was clean and very well appointed. Nice furniture and everything was in great shape.

The location is perfect - close to the subway station for easy access to all of the areas you would want to go. Don't be intimated by the subway lines, get a map and use it. You will figure it out in no time and once you do, you can easily get everywhere you want to go.

The staff are fantastic, very friendly and very attentive. They stored our bags for us with no problems and helped us when we needed restaurant suggestions.

The beds are very comfortable and we slept well every night. I would recommend bringing ear plugs - we wore ours and they blocked out all of the noise from people slamming their doors (so annoying, why do people do that?), sirens, and from the children next door in the Family Room. Also note that the air conditioning works well but is quite loud, so if you like to have air flow at night, the ear plugs helped to block out that noise as well.

All in all we were very impressed and had a wonderful time at the TRYP. We will definitely book here again the next time we come to NYC.

Room Tip: Book into a room on a higher floor and one that faces the north side of the building (away from the main street - 35th). You may also ask to be away from the family room since we had to listen to a lot of thumping and banging from kids playing in the room next to us.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chels74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer. However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

14th floor - Standard King room. The only 2 negative things I can say about the room is that the was very little room to store 2 suitcases, and the noise woke us up at all hours of the morning. But that is NYC not the room.
The location of this hotel was perfect. Madison Square Garden right around the corner, diners and plenty of food options within 2 minutes walk.
The free in room wifi, and complimentary business centre (lobby), in room coffee machine, and friendliness of the staff made the stay near perfect.
I was recommended this hotel by 2 other friends who recently stayed here and I will have no hesitation to pass this hotel on to any friends visiting NY.
Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: When booking, use the hotels official website. Cheaper than anywhere else. When I booked, the room with a King bed was cheaper than the one with Queen in it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulJK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! That is very high praise indeed! It also sounds like you great time. Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Spent one night here and loved everything about it. Awesome room with a great bath and a view of the Hudson. Highly attentive staff who are genuinely nice people that care. And, we got a great price! Perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecape3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRPY Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk and bellmen staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Exellent short stay at this hotel. Room was very luxurious and decor well finished. Good size room with large, comfy king bed. Big flat screen TV with all channels and on-demand movies. Bathroom high spec with good rain shower. Lobby area very nice with bar area. Hotel provided a branded postcard which they would mail for free which I thought was good idea. Generally hotel seemed quite pricey for the standard rate, but super pleased to get a half price deal through Travelzoo, which also included a couple of free welcome drinks - I'd look out for this deal again if I return to NYC. Excellent location close to all central midtown attractions. Also only a block from the subway station on 34th street. Relatively quiet considering so central in the city. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkE_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Most excellent - your experience is exactly what we strive for here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and we are happy to know that it shows. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to take care of you and we look forward to being able to do it again for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were two friends travelling together, one of us got sick and had to go to the hospital in an ambulance. The staff were supportive and helped us with everything we nedded, thank you so much!

Also, clean and nice rooms. Good location.

No complaints!
Excellent choice of hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up in the building, it's loud in NY at night as well:-)
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews