We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP New York City Times Square South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
northern virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hip Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Spent one night here and loved everything about it. Awesome room with a great bath and a view of the Hudson. Highly attentive staff who are genuinely nice people that care. And, we got a great price! Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecape3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRPY Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk and bellmen staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    1,254
    295
    98
    76
See reviews for
1,342
938
129
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Exellent short stay at this hotel. Room was very luxurious and decor well finished. Good size room with large, comfy king bed. Big flat screen TV with all channels and on-demand movies. Bathroom high spec with good rain shower. Lobby area very nice with bar area. Hotel provided a branded postcard which they would mail for free which I thought was good idea. Generally hotel seemed quite pricey for the standard rate, but super pleased to get a half price deal through Travelzoo, which also included a couple of free welcome drinks - I'd look out for this deal again if I return to NYC. Excellent location close to all central midtown attractions. Also only a block from the subway station on 34th street. Relatively quiet considering so central in the city. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkE_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Most excellent - your experience is exactly what we strive for here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and we are happy to know that it shows. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to take care of you and we look forward to being able to do it again for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were two friends travelling together, one of us got sick and had to go to the hospital in an ambulance. The staff were supportive and helped us with everything we nedded, thank you so much!

Also, clean and nice rooms. Good location.

No complaints!
Excellent choice of hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up in the building, it's loud in NY at night as well:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this Boutique Property in May,2012. It was just fabulous. Rooms are moderately sized compared to Manhattan area. The interiors are done up very smartly and compliments the overall design of the place. It is situated very close to the subway station and lots of eateries are round the corner. There is a police station just next door which may make you feel extra secured. Times square and all the action is just a few blocks away about 15 minutes walk. It is a very functional and absolutely a steal because at these rates you wouldn't find anything else in and around times square. Full credit must go the the beautiful people who run the show. They are extremely friendly and helpful...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjoyghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute and were happy with what we found when we checked in at 2am. The rooms are spacious and modern - exactly what you need for 2 shopaholics traveling together. It's location was perfect for arriving at Penn Station and for attending a Knicks game at Madison Square Garden. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were to a very high standard. And for it's location it was very quiet in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
It sounds like you had a really excellent stay with us! We agree with you 100% about our bedding - they are heavenly! We are very happy that our awesome staff was able to take such good care of you, and from all of us at TRYP Times Square South Hotel, we can't wait to take of you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a one night stay at the Tryp. Inside it was delightful. The staff was poised and courteous. The place was very clean. The room was very modern. The Gastro Bar had delicious food and strong drinks.

The parking garage across the street stored our car for 24 hours they were decent.

My only complaint is the street is on is a total dump. It is a one way street littered with trash, construction equipment and cars that are improperly parked.

Would still love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We used a groupon, when we checked in they gave us a 15th floor room. The view was great, even if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South again! It’s was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,716 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,776 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing