We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was very pleased with this hotel. The room was fantastic...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #166 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,807
    1,270
    298
    99
    76
See reviews for
1,365
948
129
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were a group of 8 staying in 2 rooms on the 7th floor. Overall, I'd say that our experience here was fairly decent. The rooms were very clean, and the location was superb. It was just a few steps down from the W 35th St subway station, a 10 minute walk from the theatre district, a 5 minute walk to Madison Square Garden, and a 10 minute walk from the fashion district. You can also find a Starbucks just down the street. While we did have a pleasant experience here, I'd have to say that for the price we paid, we could have expected better customer service. The front desk staff was short and dismissive, and the concierge was very little help when it came to directions. They also ran out of maps when I approached the desk in the morning, and offered no further help in providing directions. Other than this, I'd say I'd choose this hotel based on it's location. Average experience at best.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel!. However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience with the wait front desk staff. This is not a normal situation we have at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here mid March (2014) and returned as a satisfied customer in early April (2014). Very comfortable environment, well appointed, and customer service provided by senior manager was second to none. When I expressed that the room (s) I reserved didn't match the room(s) I reserved online through a third-party website, and provided confirmation of same, my room was changed to match my reservation. (A little harder second time around because of strict adherence to policies stated by management to avoid free upgrades. Onsite manager did reliuctantly change room after speaking with her for a lengthy time, and the room was still smaller than my the room I had in March. The following morning, the senior manager corrected this immediately upon speaking with her, by changing room to one comparable to first visit in March at same cost and value.) The senior manager who is a very memorable, charismatic and professional lady, usually onsite in the mornings, will go above and beyond to make sure that hotel guests are comfortable. It is clear that she takes pride in her position at Tryp. I sincerely appreciated the efforts that she extended to me and my family during our stay. When the rates become more reasonable, or discounted rates are offered for multiple-day bookings, I will make certain to pick this great, but pricey hotel for my next getaway just to enjoy the royal treatment she has given my family. Thank you Ms. Garcia, The Best at Tryp!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and smaller rooms; premium rooms are for families; make sure your th...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel provides refillable wall-mounted shampoo, conditioner and shower gel dispensors in the bathrooms, which help avoid use of the travel-sized products most hotels offer to guests.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fineshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is great, the family rooms are huge by Manhattan standards for sure, the area is less than great but our biggest problem was that half of the hotel was booked to a very large group f high school kids who were noisy in the hallways and slammed doors well into 4am every night. The hotel management tried to help but it was poor planning to allow such a large booking to be distributed all over the hotel where it would hurt the stay of all other clients. Management told us the re were many complaints and they tried to get the kids to be mindful of their noise, but they are kids and we did not sleep during our whole stay. Next time, the hotel needs to ensure that large bookings involving teen agers are put all together in a few floors of the hotel rather than spread all over.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations.. This is not a normal situation, we have at our hotel. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Every visit to NYC, I stay in a different part of town. Tryp is located within walking distance from the bus drop-off site and next door to a police station. Across the street is a great bar & grill and on the corner is a train station. There were three adults in my party and our room was just like an apartment. We had a living room area, two full bathrooms, a bedroom, two televisions, and an iPod dock. Perfect! Being from a major city, I didn't mind the police station or narrow streets. It is very New York. If you're from a middle state and your closest neighbor is five miles away, this may be a shock for you. But stay anyway! And to top it all off, when the Front Desk Attendant learned that it was my birthday, she had a bottle of wine and a birthday card (signed by all the staff) waiting for me when I returned from sight-seeing!

Room Tip: For parties three or larger, choose a suite. Each person will have space for themselves and their th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDot313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We hope that you will come back and visit us again at the beautiful TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,826 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,831 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing