We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #161 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York
2 reviews
“100% Satisfaction”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent family room. Able to sleep 3 adults and 2 children easily.
Staff member Zahir was excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Loraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review. I especially appreciate the kind review of so many members of our team. It is always great to hear when the Zahir does a wonderful job. I look forward to sharing your comments with him. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    1,354
    318
    107
    80
See reviews for
1,471
994
133
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Tryp hotel was a little gem! We found an amazing deal on a room that also came with 2 welcome cocktails. We arrived in NYC around 10:30 am and requested the hotel hold our luggage so that we could get around town and not have to carry it along. They were more than happy to hold our luggage but ended up being able to let us check in to our room early instead! That was such a welcome surprise as we had come by bus and a shower was appreciated!

The entrance to the hotel is pretty and modern. It's a great combination of "boutique" but chain as it's part of the Wyndham family. I only reference a chain hotel in regards to their efficiency and experience. It's obvious that they have some of the best working there. I have nothing but good things to say about it from the lobby to the access of elevators, the room itself, and the staff.

The room was spacious. We were in a King size room which included a King size bed as well as a desk area. Plenty of outlets were available to re-charge and they included a light switch next to the bed so that you don't have to stub your toes while getting up to turn a light off. The decor was modern and "new yorkish" as it was themed after the city. The bathroom was great, very spacious shower with awesome shower head. They definitely thought of some amenties you don't always see such as a toilet seat that closes slowly on it's own once you push it down.

The hotel is near a Subway. It's location to Times Square is a reference point, this hotel is not in or around the corner from Times Square. That is only a few blocks away and in my opinion, worth the money saved from staying in the heart of Times Square. The streets near this hotel were less crowded as well.

We were able to jump on and off of the subway lines with ease and arrive back at the hotel safe and warm due to the short distance from the station to Tryp.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others visiting NYC. If you don't have a specific location you want to stay in but want access to get to anywhere, Tryp is the hotel for you!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! That is very high praise indeed! It also sounds like you great time. Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We read about the Tryp Wyndham on Trip Advisor. Great discovery. It's near to everything, convenient to good restaurants, cultural events, all the city has to offer. Accommodations were high end. Typically small rooms for an urban center. But highly efficient use of space.
However the best thing about this hotel is the personnel. They are welcoming, extremely helpful, amazingly pleasant. Special kudos to our favorite bellman/porter/welcomer-in-chief Zahir. He met us at the door with a wide smile and a warm welcome to the hotel. He helped us park our car, check in, and get settled. He was there to answer questions about directions and local services. His help was invaluable. Thanks, Zahir!
The Assistant Manager, too, was gracious and welcoming. She gave us local suggestions for breakfast places. She was singularly patient about explaining a late change in our hotel room. We had our questions answered patiently and thoroughly.
This hotel offered everything we needed, but the staff was a great bonus. We will come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyB41575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review. I especially appreciate the kind review of so many members of our team. It is always great to hear when the Zahir does a wonderful job. I look forward to sharing your comments with him. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a nice boutique-ish hotel in the heart of NYC, within a few blocks of Times Square and Penn Station. I highly recommend for people looking for a nice, new hotel and don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Found this hotel on a TravelZoo deal and I am so glad I did. This hotel is situated in a great location - close to pretty much everything. There is subway stop at the end of the street, and is quite close to Penn Station. From the moment that I valet parked my car through the checkout process, the experience was fantastic. When I arrived, the room was not ready, however our bags were held for us and we were able to go right out and enjoy the city, knowing we would receive a phone call when the room was available. We stayed in a premium room on the 15th floor with a great view. The room was quite large for NYC. The floors are hardwood, which is a plus in my book. Beds and bedding were very comfortable. We did not eat at the restaurant, but we did have cocktails and appetizers at the lobby bar, and I thought both the drinks and the appetizers were great. A big shoutout to the staff - Cristina Palacio and Ben Elie at the front desk were informative and accomodating - always had a welcoming smile for us when we came through the front door and made sure our visit was a resounding success. Bartenders were attentive and amusing. Overall, a great experience and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrszuhwiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have stayed all over NYC and this was a great experience. One of the nice things was that the rooms did not have carpet so if you are allergic to dust mites that is a plus! We were first put in a room on the 3rd floor but asked to be moved due to street noise.We were moved to a great corner room with a view of the Empire State Building. The bar and breakfast buffet were both nice. Front desk staff were excellent and very accomodating. Walking distance to Madison Square Garden(2blocks) and Times Square(7blocks)

Room Tip: choose an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meldunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRPY Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk and bellmen staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#75 of 466 in New York City
5,189 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 466 in New York City
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#146 of 466 in New York City
1,084 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#203 of 466 in New York City
5,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing