We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #168 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Confortable and well located”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My family and I had a lovely time staying in this hotel. the staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions We had. The hotel itself is very modern and has all the amenities one would need. The hotel lobby has a bar/restaurant that serves breakfast lunch and dinner. (not that cheap by the way). Close to subway system, empire state, madison square gardens, penn station. Overall a good hotel to stay at if you can get the right price.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbrito29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,874
    1,336
    314
    107
    80
See reviews for
1,442
984
133
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just landed from JFK to Manchester this morning and felt the need to review this hotel immediately. Cannot fault the Tryp, our room was clean, functional and comfortable ...... bed was VERY comfortable (a must when you've spent 12 hrs walking round the sights or shopping). Brilliant locality for Times Square (15 min walk), Empire State Building (10 mins walk), Penn Station (3 mins walk), Macys (10 mins walk) and even Central Park was only a 25/30 minute walk !! We never felt the need to have a cab because everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. We took the subway from Penn to 9/11 tribute, this is a MUST SEE attraction ....... very emotional but also very educational too !!
Back to the room, it was cleaned and coffee pods refilled EVERY day, loo rolls, towels etc too. We never ate in the restaurant as there were SOooooooo many eateries within walking distance ..... definately will be staying here again - PERFECT location !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Flossy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel is new, very comfortable, the location is great for 34th Street shopping/sightseeing/subway/etc. We stayed in a family room and it is huge for NY standards. It was our 3rd time and NY and it will be our choice in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMadruga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We’re pleased that you chose the TRYP Times Square South, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South is well-situated, not far from metro station and Times square. The hotel is recent and well-designed. The rooms are modern and the layout is well thought out. The rooms were clean and quiet. The reception area is small but cosy and it also serves as the breakfast buffet and restaurant. Breakfast is very nice with a variety of quality products. The restaurant offers a modest selection of tasty american favourites. Staff was nice and efficient. All in all I would recommend this hotel to couples or families visiting New York in search of a good quality hotel for the right budget.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingMeHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments and recommendation, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here recently for a short break in New York, and loved this hotel. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a "premium" room, which was a massive suite, including a lounge area, two bathrooms, two double beds, and TV's in both the bedroom and the lounge. it was really luxurious, with really comfortable beds. It made our trip so special! Also appreciated having a coffee machine in the room. There was a lot of storage space provided as well, which was useful.

The only downside was the aircon - we found even with it on the highest temperature we were slightly cold.

The location was great, right next to Madison Square Garden, and a short walk to Time Square.

The staff were so helpful and friendly. I would recommend booking a car to the airport with them.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel and staff were friendly. My family and I went in early Dec 2013. Disappointed they run out of hot chocolate early in the evening and do not replenish it. Hotel location was very convenient. Hotel staff forgot to wake us up to catch the airport limo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cagycarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
970 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 466 in New York City
5,097 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#117 of 466 in New York City
1,322 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#139 of 466 in New York City
1,070 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#63 of 466 in New York City
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing