We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #171 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived at check-in time, and only had a short wait to check in. A valet parked our car promptly. The parking price ($42 for 24 hours) was reasonable, for the city, and cost us less than parking and taking the train from Connecticut. The hotel sits next door to one of New York's Police Department precincts, so we felt extra-safe in the neighborhood.

Channel, one of the managers, handled our check-in, and was very friendly. Our room was a 'standard' room with a Queen bed. It was clean, tastefully appointed with updated furnishings, and a little warm. We tried to turn on the A/C, but the thermostat didn't work. Two calls to the front desk brought service from an engineer, who replaced the thermostat very quickly once he arrived, and our world was cooler again! This is the first hotel I've stayed in that didn't have carpeting; the textured laminate flooring was comfortable, though.

There was fairly little noise from the neighboring room or the hallway; we were down the hall and around the corner from the elevator bank, which was good. The A/C unit was a little loud (in part because of the size of the room), but it was worth it to keep the room cool in the 98+ degree heat outside. The bathroom was compact, but had everything we needed at-hand. The walk-in glass-wall modern shower was nice and roomy, and the rain-style showerhead was an excellent inclusion.

Channel, the manager, followed up on the Maintenance call by calling personally, and also provided information for us to find resources the hotel offered for our stay. The bed was comfortable, and the linens were soft. The three provided pillows were enough for us; we noticed that there weren't any spare pillows or blankets in the small closet unit.

The room had a large, wall-mounted HDTV, an iPod-compatible alarm clock, a cordless phone, and a single-serve Keurig coffee machine.

When it was time to check out, the Concierge helpfully arranged for us to leave our luggage for a couple of hours while we sought out brunch nearby. (Walk a few blocks south on 9th Avenue to Skylight Diner or Cloud 9 Diner!) When we returned, there was a short wait for the valet to bring up our car (their parking garage is a couple of blocks away-- we were advised when we arrived to give them 10-15 minutes when we needed the car back), and we were presented with luggage and car keys.

The hotel lobby is small and busy, with lots of people from many places visiting the city. The front desk staff worked efficiently and pleasantly to keep on top of the crowd, and did a good job. Channel and her staff were very nice, always helpful, and made our stay a good one, I appreciated that she called personally to follow up on our request for maintenance to make sure everything was good or better. We got the room for a Priceline rate, which was absolutely worth the price; if we can get a good rate that way again, we'll definitely stay here again.

We didn't happen to eat in the restaurant, but the menu boards in the lobby sounded like their offerings would be delicious, tapas-style cuisine.

Room Tip: If you can get a "premium room," do so. They're a little bigger, and are the ones sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastaLusoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to TRYP Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,133 - 2,139 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed the experience - the hotel is upbeat,upmarket and a little bit funky - couldn't fault it - i should have booked it for the entirety of out stay in NYC - it is vey popular so we were unable to extend our stay by more than a couple of nights - will knwo for next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

What an outstanding review! We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South glow with pride! Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location was excellent near all shops and restaurants tourist attractions the rooms very clean the staff were all great
i would definiitly stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Jose Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancé in May 2013.

Pros:
The hotel itself is very nice: modern feel and large rooms for NYC. The beds were comfortable and the shower was good. Free wifi is also nice to have.
Cons:
Wooden floorboards mean that sound echoes VERY loudly. If people shut their door on your floor, it rattles your door and reverberates through the corridors. We could hear people having normal volume conversations, word for word, in the room next door.
We had an issue where one of the locks on our bags were tampered with while our bags were in storage, we got a half-hearted apology from a manager...thankfully nothing we had in the bags were taken, but our lock was unable to be opened as the lock had been tampered with. We didn't want to make a big deal of it but it did kind of tarnish our stay.
Location itself is optimistically described as 'times square south' but is actually more like the garment district (and several blocks away from times square - about a 7-10 min walk). It's close to Penn St station so that makes travel convenient on the subway.
Overall a pleasant stay but if you like to sleep in past about 7am, don't stay here, it's too noisy with people coming and going!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katmar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. An experience such as the one you described is taken very seriously by all of us here at the TRYP Time Square South Hotel, and we look forward to an opportunity to make it better. Although I cannot undo what happened, I would like to personally discuss your recent stay, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

I appreciate your feedback, as this helps us become the very best that we can be, and I look forward to speaking with you directly concerning your recent stay. I may be contacted at 212-600-2440, or Kimiller@wyndham.com. In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at the Wyndham Times Square South.

Sincerely,

Kiana Miller – Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The room was very nice, very clean and very beautiful. If you need to be close to Penn Station, the hotel it only 2 blocks away! I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRPY Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk and bellmen staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,812 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 470 in New York City
5,505 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#136 of 470 in New York City
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,101 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 470 in New York City
8,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $156 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing