We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a pleasant surprise: we'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #172 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 19, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,141 - 2,147 of 3,912 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Brought my mom to New York to see a Yankees game and we stayed to the TRYP Times Square South. The hotel was in a great location, just 1/2 a block to Penn Station. Very clean, well maintained property. Very friendly staff. Absolutely no complaints and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! That is very high praise indeed! It also sounds like you great time. Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Myra M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. room was a decent size for 3 women travellers.

Pros: friendly staff, good location to penn station and also the subway system, easy walking distance to times square, shopping etc..., free wi-fi , and computers available for printing in the lobby

cons: had a room located on the first floor and the noise would start at 5 am everyday , hearing chairs and tables being dragged around the buffet/ lobby bar area: very annoying!
.however afrer brining this issue up, our last morning was a bit quieter.
air conditioner is also very loud.
we also found the king bed to be a bit hard and the pillows uncomfortable , the bunk bed in the room was more comfy than the king bed!

My tips would be to ask for a higher floor room.

overall it was a good stay, would consider staying again if the price was right!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer. However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience with our A.C units and noises coming from the Gastro Bar. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,797 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 470 in New York City
5,498 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#136 of 470 in New York City
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,100 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 470 in New York City
8,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $156 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing