We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,335)
Filter reviews
4,335 results
Traveler rating
2,126
1,544
395
156
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,126
1,544
395
156
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room penn station premium room bunk beds police station next door times square new york madison square garden quiet street empire state building coffee machine great shower modern hotel the high line large room lobby bar around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
2,496 - 2,501 of 4,335 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. room was a decent size for 3 women travellers.

Pros: friendly staff, good location to penn station and also the subway system, easy walking distance to times square, shopping etc..., free wi-fi , and computers available for printing in the lobby

cons: had a room located on the first floor and the noise would start at 5 am everyday , hearing chairs and tables being dragged around the buffet/ lobby bar area: very annoying!
.however afrer brining this issue up, our last morning was a bit quieter.
air conditioner is also very loud.
we also found the king bed to be a bit hard and the pillows uncomfortable , the bunk bed in the room was more comfy than the king bed!

My tips would be to ask for a higher floor room.

overall it was a good stay, would consider staying again if the price was right!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC- Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer. However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience with our A.C units and noises coming from the Gastro Bar. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Unfortunately, we only had one night at this great hotel. We were fortunate that we were upgraded to a 'Premium Suite'. The room was very clean, large & attractive with it's wooden flooring - a big plus. Also it was very quiet. The staff very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The location was ideal - very close to Penn Station. (We arrived in New York by train). It was also easy walking distance to Broadway where we attended a show.
Would definitely like to stay there again when ever we return to N.Y.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC- Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC- Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My son and his friends were attending a concert at the Hammerstein Ballroom. I was looking for a place close so that they wouldn't have far to walk after the concert. I was down to two...the Tryp and the New Yorker. Part of me wanted the New Yorker because it was basically attached to the concert venue. But the Tryp was just around the corner and it was considerably cheaper. PLUS, they offered a buffet breakfast in the lobby (at an additional cost), which was nice to have with a group of teenagers who wake up at different times. We were so glad we chose the Tryp! NICE rooms. VERY clean. Comfy beds. Bathroom was amazing (not to sound weird, but the nicest hotel bathroom I ever had!) The staff was amazing! Location was perfect. We walked to Times Square. Easily hopped the train to experience other parts of the city. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC- Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRPY Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk and bellmen staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 5 Nights in June. We where two adults and two children and had a big Family room . The room was very clean and spacious. It was on the 11 th floor. A big pluss for the room was that there was wooden flooring . To be in a big city like New York the room was quiet.The staff at the hotel was very freindly and service minded. The hotel had a great location, you could walk to Macy`s, Times Square and Empire State Building.We can recommand this hotel and we will definitely stay at this hotel next time we are in New York.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC- Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South glow with pride! Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews