We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“From we arrived until we left the staff was excellent. On...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP New York City Times Square South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #189 of 475 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    1,088
    264
    81
    63
See reviews for
1,120
827
111
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The property is convenient to Penn Station. It is a sleek, modern decor with a European bent. Ours was a premium room and it was very large with a superb bath. HVAC Temperature controls were difficult to operate and no instructions in the room. No one answered our 3 attempts to call to the desk to assist in moderating the temperature. Had to get dressed and return to the lobby but only the bartender was present and she had no idea where the desk clerk was. Typical of the problem with the NYC TRYP. Wait in line to check in. Wait for a bellman and the only helpful staff member was the housekeeper but she didn't speak English. Stay only if you want a clean place but have the patience to put up with waiting for everything.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. An experience such as the one you described is taken very seriously by all of us here at the TRYP Time Square South Hotel, and we look forward to an opportunity to make it better. Although I cannot undo what happened, I would like to personally discuss your recent stay, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

I appreciate your feedback, as this helps us become the very best that we can be, and I look forward to speaking with you directly concerning your recent stay. I may be contacted at 212-600-2440, or Kimiller@wyndham.com. In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at the Wyndham Times Square South.

Sincerely,

Kiana Miller – Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Used priceline.com name your own price, so did not get to pick hotel only price, location and star rating... Boy, did I ever get lucky! Stayed the weekend in the city at Tryp Times Square South. This hotel is very trendy and beautiful. The room was well furnished and the king size bed was super comfy! And the bathroom shower was awesome! Roomy and super clean! Love this hotel! The location is excellent, also. A block or so from Penn station/ Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, and AMC Loews movie theater. Many restaurants nearby plus onsite restaurant. Only con: no swimming pool :(

Room Tip: I had the standard room and it was amazing and very large, with a huge tv on the wall and a full siz...
See more room tips
Green Features: The soap/shampoo/conditioner are in the shower in refillable containers attached to the walls. This is much more economical and enviro-friendly. Also, they have cards in the room asking to reuse towels and sheets during your stay. A good reminder for some people who don't already do so.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandyLashay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We are a group of six (four adults and two children) and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Tryp. We have a family room that sleeps eight and it has been perfect. Spacious, clean, pleasing to the eye and friendly staff. Since so much has already been said I will simply add that right around the corner from the hotel on 9th Avenue there are three places we found to be a real bonus to staying here. First is a little laundromat with a friendly owner. If you don't want to pack a lot of clothes this is very convenient. Second is the grocery/deli at the corner of 36th Street and 9th Avenue that had awesome subs. Third and most impressive was the Thai restaurant called Zoob Zib. They make the best Pad Thai outside of Thailand and the fried rice was excellent, too. If you stay at the Tryp definitely check out these places!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jand872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great hotel - very clean. Rooms very roomy and trendy in décor. Lots of good eating places very near by. Wonderful staff. Zahir was the ultimate in customer service. This man really took great care of us and was most helpful when you asked him anything! Subway connections close by. Wonderful time!

Room Tip: We had a premium room. Very roomy and came with Kureg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday in May and had an excellent time! The room was very contemporary and spacious and the hotel itself was lovely. A very helpful concierge and all other staff were more than pleasant. Lovely jazz music in the lobby bar made the atmosphere very calming after a hectic day! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed in my fair share of NYC hotel rooms, and the TRYP Hotel takes the cake. First, the lobby is gorgeous with a mix of modern and rustic design and second and more importantly, the service and employees are awesome.

I recently stayed in a Premium Room and the TRYP hotel addressed a number of my pet peeves that other hotels often fall victim too. The TRYP has plenty of elevators, the shower is literally divine, room temperature is very reactive, gorgeous blackout drapes, luxurious bedding...the list goes on. The rooms were very spacious and worked well for entertaining other guests in my room. One of my favorite things is the reach out shower! By that I mean you are able to reach out through a hole in the shower glass to grab your towel, toothbrush or whatever you need/want!

While staying at the hotel I also had a drink at the bar, the bartender was hilarious and accommodating. I also enjoyed the breakfast on Saturday morning. Not only were the potatoes to die for, but the presentation was so thoughtful! The portion sizes were perfect and the food was delicious.

Overall, my visit to the TRYP hotel exceeded my expectations. It is obvious that a lot of thought went into the design of the hotel. I loved it, and it will be my first choice when I come back to NYC!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at TRYP Times Square South Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#341 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#312 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing