We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$326
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$249
$239
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$193
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$167
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$159
$120
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$331
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,125)
Filter reviews
4,125 results
Traveler rating
2,039
1,483
361
139
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,039
1,483
361
139
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roompenn stationpremium roombunk bedspolice station next doortimes squarenew yorkmadison square gardenquiet streetempire state buildingcoffee machinemodern hotellarge roommini fridgearound the cornerfew blockslocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
2,657 - 2,662 of 4,125 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room was great, but always smelled like food for some reason, we were on a high floor so it was a bit strange.

The location was great, just two blocks away from the 34th and 8th subway station

The customer service was exceptional, everyone was willing to help-

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniloNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! Our staff is the heart of the hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at the Tryp Hotel from January 15th-20th and I can honestly say it was the best way to kick start our shopping n sight seeing holiday. the staff are extremely friendly and offered to help with our every need as well as they could. The location was situated in a fairly decent area and was situated a few seconds away from the tube. There were plenty of shops and eateries which were local and i also noticed one or two theaters, I will definitely be staying here again if i return to New York as the vibe in the hotel was fantastic as well as the staff being friendly, the hotel residents were also friendly, the bar and gym within the hotel were definitely a bonus to. We stayed on the 12th floor in room 1202 and our room was cleaned everyday with new sheets, towels and all the other essentials. Thanks To All Staff At This Hotel For a Great Comfortable Stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

What an outstanding review! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer. We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South glow with pride! Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My 3 girl friends and I stayed at the TRYP by Wyndham for one night in January. The hotel was beautiful and clean. The lobby was very inviting with couches and the bar all in the one room. They ran our of standard rooms so they upgraded us to a suite. They gave us the choice of a room with 2 king beds, 1 bathroom, a living area with a sofa bed and a wet bar or a suite with 2 queen beds, 2 bathrooms, a living area with a sofa bed and a wet bar...with 4 women we went with the 2 bathrooms and rented a roll away bed so we didn't have to share a bed. The suite was very spacious even with the roll away bed and very clean. The service at the front desk by Channel was spectacular. She was very sweet and very accommodating. She gave us free appetizer coupons (with the purchase of a drink) to use at their bar (We unfortunately did not have time to use them) The bell man (Zahir) was also very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. I'll be sure to inform Channel and Zahir of your kind comments. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to TRYP Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tryp for a couple of nights. We loooved our room. It is rather on the small side, but has beautifully modern decor and was perfect for the two of us. We thought the price was great. Overall, the location for us couldn't have been better. It's just a short (block or so) walk off of the main street, and within 5-10 minute walk of Times Square. We loved the location because we weren't right in Times Square and the loudness of it all, but could get there quickly. There are many restaurants and stores within a couple of minute walk as well. The lobby and rooms at the Tryp are gorgeous. The staff was very pleasant and we enjoyed every second of it! We would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again at our next visit to NYC. Yes, it is located near a police station, but we found this comforting :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! However, we understand that our hotel might be a bit different than some people are used to when it comes to the layout and size, but we are very happy that you enjoyed our “beautifully modern decor," as you stated nicely! It's great to hear that our staff gave you great service and was always there to help. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to TRYP Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here over New Years and really enjoyed this place.

The good:
- It is relatively close to Times Square and for the price, very good value.
- The beds are super comfortable, and the rooms spacious.
- The wifi was also super fast, which is rare for hotels these days!
- The staff are really friendly and the concierge desk was always available to help with any query or recommendation we wanted. n

The not so good:
- The gym is connected to the same heating system as the rest of the hotel. It was difficult to work out properly because it was so hot in such a small room. It was clear they didn’t really have the gym sorted because they have a vending machine in the gym, a giveaway the space has not really been thought out properly.
- The iron in the room almost ruined my clothes. I don’t understand why you would skimp on an iron, especially when most of the amenities at this hotel are top notch.
- There is no mini bar / fridge in the room - this was kinda of annoying because we usually like to use the fridge to keep things in. Still, it was no big deal, just something to mention.

Overall, the good out ways the bad on this place. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we certainly do value the comments of our guests so we can improve our service and facility alike. We will surly take you recommendations to heart in an effort to better serve our guests. Thank you again and hope to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews