We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service - Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP New York City Times Square South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #181 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service - Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is great value for money, good size rooms, nice atmosphere, pleasant communal areas, good tapas and only a few blocks from the Jacob Javits Convention Centre.

However, where this hotel really excels is its people and high level of service. I was hosting a small event at the hotel and nothing was too much trouble from start to finish - the level of service completely exceeded my expectations.

Lisnaldy - the bar manager who managed my requirements provided an outstanding level of service. Even the rest of the staff from the charming Miguel in the restaurant to the concierge and reception staff were an absolute pleasure and very welcoming to all guests. It is the people that make this hotel special and stand out from the rest. I very rarely write such reviews, but felt compelled to write something based on the great staff and level of service. Five star service without a doubt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodriguezEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at TRYP Times Square South Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! Lisnadly and Miguel are two of our Sning Stars. It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,735
    1,231
    291
    97
    76
See reviews for
1,307
925
125
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perak
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

It was my 1st time in New York and was on a one night stopover after a 24 hour flight. I had gone online and decided to book it after reading the review. When I arrived, I was greeted warmly and after checking in, I was given a room right on the top floor.

The room had a small balcony and had a good view. The room was big and was well equipped.

The location was convenient and within 15 mins to Times Square. The service level was good and they were very helpful.

I would definitely recommend the hotel if you want a nice comfortable hotel in a convenient location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank qwhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. Our reputation and service are our driving force. We aim to serve & please guests at all times. We look forward to serving you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Room was very clean service was quick. Great staff very friendly. Hotel in front of police precent adds a safety comfort. Close to many major attractions but yet not in the spotlight so we were able to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingLou1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our unique facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city. And having a police station next door certainly does add a safer feeling to the neighborhood. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in a family room for 5 ( 2 adults, 14 year old son, 14 and 13 year old daughters) which was very spacious and large enough for the whole family, extremely clean and modern. Great fresh coffee facilities in the room. Two issues which you need to be aware of, the bathroom is lovely with a spacious wet room however it does slow you down from getting out and about when 5 people are trying to have a shower each morning ( separately) ! The second issue is the pull down bunk bed -my son is 6 ft tall and very slim however the bed was not as comfortable as you'd expect for this hotel. Otherwise fantastic place to stay and so quiet at night time -we could not hear a sound ( 7th floor at the back of the hotel).

Room Tip: I phoned the hotel after booking and a very helpful person reserved a large quiet room for us. Be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batteriesre-charged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback & kind review. Indeed our Family rooms are ideal for our guests traveling with the family. I'd like to take to time to suggest you try one of Premium Rooms which can accomodate up to 6 adults with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa bed, it also provides 2 bathrooms, which will certainly solve the time issue in the morning. We hope to see you again & prove that we can accomodate you and your family to the fullest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The room was clean and okay, with a comfortable bed, but was very poorly isolated, didn't have a fridge/mini-bar, didn't have a bath (only a shower) and not enough space in the closet to store our clothes.

The customer service was mostly good.
The concierge service was absolutely outstanding, the 2 guys that worked there were always very helpful, nice, and knowledgeable, they deserve a raise :)
We had a fantastic last breakfast at Balthazar recommended and booked for us by Jesse.

The restaurant was nice but the kitchen closes too early, and the music was very loud and annoying. It's a pity many restaurants and shops in NYC think they have to compete with clubs and turn up the volume to deafening levels instead of having a nice relaxing background music. After a day of shopping and sight seeing, you don't really want to sit in such a loud place to eat.

Maybe avoid going to the bar if you see the younger barmaid. There are two and the younger one is absolutely insufferable, unpleasant, and dreadful. One of the worst service/experience we ever had in NYC.
At some point, she even made a gesture to another employee in front of us like she wanted to shoot herself with a gun.
if you don't like your job, just quit and do something else...

The location was great. It's close to a nice diner on the 9th Avenue for breakfast (Skylight diner) and within walking distance of Broadway, Macy, 5th Avenue, Times Square, etc.

Overall, it's a nice hotel and a good value, we would probably come back unless we get a hotel closer to Central Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our Concierge Jesse and Anthony are truly two of our gems, I will be sure to share your comments with them. However, I do apologize for the lack of enthusiasm from one of our team members, we aim to give our guests 10 star services. We hope to serve you again in a more pleasing and less noisy setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great view, room nicely set up, close to Penn Station and trains, The Tapas bar is a great spot for a quick meal, friendly bartenders. Fairly quiet side street entrance. Easy walking distance to Macy's and other eating spots

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our unique facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city.Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neu-Ulm, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The rooms are for New York very large. Big Windows. Big bathroom. Very clean. Very comfortable beds. No loud noise from the streets.The location is perfect and in the near of all sights. The costumer service was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThegreatCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're happy to know that our hotel & staff exceeded your expecttions. We certainly aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#120 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#56 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,728 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,573 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#133 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing