We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #172 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel was a great hotel, very clean and good friendly service. The location is very central convenient for Times square and an easy walk to the 5th Av shopping or a stroll along the High Line, two minutes from Macy's. The room was larger than expected and unusually comparable to some UK hotels. We had a room on the 9th floor at the rear of the hotel and it was very quiet. The decor is modern and the room and all public areas was very well presented. The coffee maker was a fabulous addition, great coffee. We took a long time researching this one and it paid off! Oh and did I mention an amazing shower. Would definately return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,803)
There are newer reviews for TRYP New York City Times Square South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,422 - 2,428 of 3,803 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

LOVED THE ROOM! Especially the wood floors and comfy beds. Location was a bit out of the way, but not a deal breaker for folks who like to walk. Shopping sidewalk sales on the way to Times Square is a plus!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesinjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family was in New York for a family wedding and we had three rooms, each a different type, for three nights. From the greeting at reception to our departure the staff and service was great. Rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed - loved the wooden floors! Price was also right. As noted by others the location is not great, and we found the breakfast disappointing, but these issues would not keep us away from staying there again when we go to New York again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I selected this hotel based on the high reviews on tripadvisor. I was certainly not disappointed. The hotel is on 35th St between 8th and 9th, right next to a police station. That part of 8th Ave is pretty busy, so it's a good area to be in.

Upon our arrival a very friendly Danny who was kind enough to honor my request for a high floor greeted me. Not only did he put us on the 15th floor, he upgraded us to a large room with 2 king-sized beds. There were four of us, so this was a definite plus. When you factor in the fact that we got the room at a discounted rate (December 23 through the 25th), it makes the deal we got seem even sweeter.

The rooms are decorated nicely, the floors are nice and the bathroom was very comfortable. I wish the room would have had a comfortable chair to lounge on and I think a floor lamp would have been a nice touch too, because I couldn't get the lighting exactly the way I wanted, but considering the value I felt I received, I can't complain at all. One thing that really stuck in my mind is that the elevators (5 of them) are extremely quick. I don't recall having to wait more than 30 or so seconds (sometimes much less) for an elevator.

Another person at the front desk was very helpful and friendly to us during our stay. Ricky was there late at night when we would use the lobby to kick back on the comfy furniture to knock back a few beers we bought on 8th Ave. He made us feel welcome and provided us with a bottle opener for our bottles. In fact, someone had given him some chocolate as a gift and at one point he came out from behind his desk (probably 2 or 3am) and shared his chocolate with us. That was very nice of him! Did I mention the lobby? Very cute (can guys say that?).

The female bartender working during the evening was very friendly and super easy on the eyes. The price of the drinks was not... beware. Even during their "happy hour", when rail drinks are 1/2 off, I was charged $7 for a vodka tonic. So about $10 (tip & tax included) for a rail drink - ouch! However, it's a small trade-off considering the quality of the hotel.

For those interested in driving (as I always do), be aware that street parking is nearly non-existent, and when you do find it, you have to be on the lookout for street cleaning on alternating days. Too many restrictions to even try it. Instead, I suggest you do what I do. Park your car in a different part of the city and take the subway or a cab back to the hotel. Otherwise, you can pay the $53 per-night parking fee for an SUV (slightly less for a car) if you want to leave the car in the hotel's lot. I have a great place to park for days for free, but I'm not about to spill the beans on that one.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. I believe we stayed in room 1504.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fermaint R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to TRYP Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent for use with the metro. We were treated to the highest floor's corner room. We loved the two window floor to ceiling view! The shower with it's ceiling fixture and wall fixture was a great experience as well and I loved the bath products offered. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinnurse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very friendly staff, all our wishes and expectations were honored..... ! We booked a family room for our family and it's just fantastic.
Very good bedding / a seperate toilet would be good.
The situation is perfect !
And we would absolutely recommend the breakfast buffet, mmmmmhhhhhh.
Thank's to the whole staff !

Room Tip: Family room with 2 adults and 3 childres was perfect !
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at TRYP Times Square South Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The room was awesome - so spacious, modern and clean. The customer service was amazing (LOVE the name tags with everyone's passion on them) and the location was convenient.I was sadly there for only a night, but would stay there again and would recommend to anyone in NYC. They have happy hour and tapas specials, too. Next time I plan to check those out as well. As a business traveler who spends a lot of time in NYC, I was so happy I found this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marisascime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We’re pleased that you choose the TRYP Times Square South, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,035 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#73 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#122 of 468 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,493 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#202 of 468 in New York City
5,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $182 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing