We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #166 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 4 nights 14 - 18 December, family of 4. (11 & 15 yrs) Very fast check in and check out, really friendly and informative staff. Hotel only 8 months old, so everything all sparkly and new. 10 star comfortable beds (and pillows!). Absolutely no noise from outside, amazing considering next door to NYPD. (We faced the rear of the hotel, classic NYC tall building fire escapes view - no bad thing) Although if you are easily disturbed by noise, ask for a room without a connecting door. We were woken by music from the next room coming via the connecting door. Again no problem, as we had to be up earlyish to fit in all of our must see and do list! Location great, very happy we booked this hotel. Try Tic Toc diner (Next door / part of the New Yorker Hotel) round corner for a great breakfast. Look up Ellens Stardust diner on Broadway for singing wait staff - worth the experience & kids loved it)

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views, avoid connecting doors in room if not required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devonpod4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,809
    1,274
    300
    99
    77
See reviews for
1,370
952
129
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, CT
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect with this hotel. Had never heard of it, and it was a little off the beaten path, but I have to say it was great. We chose it because it's VERY HARD to find a place in NYC (or anywhere for that matter) that will accommodate 5 people in a room. Most places want you to get 2 rooms because of some fire code violation. But this place had some unique, interesting options. We chose the Samsung Experience Room that came with Wii, 2 flat screen samsung tvs, and some other options that we didn't even take advantage of since we were only there one night. I think you could have rented movies, etc...but we didn't have time. The only question with the Wii was I think it only had one game (Super Mario) which was kind of strange. Maybe it had more, but we didn't really take the time to explore or figure things out. Like I said, we were only there 1 night and didn't want to spend the whole time in the room, but it was definitely a neat thing to come back to at night. The kids enjoyed it. The room itself was very clean, very modern looking. Cold hard floors, but I prefer that to rugs which can get gross after so many visitors. Our room had a set of bunk beds (so cool) and a sofa that pulled out into a bed. We also had a king size bed on the other side of a partition, so it was perfect for our family of 5! The room also had a safe, a small fridge, a keurig coffee maker, some water bottles...a lot of little nice touches that make a huge difference. The lobby was small, but cute. A small little restaurant and bar was right off the lobby. I'm not sure how many rooms this place has, it was hard to tell. We were on the 1st floor (maybe 6 rooms?) and didn't explore much at all. Also on the 1st floor were rooms like "Fitness Room" (saw a bike in there as we were walking by), "Premium Room," "Family Room"...so each room has some unique features. We loved the Samsung Room---not sure if it's like this everywhere or not, but parking was extra, and it was a hefty $50+ for the one night. That was kind of annoying. But other than that, we were very pleased with the room, the layout/space, the cleanliness, the value, etc....

Room Tip: The Samsung Room was great, but I would ask about all the different rooms/different features. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsl_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I wanted to surprise my daughter, nieces and nephew with tickets to the "Grinch Who Stole Christmas" and an overnight stay in NYC. The Tryp was only 2 blocks from the show so it seemed like a good choice. The hospitality there started with the staff helping with our bags and parking the car for us. After a fast check-in, we were off to our room. Since it was NY, I was expecting a small room - that is not what I got! We were in a "premium room", it was a beautiful room with two bathrooms, a living room and a large bedroom! The kids and I were all very impressed, I couldn't believe we were in New York!

The service level was high throughout our stay - the conceirge helped with directions and suggestions too! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We’re pleased that you choose the TRYP Times Square South, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our stay. Family of 4, including 2 teenabge boys, stayed in one large room, with 2 Queen sized beds. More than adequate space and comfort excellent. It's a great location if you want the Empire State Building, Macy's, Times Square etc. Penn subway station is at the end of the road for direct travel down to Wall Street area or up to Central Park. The staff in the hotel were all extremely pleasant. The Tapas Bar food was great too. Didn't sample the breakfast. Checked in early, no problem, no extra charge. Checked out and left our luggage with concierge who arranged our travel back to the airport later that day. Nothing was too much trouble - thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Earlier this month I arranged a New York City trip for my 18 year-old daughter and her friend that included a stay at the TRYP Times Square South. They loved it. One week later I stayed at the TRYP and agree with them. It is located on a quiet section of 35th near the corner of busy 8th Avenue. It was a ten-minute walk to Macy's and Madison Square Garden, a fifteen minute walk to Times Square and a twenty-five minute walk to Rockefeller Center. You are a few minutes from Penn Station. The rooms are very modern...hard wood floors, Keurig K-cup coffee maker, ultra comfortable beds and chairs, really cool modern showers in large bathrooms and many other amenities. The business center was great and FREE. WIFI at no extra charge. I actually booked this hotel because of its reasonable "holiday season" rates compared to the competition. The staff couldn't be more responsive. When the young girls arrived at 9:30 am, the staff got them into a room immediately despite a posted 3:00 pm check-in time. They gave excellent travel and site-seeing tips. My daughter, who is a dancer and makes many trips to New York City, said, "I only want to stay at the TRYP!" I have to agree with her.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pats731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at TRYP Times Square South Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently took a trip to NYC this week and had a wonderful time staying at the TRYP hotel. First off, the hotel is so centrally located and only a few blocks from penn station, times square, radio city etc (all within easy walking distance). I was excited to see what the hotel was like compared to the reviews and the pictures on tripadvisor and upon arrival it most definitely did not disappoint. The hotel is just as is in pictures, if not better. The staff was friendly, the lobby area was very modern (nice bar, great for relaxing after travels and all day walking), the rooms were very very clean/modern. It is quite the gem for the money you are spending in nyc. It is nice that they have computers and printers downstairs for guest to use free of charge and there is also wifi free of charge. Bar staff was very accommodating and provided us with wine glasses for our own bottle in the room. The only complaint that we did have while staying was that there was not a refrigerator or microwave in the room (deluxe double room) which was disappointing because we would had liked to have somewhere to put our leftover food. Also the hotel is located directly next to/across from NYPD, which for us wasn't an issue, but many people who are sticklers about noise may not appreciate it. Overall, our stay here was wonderful and we will definitely be returning on our next trip to nyc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acar19958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

As far as I know this is the only TRYP in the US; the rest are in Europe. I made some requests ahead of arrival: early check in, room facing the back (not the street) and high up, and since we were there for special occasions (my birthday & a company holiday party) a room upgrade if available. We got two out of 3, which ain’t bad (we checked in at 1:15 instead of 3, and our room DID face the back, though it wasn’t particularly high up – 7th floor). The room, with a VERY comfortable king bed, was good size for NY, which means it wasn’t cramped but also not palatial. Like some other reviewers, we did notice that perhaps the walls are a bit thin, as we could hear some noise within the hotel in the morning, but it was not excessive. The bathroom was quite clean but just big enough for one person…though the shower (with a great “rain” showerhead) will fit 3 or 4! There was a room safe, which I always like to have, but no refrigerator. The staff DID note my birthday by sending up a very nice selection of snack nuts, as well as facilitating the delivery of a VERY nice bottle of bubbly accompanied by chocolate-covered strawberries that one of my close friends ordered as a surprise for us. I found the guys working the concierge desk quite helpful, which we appreciated. There’s a bunch of reasonable ethnic restaurants right around the corner on 9th Ave heading north., and it’s an easy walk to Times Square, MSG, Rockefeller, etc. If you fly in/out of Newark as we did, this is a really handy location, since Penn Station is just a couple of blocks away (take the Airtrain…only $25 round trip!). Overall, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Face the back, not the street...you won't have a great view but you'll sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,839 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,846 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing