We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great TRYP!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #167 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great TRYP!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The TRYP is a very modern hotel in a good location. It's about a ten minute walk from the Empire State and Times Square. Our room was great, very modern with huge, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. By New York standards it was a very good sized room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were given a free upgrade on check-in. Free wifi and computers to use in the lobby, perfect if you're looking for a nice restaurant to celebrate a special occasion as we were. Overall a great stay at a great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: We were offered a free upgrade on check in so worth an ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CL4RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    1,306
    307
    107
    79
See reviews for
1,401
977
130
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
beverly hills,mi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice overall stay, with good friendly service. The location is a bit off the beaten path but the rooms were quiet. The beds were excellent! Enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker in the room. Despite the high end finishes and furnishings, there were some small annoyances in the room.

By example, the desk chair is far too low to use the desk comfortably. There are no bedside reading lights. There is inadequate lighting in the bathroom mirror for cosmetics or shaving. And there is far too little stowage space for guest's things in the bathroom vanity.

There was a curious hole drilled through the euro-glass shower door so as to turn on the shower handle. Only problem was that the sink cabinet was installed right in front of the hole and prevented one from using it.

Hence, my conclusion is that they had an amateur doing the room design.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We completely understand that our hotel may not be for everyone, especially those used to more traditional hotels. Our design is definitely more modern than most hotels out there, but we take pride in providing something truly unique to our guests. All of us here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel are so happy that you enjoyed our staff and service, and we hope to see you next time you're in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Tryp hotel located south Midtown. It was one of the few hotels with sufficient room for a family of 5. Right near Penn Station, MSG and Macy's. Hard wood floors in room. Ample room in bathroom. Maybe could have put a light in the closet so my older child could change without being in front of the rest of the family. More than enough dresser and closet space. Kid's could watch one tv, adults the other. Breakfast just right and you might get the continental breakfast thrown in. There is a neat attempt at social media with Lobby Friend. It try's to put together people ho might want to do things together or share a cab somewhere. Police station next door, so could feel safe, but didn't always feel,the dark 8th Ave was safe, but fine. Times Square is a quick walk north and everything else is very accessible. There was a pillow on our couch that the zipper was broke. I intentionally left it near the front door, but it wasn't placed. Really could have been my fault for not pursuing it further. Really not a problem. Beds were very comfortable and room was always clean,
Now the staff was younger and very energetic. They really tried hard in being very accommodative. The young concierge was fine, but really wasn't too sure of certain things. Like ideas on how to get to the Parade and best times to get there. He followed up perfectly after One of his recommendations. The recommendation was pricey (reviewed later) and he was genuinely disappointed in what I said. So, they might need to be more up to date on the city. However, I will always take an energetic effort over apathy at a more established, stuffy hotel. The staff asked again and again how things were. We would recommend this to anyone, especially families. So, work with the staff, because they are willing to work with you.

Room Tip: No real views, so all rooms are somewhat standard size for single to family, but very well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to TRYP Times Square South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Past experience showed me that hotels in Manhattan are usually either shabby and dated or terribly expensive. That's why I was happy to find this hotel which is new, modern, clean and nicely designed at a reasonable price for NYC. We used booking.com to book a room for three. We requested a quiet room on a high floor and that is just what we got. We were given a room on the 15th floor, which is the highest floor of the building. The room was very spacious with two big queen or king sized beds.

As I wrote the room was very big. But there isn't much room for clothes, just a small cupboard. So if you are coming for a formal occasion you might find it hard to hang a suit or any dress which is not a very short mini-dress.

There are no luggage racks just something that resembles a stool that we were told was for that purpose. It didn't work for us because our suitcase was too large for it, so we kept it on the floor.

The Bathroom is very nice but there is no counter and no place to put the things one usually keeps in the bathroom. The water pressure in the shower was rather low.

Be careful when leaving the room and be sure the door is locked, it didn't shut easily.

We never had to wait long for an elevator even in the busy early morning hours. The bar looked nice and inviting, I am sorry we didn't have a chance to use it because we had plans every night while staying there; we'll have to give it a try next time.

Wi fi was free, not the best I've experienced but not the worst either.

There are two computers and a printer for the hotel guests, their use is complimentary.

When we checked in we were told that a hold would be put on the credit card for the amount of our stay plus 200 or 250 dollars in case extra charges were incurred.

All in all we had a pleasant stay and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very hard to find anything to criticise. I had a corner room on the 15th floor, with excellent views over midtown. The room was clean, comfortable, and surprisingly large and airy for NYC; well designed without being self-consciously fashionable. The location is great - two minutes walk from Penn Station - and although calling it "Times Square South" might be stretching it a bit, you can walk to the Theatre District in 15 minutes. The staff were friendly and helpful, and free WiFi is always extremely welcome (especially considering how many similar hotels charge extra for it). I'd happily stay again, and recommend it to others too.

(if I had to be picky, the aircon was a bit noisy, but no worse than other places I've stayed and not enough to disturb my sleep)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Helpful staff. Clean hotel. Room is small but feels big with the decor. Love the hard wood floors feels much cleaner. Bed is comfy and shower is nice. Good location walking distance to everything. Subway a half block.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyramjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a great stay! The staff was pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. There is a fitness center and a wine bar/ restaurant on site. I was expecting the surroundings to be loud but was pleasantly suprised that I got a very decent night sleep

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
930 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#62 of 468 in New York City
5,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#115 of 468 in New York City
1,290 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 468 in New York City
581 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#138 of 468 in New York City
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing