We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - very handy if you have 4 in group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #175 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

In September we stayed with adult children - so 3 couples. Had one regular queen room and a premium room. That was great for the 4 of them - much more room to stretch out - 2 TV's, small fridge. The rooms were very clean, and both of our rooms were very quiet. Beds were extremely comfy. Staff was responsive to every need and very friendly. We found the location to be excellent for this leg of our trip. I found this hotel through TripAdvisor, and I found all the good comments to be true. Everything was as good or better than any of us expected. We stayed 3 nights - they comped us breakfast one morning. The maid even brought a box of chocolates to the premium room one day. We loved it!

Room Tip: Ask ahead of check-in for a room with multiple bathrooms if you have extra in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,545 - 2,551 of 3,885 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location of the hotel is great and it has a friendly team. However, I dont find the quality of the room, lobby and floors that great, especially considering the high price. What I disliked the most was that the doors slam very loudly and every time somebody on your floor closes a door, you wake up - guaranteed. But everything else was just fine and its a nice hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Petsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I very well remember the hotel, and only the good side. One can talk endless good words about it! I am often in hotels, but emphasize the TRYP Times Square South among others. Very disciplined and friendly staff, free internet, fantastic cuisine and chic design - it describes the hotel. There's an atmosphere of elegance, yet hospitality and kindness. The next time will be in town, be sure to visit the this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinaLaytar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If I could give six stars I would. Modern, clean, friendly, helpful, great location, great value. We stayed in a family room with three adults and two kids. Very roomy and Eco-friendly, quiet. I don't know what more to say!!!!!!!!! No pool. No children's activities in the hotel but MAdam
Tussauds etc everything nearby. 15 minutes to Times Square. 15 min to Empire State Building

Room Tip: Family room was great with 2queens, bunk beds and sofa sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapb329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in one of the family rooms, which had 2 queen beds and 2 bunk beds. The room decent sized, especially for NYC. Boutique-style interior and bathroom. The shower was excellent. Beds were so comfortable! Staff was extremely friendly. Got some discount cards for food/drinks at the bar, which were quite good as well. Had a live band there that night, and that was a nice touch. Location is great...so much to do in the area, MSG, restaurants, sights. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fusiondragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I spent 1 night at the Tryp Hotel and am impressed with the efficient staff, free wifi, good breakfast selection and large rooms with a decent desk. It's a few blocks from Hell"s Kitchen or the Village but a reasonable distance from (not in) Times Square. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank recchisur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We hope that you will come back and visit us again at the beautiful TRYP Times Square South Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

great value for the room. They also have family rooms. Rooms are big and clean. Nice and trendy lobby where all attendees can have a beer, talking while watching many TVs. Great location as this is next to Javits Convention Center and few blocks aways from Times Square. The only issue is we hear everything from the connection door to another room

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,460 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 469 in New York City
11,714 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#136 of 469 in New York City
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,081 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 469 in New York City
1,073 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#121 of 469 in New York City
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $145 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Splitty, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing