We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark

Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Purchased discount tickets at red stairs Times Square....having a 16yr old boy with us had to kind of pick something he wouldn't mind. It was okay not on Lion King or Wicked standards wouldn't have paid for full price tickets. Anyone with small kids would love as Spiderman flies throughout the sky.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    349
    189
    82
    76
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“!!! Amazing Experience !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

First and foremost, the Spiderman Broadway show is no longer in New York City. The last shows were held in December of 2013. With that said, on to the show! We arrived to the show approximately 30 minutes before it started, and it was a packed house. Everyone was either seated or going to their seats. We sat under the mezzanine and had no trouble viewing the stage from that distance. Although, be aware if your short and a tall person sits in front of you, you will have to move your head around. Once it was 8:30, the lights went off and the show had started, they are very prompt on timing, so don’t be late.

My seat was a bit of a push to get to; luckily the place is usually packed with tourist, so they were not rude at all. I’m only 5’4″ and I have a petite figure, I was wearing my coat and had a handbag with me which I pushed under my chair. I took off my coat to sit comfortably, but still found the seats to be small. I felt like I had to hold my arms together so I wouldn’t touch the person sitting next to me. More so, the person who sat next to me had her arm rested on the armrest, but I still felt her arm touching my arm. The seats were a bit of a disappointment.

During the break, I went to the bathroom, the line was very long, so do make sure to rush out. One good thing about sitting near the exit was leaving for the bathroom and when exiting to leave the auditorium. The stairs are small but large, go up and down slowly, I say this because I fell to the floor. I still don’t recall how it happened, it was so sudden, but luckily I didn’t hurt myself.

Overall, the play was great; it starts off with a musical and gives a brief description of how the Spiderman came about. This is very convenient for those whom are unaware of the story line and never watched the marvel cartoons or read the comics. It starts with a myth like character who explains how she is now cursed and helps Spiderman-Peter Parker when he is in trouble. The set up of the stage is nicely done, from the lab scenes, street fighting, train tracks, balcony scene with Mary-Jane, and when Peter is in school. The Green Goblin goes a little out of his character to interact with the audience, which I loved. He was a great impromptu and made the crowd laugh. Spiderman himself was good and he does fly occasionally over the audience, which gives the crowd a little something to look forward to!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AdnanSamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take The Kids or skip The Show”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

So much hype for so little content. If you want to see a Broadway show pick another, if you want to see flying go to a Cirque show. The kids will love it. I will say the WO an who p,days Arachne is amazing vocally but that was the only highlight for me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Burntsugrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valinhos, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I think that could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I watched the spectacle at novembro/2013. There are several boring scenes with songs that make us sleep. There on the other hand the wonderful scenes of flights Spiderman. If you have to decide for this show and another, I am in doubt in recommending this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great performance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's different from the typical Broadway shows and the stunts were spectacular! Loved it! I recommend getting good seats so view of the stage will not be blocked. Expect lots of "flying around" by Spiderman.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie_travelh0lic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark also viewed

 

Been to Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing