We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WORST PLACE EVER - AVOID IT!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riverside Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riverside Studios
Ranked #435 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE EVER - AVOID IT!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've never been in such a horrible place, please avoid it! Firstly we came and the receptionist was rude, and gave us a room in 5th floor or something, we had to walk through tiny nasty corridors and the room was next to a room with open door and there sat a group of junkies. The room was terrible, no bath, looking old and horrible. We saw no emergency exit, and went back to reception, on our way a man opened his door, and inside we saw lots of stuff and garbage, HE LIVED THERE! And it stinked urin and garbage. Then we said to the receptionist we wanted a better room on the ground floor, because we actually were too afraid to sleep there, firstly because of the nasty people we had seen (we are 2 blond girls), and secondly because if there is a fire, you are dead, you can't escape with those tiny corridors. Then the receptionist gave us a room in an annex, there the customers were a bit different: backpackers and european young tourists. The rooms were terrible, dirty, it stinked, and the owen is a fire danger. The shared bathroom was dirty as well and we went to the bathroom together because we were afraid of being raped by the homeless that lived in the hotel. One of the showers didn't work and we were afraid to get any infectious diseases... Sincerely this hotel destroyed our trip to New York, we tried to find other hotels but we couldn't afford it. We had to sleep with clothes and bath cap on our heads because we were afraid of getting bugs in the hair, it was sooo dirty there!! When we came back home we desinfected all the things that we had there, washed all the clothes that had been in contact with the hotel, and even washed the suitcases.... Imagine..... Never ever again!! Not even if I get paid for sleeping there...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hispanorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    37
    72
    38
    140
See reviews for
42
83
46
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Going to make this a short review: This hotel is not a pleasant place to stay in at all - my mum nearly killed me for booking it!! HOWEVER, we decided last minute to stay in NY, so we wanted something cheap! You really do get what you pay for and although i would not stay here again, we had a great time and the location is very good!! Also, we were up and out early as we did not really want to be in the room! So probably got to see more of NY than we would have otherwise!!! That's about the only good thing i can say!!

Room Tip: Good location but all rooms = horrible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gfhjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Copenhagen
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

called here to book for new year's eve with my friends but, i was told that the hotel has been closed since dec 2011. the manager told me that it has been shut down and they'll be renovating soon. stayed here few years back just to store our stuff and was given a suite room which was pretty decent (fridge, private bath), price was very affordable. i thought we could do the same this year since we just need a place to put our stuff after partying on new year's eve.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel was definitely an experience I will not forget. My group of 10 people stayed here for 2 nights. We choice this hotel mainly for the location as it was pretty central to most of the New York attractions.

The hotel, or should I say, homeless shelter, was extremely tiny, dirty, smelly and very out of our comfort zone. We found cockroaches of the bed and the cleanest place I could find to unpack my clothes was the fridge.
The hotel wasn't even well priced.
If I had my time over I would have chosen something south of manhattan. It's cheaper and a better area.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Djenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My sister and I booked here through a discount website. We knew the neighborhood and wanted a safe and quiet quarter. The hotel was some weird low income rental village where people in duct tape shoes meet European tourists. We booked for three nights but checked out after one. The desk clerk did not ask any questions, just laughed.That there was no heat or blankets was not even a factor. Unless you're scouting a site in which to shoot a horror film stay somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogini910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

After reading that short term renting is a thing of the past I find myself with conflicting feelings. I stayed there many years ago the summer after 9-11. The place was a dive but all I did was sleep and store my stuff. I did several loads of washing in the basement and talked with several residents about the building and living in NY. It was great. Being so close to Lincoln Center and Central Park and the Subway was great. But I guess it will never happen again. Real Mixed feelings.

Room Tip: Never again I guess. Again it was the Summer after 9-11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Location: The location is great. It's just a few minutes to the 72nd street subway, The Dakota where Lennon was shot, Central Park and Strawberry Fields. The neighborhood is very residential and in a no-honk zone which makes it quiet. This is about the only good thing about the hotel

Hotel: The hotel can't even really be called a hotel. It's a youth hostel without an age restriction. In each room you get a bed, a small TV a mirror and a sink. That's it! You have to leave a deposit at the front desk for sheets and they are not the cleanest in the world. The bathrooms are shared. Each bathroom has a toilet and a shower. Imagine how long it takes for you to wait to do your business in the morning! The lifts are ancient and slow. The front desk could really care less about you being there.

The only reason we booked this hotel was because we needed to get to New York on the cheap for my wife to audition for the show Project Runway. There was some other even going on at the time and hotel prices were 3X what they usually go for. For $100 a night, we weren't expecting much. I think that I would have felt ripped off at $20.

Stay away...stay FAR FAR away!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spankytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Riverside Tower Hotel
Riverside Tower Hotel
#376 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#299 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#427 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#209 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,277 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#108 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverside Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverside Studios

Property: Hotel Riverside Studios
Address: 342 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3550
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #435 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Riverside Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Riverside Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riverside Studios New York
Studios New York
Riverside Studios New York City
Hotel Riverside Studios Ny City
Riverside Studios Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing