We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's a funfhouse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riverside Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riverside Studios
Ranked #432 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Athens, Ga
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a funfhouse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My sister and I booked here through a discount website. We knew the neighborhood and wanted a safe and quiet quarter. The hotel was some weird low income rental village where people in duct tape shoes meet European tourists. We booked for three nights but checked out after one. The desk clerk did not ask any questions, just laughed.That there was no heat or blankets was not even a factor. Unless you're scouting a site in which to shoot a horror film stay somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogini910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    37
    72
    38
    140
See reviews for
42
83
46
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

After reading that short term renting is a thing of the past I find myself with conflicting feelings. I stayed there many years ago the summer after 9-11. The place was a dive but all I did was sleep and store my stuff. I did several loads of washing in the basement and talked with several residents about the building and living in NY. It was great. Being so close to Lincoln Center and Central Park and the Subway was great. But I guess it will never happen again. Real Mixed feelings.

Room Tip: Never again I guess. Again it was the Summer after 9-11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Location: The location is great. It's just a few minutes to the 72nd street subway, The Dakota where Lennon was shot, Central Park and Strawberry Fields. The neighborhood is very residential and in a no-honk zone which makes it quiet. This is about the only good thing about the hotel

Hotel: The hotel can't even really be called a hotel. It's a youth hostel without an age restriction. In each room you get a bed, a small TV a mirror and a sink. That's it! You have to leave a deposit at the front desk for sheets and they are not the cleanest in the world. The bathrooms are shared. Each bathroom has a toilet and a shower. Imagine how long it takes for you to wait to do your business in the morning! The lifts are ancient and slow. The front desk could really care less about you being there.

The only reason we booked this hotel was because we needed to get to New York on the cheap for my wife to audition for the show Project Runway. There was some other even going on at the time and hotel prices were 3X what they usually go for. For $100 a night, we weren't expecting much. I think that I would have felt ripped off at $20.

Stay away...stay FAR FAR away!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spankytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I had a chance to stay 1 night in Hotel Riverside Studios and I know it was my last visit at this hotel. The interior of the building is very old fashioned and I would recommend you to go through the dark corridors to your room only if you want to feel like in a horror movie. There are shared toilets as well as dirty bathrooms. Maybe it could be a good hotel for drunk people returning from the pub, who don't care about where they will sleep in next 5 hours. On the other side, the courtyard view rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: Try it, but be sure you don't want to spent a romantic weekend in New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Petr U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I guess this is not technically a review, but wanted to give everyone a heads up. The times my family and I have traveled to NYC (plenty of times) we have stayed at hotel Riverside Studios. It was not a fancy hotel AT ALL...but it suited our needs. The room was always decent (clean sheets, mini fridge, bathroom) although we did have to share a bathroom with other tenants. Fortunately, we did not experience anything extremely horrible that other visitors did. It was a good place to crash at night. Anyway, I was planning another trip out there and was trying to book a room at this place but saw that all of their dates were booked online. So, I decided to call and see if I could book a room. The person who answered the phone told me that they were no longer allowed to rent out their rooms since they got in trouble with the city of New York. I guess this ties in with the police officer story that someone shared on this page a while ago. I am sure many people will be happy that this place has closed its doors to the traveling public; I, on the other hand, am bummed out. It was the cheapest hotel (in a nice area), I could find in Manhattan, close to everything. Now I have to go find another hotel that is inexpensive, where I don't have to share a room with complete strangers (like in a hostel), Anywho, just wanted to make sure I tell people in case someone was thinking about booking a room at this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I wanted somewhere to stay in Manhattan that was cheap but close to everything. This place is perfect for that! It's not a Hilton...but the room felt as cozy as any other hotel. The building is old and seems to be mostly all original so it looks a lil run-down....but personally I like the old rustic look/feel. The room was CLEAN and the sheets smelled and felt fresh, the room had a bed, fridge, sink, table, bed and TV....bathrooms are shared with others on the floor (but you use it privately - meaning not a locker room bathroom). The location is awesome - 2 blocks from subway station, few blocks from central park, quiet and NICE neighborhood. If you're travelling to NYC to be out of your room for most of your stay then this place is great!!!! If you're looking for a romantic-stay in your hotel room alot type of get-away...then this is the wrong place to stay. NOTE: this building was built as a luxury hotel in the 30's and went through a phase where it was "single occupancy apartments" and still serves as apartments for some people who have lived there 20-30 years.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiling4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

we arrived in NY expecting alot, we got alot! the showers had hair i them, we had food under the bed, and the long dirty hallways felt like we were walking in a horror movie. we never saw any staff other than the grumpy receptionist.
... interesting, yes

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samgillett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Riverside Tower
Riverside Tower
#373 of 475 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#235 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,499 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#133 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#285 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#202 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#106 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverside Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverside Studios

Property: Hotel Riverside Studios
Address: 342 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3550
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Riverside Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riverside Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riverside Studios New York
Studios New York
Riverside Studios New York City
Hotel Riverside Studios Ny City
Riverside Studios Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing