We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was great for travelling cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riverside Studios
Ranked #445 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I wanted somewhere to stay in Manhattan that was cheap but close to everything. This place is perfect for that! It's not a Hilton...but the room felt as cozy as any other hotel. The building is old and seems to be mostly all original so it looks a lil run-down....but personally I like the old rustic look/feel. The room was CLEAN and the sheets smelled and felt fresh, the room had a bed, fridge, sink, table, bed and TV....bathrooms are shared with others on the floor (but you use it privately - meaning not a locker room bathroom). The location is awesome - 2 blocks from subway station, few blocks from central park, quiet and NICE neighborhood. If you're travelling to NYC to be out of your room for most of your stay then this place is great!!!! If you're looking for a romantic-stay in your hotel room alot type of get-away...then this is the wrong place to stay. NOTE: this building was built as a luxury hotel in the 30's and went through a phase where it was "single occupancy apartments" and still serves as apartments for some people who have lived there 20-30 years.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smiling4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riverside Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 294 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

we arrived in NY expecting alot, we got alot! the showers had hair i them, we had food under the bed, and the long dirty hallways felt like we were walking in a horror movie. we never saw any staff other than the grumpy receptionist.
... interesting, yes

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank samgillett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This cheap hotel I can recommend for it's location near the Central Park, the hotel is situated in very beautiful and silent street with nice buildings... Hotel room is simple, the restroom is on the floor, but no problem, very clean, and not so much people for one restroom...

Room Tip: In New York is better to prefer location then hotel rooms, suites...It is the city that never sleeps...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was looking for a cheap place to stay in the centre of NYC, that was convenient for seeing all the sites, going clubbing, and in a safe location. This hotel ticked all three boxes.

Although the place was moving with bugs, there were cigarette burns in the duvet cover, the walls were filthy, slander was scrawled over the "Do not disturb" door hanger, scorch marks on the walls, the radiator didn't work, and the fan in the window was held in with duct tape. But I liked it. We shared a bathroom with the whole floor and the window (that looked out on to an alley) didn't close. So everyone could see you. But still I liked it!

It was in a great location, five minutes walk from Times Square - the neighbourhood was really nice and there was a great little eatery just down the road. If ever I was to go back to NYC I would stay there again. There was a sink in the room and the bed was very comfortable.

... A little bit of dirtiness never hurt anyone.... Right?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dagadooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

It's certainly not worth the $128 I paid for it. Only thing I will give it is that I have worked at summer camps and lived in a tent for a summer which was better but the sheets were clean. The police officer story: we went to the vending machine for a snack and when we came back 3 officers asked if we lived there? We said no and they said well there has been complaints by residents who said its being used as a hotel. We said we were staying the night and they told us that it is not allowed to be used as a hotel and who did we get the room from. I said travelocity and they said well try and get your money back. SERIOUSLY if they are right and why would they be there if not, then believe me when I say, its NOT a hotel!

MY FIANCEE WAS SCARED THE WHOLE NIGHT - couldn't afford anywhere else at short notice...

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gmansa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I found this hotel after looking for a cheap place to stay in Manhattan.
It is rundown and has minimal services. The hallways and stairways are shabby and the elevator was more hassle than it was worth but our room was clean and roomy and our sheets were not dirty despite what other reviews report. The room had a fridge, air conditioner sink and TV, all relatively new and functional. The communal bathrooms are old but basically clean and functional, except for one of the toilets on our floor that was backed up for a day but the second one was still functioning and not at all busy. The laundry is in the dingy basement and requires lots of coins.
Having said all that we barely did anything but sleep in the room as it is Manhattan after all. It is a great neighbourhood with easy access to the subway and good local restuarants and food shopping (Trader Joes!). In a city with outrageously expensive hotels and much to do it stacks up as good value but don't expect any real standards as it is an old building with no efforts to renovate or update.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LincolnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

its the most disgusting place i have ever stayed ..We booked for 5 nights only stayed the one night . As i walked into the front door my face dropped , that holiday excitement disappeared.The entrance was dirty ,then turned right into reception it was worse .At this point i still had hope. When we walked into the room ,i cried . I was born and raised in Africa ,where I have seen some terrible living conditions .What I saw was shocking .The sink , chair ,carpet ,bed linen and walls were dirty ... Then when i went into the bathroom ...oh my gosh ! The thought of it makes me want to cry again. We checked into Hotel Mayfair the next day, it was beautiful.and to think there was just a £100 difference.
DON'T STAY THERE .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shorayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#346 of 468 in New York City
281 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#360 of 468 in New York City
202 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#230 of 468 in New York City
3,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Riverside Tower Hotel
Riverside Tower Hotel
#386 of 468 in New York City
660 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#76 of 468 in New York City
3,589 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 468 in New York City
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverside Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverside Studios

Address: 342 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3550
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $70 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Riverside Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riverside Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riverside Studios New York
Studios New York
Riverside Studios New York City
Hotel Riverside Studios Ny City
Riverside Studios Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing