We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #187 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The property is quite fresh ... I suspect a makeover in the not too distant past. I got upgraded. Sometimes a later arrival can be a wonderful thing. Great bathroom. Bed was firm and outfitted with great sheets and comforter. Front desk staff were particularly helpful. Further, all the staff were alert and friendly ... always a good thing.

I was a bit worried about noise at the location as it is in mid town, but I think I may have heard one siren all evening.

Here's where I complain about how much things in NYC cost. Someone get out the violins and play me a bit of sad music.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDog_from_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at City Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank your for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at City Club Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kindest regards,
Lauren Reynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    256
    76
    43
    29
See reviews for
138
227
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have stayed here several times and always been pleased. Location is great and rates are reasonable based on New York prices (which are generally unreasonable). Rooms are adequate for the price. Love the bathroom. Best shower. Staff is helpful and friendly. Hotel is very small with little by way of amenities. No lobby to speak of. Food and drinks at the hotel restaurant were very good. There are much better hotels in NYC but be prepared to drop some coin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravens32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at City Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for witing about your most recent stay at City Club Hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest regards,
Lauren Reynor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have stayed at this property a few times during my past stays in NYC. Great location, friendly staff and very well appointed rooms. Restaurant at the hotel is also very good. Excellent salads and hanger steak cooked to perfection. For the value and location, it's a great spot.
Especially like the turn down service with the warm "home made" cookie!
Would recommend as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian-Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at City Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at City Club Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Lauren Reynor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked the double queen with a daybed and got upgraded to the 2 level suite. Our kids were beside themselves, I had to keep explaining that this was not your typical NYC hotel room. It was the most amazing room, all of the extra details like chic chip cookies, really nice soaps, amazing bathrooms....really made it feel like a cool apartment. The location is amazing and perfect if you are trying to fit all of the usual NYC sights in. Quiet street, quiet room. I can't think of a single negative thing to improve upon. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in NYC again.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suite, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghurka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at City Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards,
Lauren Reynor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Burb
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights, one adult and two teenagers. Ended up in a king room with a bench style twin. It's not a sofa bed and doesn't pull out. The size of the room was okay, typical for New York. We didn't feel claustrophobic, but we did have to maneuver around each other. The bathroom was very spacious and felt indulgent. Both the king and the sofa were comfortable. The room was clean. The tv cable was out most of the time. Front desk said they were working on it, but nothing changed while we were there. You're not in New York to watch tv but it's nice to get the local news, etc. Got to the hotel early and they held our bags with no problem. However, disappointing that our room wasn't ready until 4:30, but they didn't have late check out available for us. Held our bags again without problem. Turn down service with chocolate chip cookies and a daily newspaper were appreciated. Staff were always polite. The hotel is located midtown, in the theatre district, walking distance from Rockefeller Plaza and Times Square.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KSH213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at City Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to write about your experience at City Club. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with your cable television. During your stay we were in the process of upgrading our cable system and found that in some rooms the connection was compromised. Although the technicians attempted to fix this in a timely manner, in this case it took longer than anticipated.
I'm glad you found your accommodations comfortable and would recommend a Luxe Double Double room in the future, should you decide to visit us again. This room type would offer you more space and more bedding.
I sincerely hope to welcome you and your family back to City Club in the future and look forward to making your next stay perfect!

Kindest regards,
Lauren Reynor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I stay at the city club this weekend. We stayed for 2 nights and split the cost, I did one night, he did the other. When we arrived the lady at the front desk put one night on my card and the second night on my boyfriends. There was also a 200$ security deposit, which was a surprise to me. Did not mention that when I called to make my reservation, so we split that too. The room was 383$ per night plus 100 for the security so 483 per night. When we arrived at our room we both checked our bank statement to make sure everything went the right way, and it did. I was charged $483 and he was also. The next morning we went down the street for breakfast, when we were done I gave the waitress my credit card and she came back saying it was declined. I started to panic because I knew I had money. I then checked on my bank statement and I had TWO charges for $483.00 at this point in time my account was withdrawn because I only brought a certain amount of money with me so I didn't spend to much. I then asked my boyfriend to check his bank statement and his 1 night which was $483 was BACK INTO HIS ACCOUNT. We then went right to the hotel and I explained the situation to the man at the front desk, which he wasn't very helpful at all. He had told us that it was a system fault because at the end of the night the system did not recognize that we were splitting the cost. Since I made the reservation my card number was the main one and the computer saw that my card was not charged enough for 2 nights and automatically charged me for the second night. The mam at the front desk still continued to not help me. Told me I had to call my bank. After being on hold for over 30 minutes with the bank I explained to her what had happened. She told me I needed them to fax overt information and what amount they needed to take off my card. After wasting about 2 hours with this, it was half way resolved. I am still waiting for my security deposit and the rest of my money to go back into my account. VERY UPSET AND VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. I do not recommend staying there because they just screw you over. To add to this the noise from outside was VERY VERY loud. Woke me up multiple times a night.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerinaxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We recently stayed here and it was a great experience. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. The room was lovely with an old world elegance combined with a modern vibe. We ordered coffee in the morning and the service was fabulous. It added some luxe to the start of our day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,995 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#223 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#325 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#203 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,952 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#163 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#55 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Property: City Club Hotel
Address: 55 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing