We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice off Times Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #210 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A good choice off Times Square”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

City Club Hotel is located on a wonderful block of 44th St.--its neighbors include the Sofitel, the Algonquin, the Iroquois, some university clubs, and other small boutique hotels. It is well located relative to Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. I stay at City Club frequently when I'm in Manhattan on business and need to be in midtown.
Overall, the hotel is, as other guests have noted, clean, friendly, and pretty well run. The rooms are fairly large for Manhattan. I stopped staying at CC when the on-premises restaurant, db Bistro Moderne, was about to undergo renovation and started slipping badly (this is important to me because I often need to entertain clients and it is most convenient to do so at the hotel restaurant). I tried CC again on a recent trip and also ate at the remodeled restaurant (posting that review shortly). Overall, the experience was pretty good, although I noticed on this trip that the hotel, which seemed chic and well-appointed a few years ago, is now showing some wear and tear. Also, I was reminded that the front desk resembles a teller's window in a bank, which means that you may have to wait when checking in or seeking help. For example, on this trip I stood in line for some time behind another guest who was getting information, even though there were three front desk staff standing behind the counter.
For the reasons above, I always look for alternatives but keep coming back to City Club because the value is very good at the price point, and the location is unbeatable.
If you decide to stay there, check out the pre-theatre menus at the Algonquin, which does a nice dinner for the price and has a wonderful history and atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    296
    86
    46
    36
See reviews for
186
254
80
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Concierge went above and beyond. Stored our luggage without hassle before check in and after check out. Friendly, helpful staff with the info you need to get around and see the sights. Clean, modern, updated rooms. Great location close to Times Square but minus the noise and confusion. Liked the complimentary newspaper and the delicious cookies delivered with turn down service. Linens never ran low and enjoyed the robes. We stayed in a Queen luxe. Lovely chocolate granite bathroom and waterfall shower. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed on a Friday night and received a free upgrade. Staff was very pleasant and it was quiet. The bed was clean and bathroom was a nice size for NYC. Liked the complimentary NY Times and overall a terrific experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our recent stay at City Club Hotel. For the dates we were looking for this hotel was at the cheaper end of the scale (for NYC) for a central location and we were very impressed.
Room; We booked a petite room but received a complimentary upgrade on arrival to a Queen Luxe, this room was still on the small side but very comfortable with all the essentials we expected (i.e. basic toiletries, TV, iron, hairdryer, iPod docking station) and a gorgeous bathroom with a huge shower! Location; Perfect - very close to Times Square but did not suffer from noise.
Staff: were helpful and gave us a complimentary extended check-out time.
Amenities; Hotel offers very little in the way of amenities, but you're in NYC so doesn't really matter in my opinion! Excellent diner (Red Flame) a few doors down street, highly recommend esp for breakfast. Also recommend Un Deux Trois Cafe for dinner. Slightly disappointed that City Clubs website states complimentary membership to New York Sports Club however, we were informed it would cost $20 as we'd booked through lastminute.
I would definitely stay again....if only for the delicious cookies which were delivered to us each evening!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

It's really hard to find a large enough space, with two bathrooms at a decent hotel in NYC. This is " the" place-and it is incredibly priced ( please anyone who thinks their suite price is high please compare to two bed/two bath room at any 4 star hotel in NYC ). They have several bi level suites, which offer privacy and two bathrooms ( only upstairs one is full bath). My daughter thinks the winding staircase ( not good for toddlers) leading up is amazing and the very hip decor is perfect for a NYC visit. They even supply you with a fully loaded iPod and Dock to listen to music. Great service, one of NYC best bistro is on main level adjacent to hotel, tons of space ( one of the largest suites I've had in NYC ) and it's right off Time Square. A gem, almost hated to disclose the secret of the suite in fear of it being sold out next time we go.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chefintraining4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for four nights to celebrate my birthday. We booked a king size bed and received a room with that, plus a day bed. We really did not use the day bed for anything more than piling our stuff on it, so it wasnt a useful feature for us. If you enjoy a lobby as a place to hang out, this hotel has no lobby. We were a bit worried when we checked in, as you walk in to a tiny vestibule area with a tiny "front desk". The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, providing recommendations and directions. Our room was on the eighth floor, facing 44th street. As with everything in New York, right across the street are other building with full views of whatever is going on inside. Our room had rudimentary shutters, not drapes, to block out light, provide privacy and probably to protect against the cold in winter. The windows are old single pane glass, and even though the days were warmer for October, we could feel the chill due to the old windows. The room was a bit tired re decor, and wallpaper needs replacing, but arent they all? There are no bureaus, just bedside tabes with drawers, which is where we stored extra clothes. Flat screen TV mounted on the wall. Lots of lights, and the bathroom, though small had a huge shower, with awesome water pressure. The bed. Sigh. Why hotels do not realize that beds are THE priority is beyond me. Ours was an older mattress with a down pillow topper. No elastic bands to keep it in place, so it slid way down during the night. My husband spent the whole weekend hauling it back in place in the middle of the night. So, sleep was just OK due to quality of bed. Even though we were directly across from the elevator, the hotel only has 44 rooms, so the elevator noise wasnt constant. The main reason I would recommend this hotel is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Just 5 minutes from Times Square, 5th Avenue and all that Manhattan has to offer. A twenty minute walk to Central Park. There is a diner down the block called The Red Flame, a strange name for a basic diner, but the food is amazing! Big servings, quality ingredients and friendly staff. We ate breakfast there every day, but it is super busy so be prepared to wait. So, I would recommend this hotel simply due to location. While there were lots of other hotels on the block, I am sure they were more expensive, with bigger lobbies, etc., but for the amount of time you spend in your room, save some money and stay here. Oh, and the chocolate chip cookies provided each night for turn down service are wonderful and a lovely touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yankeewench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I joined family in NYC on a busy weekend; hotel prices were higher than usual and I opted for something on the lower end of the price scale. City Club proved a good value. Nothing pretentious about it; the lobby is so small it barely exists, two pleasant people staff the miniature front desk. I chose a Petite room, which lives up to its name - very small, but still comfortable. The hotel restaurant had been closed, and was just reopening, so only a continental breakfast was available. Moreover, coffee was only available as part of the continental breakfast, and since coffee was all I wanted, I had to leave the hotel to truly awaken in the morning. I trust that has been remedied by now. I had some trouble with TMobile coverage in the room, but that is certainly not the hotel's fault. All in all I was quite satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#227 of 467 in New York City
1,322 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
3,490 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#175 of 467 in New York City
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
6,263 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,153 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#107 of 467 in New York City
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Property: City Club Hotel
Address: 55 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-6609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing