We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Club Hotel is Wonderful!”
Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #305 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights at The City Club Hotel in New York City in mid- March, 2013.The lobby is tiny and graced by a huge piece of art. Of course most of us don't need a huge lobby, and the really outstanding thing in he lobby is the personnel behind the desk, as well as the doorman/bellman and any other staff we encountered. They make all of the amenities just that much more special. They were very friendly, helpful, and efficient and a credit to their organization. Just behind the lobby and to the left is an attached restaurant. Marvelous French inspired food, and again, wonderful service and friendly faces. The decor is stunning and yet quietly so. If we had somehow had to eat every meal there we would not have been shortchanged! Everything-breakfast, appetizers, wine, entrees, desserts, service-fantastic! Upon getting familiar with our room it became evident that the decor and art in the lobby, some of the hallways, the restaurant, and the rooms was subtle in its coordination. Had it not been it would have been fine, but what it said to me is that the City Club Hotel PAYS ATTENTION TO DETAIL. And that is very comforting and helpful when you are away from home. The location is also tops. We were about 1 1/2 blocks from Times Square one way, and about the same distance in the opposite direction from 5th Avenue. And the theaters were all around us! We even saw Tom Hanks leaving "Lucky Guy" on our way back from "Phantom"! The subway stations were all around us, and one can walk to Saks, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's, Grand Central Station, etc. I have stayed at Ritz Carlton's, The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island (in the room/suite named after and furnished by President and Mrs. Ford), Pinehurst (NC), The Grove Park Inn,(NC) etc. and many hotels internationally. While not historic nor as large, or as well known, the essence and the experience is much the same. We HIGHLY recommend the City Club Hotel! And on any return visits to NYC, we will absolutely NOT look anywhere else, and look forward to staying there again. The room was also quiet as was the whole hotel, and very comfortable.l.Oh,I almost forgot the delicious chocolate chip cookies in the room each night! Overall just a great experience!
Thanks to all,
Betsy and Ray Williams,
Lenoir, NC

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 848 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything about this hotel stay was perfect. The staff were amazingly polite and tried to help out as best they could even though I was having a bad day. They were really great. The room was spotless and well decorated. Everything about the stay worked out great

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duff1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean - close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, etc. - helpful staff - reasonably priced - fit our family of 5 well - warm chocolate chip cookies were a hit with our family - nice cushy robes and towels - the shower was spacious and had nice water pressure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I chose the City Club for a recent weekend stay with three adults and two children. I booked the family suite which consisted of two queen rooms with a connecting hallway that could be locked out so the interior room doors could remain open. We had plenty of space. Along with the queen beds, each room had a window seat that an adult could easily and comfortably sleep on. The room size was average for New York (enough room for a bed, desk/chair, window seat)but I felt the bathrooms were a bit on the larger size. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a small problem with the our room rate showing higher than my confirmation but it was quickly fixed. The hotel is about 1 1/2 blocks away from times square. There is a fantastic diner a few doors down. Breakfast was crowded on a Sunday morning, so get there early. This hotel provides large, soft bath towels and CO Bigelow toiletries. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay as did the rest of the family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had to make a last-minute decision to travel into New York the night before a business meeting due to a forecast of inclement weather. I found City Club online, on the same block as my meeting. I had walked by it a number of times - it's out-of-the way, tucked in between the Algonquin and the Iroquois hotels. You have to look carefully for the entrance. When I arrived the staff was friendly and efficient and I was in my room in 5 minutes.

And speaking of rooms ... I was genuinely impressed. Some describe the rooms as small, but I've stayed in smaller rooms in New York. I had a nice, comfortable king size bed (upgrade from what I had booked), large flat screen TV (although the cable channels are a bit limited), and a large bathroom with premium-quality toiletries and bathrobes. A plate of cookies was waiting for me. And best of all...complimentary wi-fi. The room was quieter than most I've had in New York. No noisy guests, no garbage trucks outside in the early morning hours - genuinely a nice experience. I would highly recommend City Club for both personal and business travel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights; first time in NYC, a treat from my husband for my 40th birthday. Great little hotel in a fabulous central location. We upgraded to a king size deluxe room which was lovely. Reception staff always friendly & very helpful. Daily fresh chocolate chip cookies were a lovely touch. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELAINE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of the best kept secrets in NYC. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom is big and that is something for NY. My husband, myself and our 19 year old shared a room to safe cost and although the room was not overly large it had a very big bed and a very long sofa (window) bed and we were able to move around the room with ease. The bathroom is beautifully decorated with high quality toiletries. Instead of mints you get cookies on your bed each night. The front desk (which is tiny), staff were probably the highlight, if it could get better. They couldn't do enough for us. They cheerfully greeted us every time we came in or out and were so helpful. The location is second to none and my daughter and I felt safe walking home at 3am after a long night shopping at Forever 21. Times square is literally around the corner, but you're close to just about everything. I'd go back in a second. Loved it

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#201 of 469 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#269 of 469 in New York City
2,259 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#45 of 469 in New York City
3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#198 of 469 in New York City
1,992 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#119 of 469 in New York City
2,164 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#178 of 469 in New York City
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Address: 55 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-6609
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#193 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $201 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing