We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient and classy place to stay in NYC”
Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #256 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A convenient and classy place to stay in NYC”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, convenient to theaters, restaurants, bars, and coffee shops. The rooms are spacious with lovely amenities, fluffy beds, and, in our room, a couch along one wall. They have a table and chair and plenty of room for writing or reading. The staff is polite, helpful, and knowledgeable. My daughter and I spent one night at City Club, and were upgraded to an accessible room since she has issues with mobility. We loved the walk-in glass shower and the large bathroom.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    300
    87
    47
    40
See reviews for
196
257
81
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was looking for a flight and came across travelation.com. And luckily I checked their hotel deals and got the best one for city club in new-york. Actual price was $439 and I got it only for $373. Very good discount from travelation. And the hotel was great. Their service was very good. Room were very spacious and clean . Such a great room for such a low price was incredible. Thanks to travelation and city club hotel for such great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripstar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here one night for business and liked the hotel a lot. I was upgraded from a "petite" 1-bed room to a larger room for no charge which was nice. The modern room was beautiful and the bathroom was very distinctive with an all-glass shower although I wish there had been a spot to set my toiletries other than the top of the toilet. Beds were very comfortable with European style duvets.

Their website makes it very easy to check rates on different dates and they vary a lot. My room was $144 on a Wednesday night. I see the same room ranging from $126 to $245 over the next couple of weeks.

I would definitely stay here again but I did have one complaint. As an older building, it has old windows that actually open on to the street and I heard every honking horn and truck engine starting at 4AM when traffic picked up. The windows do not seal well and let in about as much noise as if they were open. Light sleepers should beware.

But if you like boutique hotels I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baseball_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the City Club. We arrived early, several hours before check-in. The woman at the front desk could not have been nicer or more professional. She offered to store our luggage until our room was ready, and she also gave us the option of an upgrade to a larger room for a small rate increase, as we were only staying overnight, and that room was available immediately. We took the upgrade and checked right in. Loved everything about the place. The location is perfect. We drove in from CT and parked in the garage across the street, but had we chosen to take the train it would have been a plesant walk fron Grand Central. The queen luxe room had a HUGE bathroom, comfy bed, and plenty of space for two. We especially appreciated the turn down service with the chocolate chip cookies! The only aspect of the place that may be a turn-off to some (it wasn't for us) is that from our room there was not much of a view out of either window and very little natural light. Other than that, we couldn't ask for a better place for the price, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again!! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollybct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The City Club is a boutique hotel. I prefer smaller hotels, I find the service more personal and the service here is excellent. Every front of house staff member were genuine and friendly, but then so was the lady who turned down the beds and left warm chocolate cookies for us. Little things like this make a huge difference. The rooms; well, I booked the cheapest room but as soon as I walked in I realised this room is better for one guest, not two, so I upgraded to a Queen room. The extra charge was expected but they reduced it as I was staying a week. The Queen room we had was perfect, with a huge balcony as a bonus. The bed was very very comfortable. I judge hotels on the beds and the linen used. The sheets here were crisp, clean and of a very high quality, so no need to be concerned if this is a make or break criteria for you. The bathrooms were deluxe, designed in a very masculine style with ample room in both the bathrooms, so Id imagine they are all similar. Gregorys coffee is directly across the road, so you will never be to far away from possibly the best coffee in New York City.
The City Club location in Times Square is perfect for those who want to be close to the action. Everything is a few short blocks away. Rockefeller Centre is about 4 blocks away, times square approx 2-3 blocks. It's a well known hotel, all the cab drivers knew it - nothing else to say really. We spent a week in this hotel during the xmas period and it only cost us $1500 which I think is a bargain considering what the hotel offers in terms of location and amenities. I didn't eat at the restaurant downstairs, which I regret, but it was busy a lot, which I take to be a good sign.
Enjoy the city club, I did. Will I go back? Not sure as I am price driven, so if they offered a great deal then yes.

Room Tip: The front rooms may have a balcony but a noisier. No city views as hotel is only 9 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Williams24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Sooo comfortable. Beautiful facility. Centre of town. Minutes from Times Square. Elegant bath and comfortable clean room. The cookies were a special treat. They held on to our luggage since we arrived early and they delivered the luggage to our room once we checked in. Everyone is friendly. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiorella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've stayed here twice and would happily stay again. The hotel is in a great location and is very stylish and calm. The reception area is small but staff are extremely helpful. The cookies at bedtime are fab although it varied from night to night how many we got - some nights we got one each and others we had to share.

Pros - really comfy bed, spotless housekeeping, lovely bathrooms, lovely toiletries, charming staff, great decor, reasonably priced, great location, next to Red Flame diner so breakfast incredibly easy, free Wifi and newspaper.

Cons - restaurant is too formal and not as stylish as the hotel, even though the lobby is small it would have been nice to have had a little bit of Christmas decor.

As a family of four we found the rooms great - the first time we ended up in a two large beds room but the second time we only got one proper bed and the day bed which only sleeps one. The staff were great in sorting out a camp bed but I would suggest that you check the exact sleeping arrangements of your room beforehand so that you are not disappointed.

We travel a lot to NY and the last 2 times we have needed a hotel we have chosen this one - everyone in the family was very keen to return!

Room Tip: We've had front facing rooms both times and loved these - there's a little bit of street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bureaudechange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#203 of 466 in New York City
1,406 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#191 of 466 in New York City
1,950 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#250 of 466 in New York City
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,615 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#123 of 466 in New York City
2,090 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#77 of 466 in New York City
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Property: City Club Hotel
Address: 55 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-6609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#172 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing