We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Just What I needed”
Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #300 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Needed a last minute hotel in midtown for a business trip. The City Club was a terrific experience.

Helpful Staff, Free in room wi-fi, good sized clean room with plenty of light.

...and the cookie before bed was a welcoming touch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_M_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
There are newer reviews for City Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 844 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I decided to use my new Tripadvisor app fort a b'day weekend in NYC. Pulled off West Side Highwy at 96th street and began search. My thinking was that I would book something with last minute prices but now nothing was coming up in the Upper West Side which is where we wanted to be. Found nice price at City Club totally unknown to me and I've been in NYC and envirions since 1996. A call to the hotel I learned that the quoted price on my iPhone would only work if I could book it over the iPhone but it would not work. More frustration and my wife and I now getting hungry. I asked if I could book it on the phone with him and after a wait, he agreed but that the room advertised was a 'petite suit' and when I asked could two people use it he was reluctant to agree. Then he said if I booked it now with him he would take that rate and give us an upgrade. Now that's a real 'pig-in-a-poke' situation but I decided to trust him and booked the room for two nights to celebrate my b'day weekend. The hotel was in the East Theater District. The drive was a nightmare but we got there with almost all our wits but hungry and angry at all the traffic snarls and totally exhausted. Now we had to hope and pray the room was at least a haven. Phillip was at front desk and very pleasant so we did the biz and madame went up to the room while I took the car across the street for fifty-percent off parking rate.
Then I made my way up to the room and knew I was going to be greeted either by a crazy crying woman or a happy woman. Fifty-fifty. The room was MAGNIFICENT...Stunning Japanese motif, black marble bathroom from the movies, great water pressure. No view but who cared. All the amenities including cookies by the deco nightstand and an incredible mini-bar hidden behind a huge Japanese painting. Needless to say Phillip got a nice tip and we were home for two glorious and very quiet days after much celebrating. Never forget this place and plan to go again next time New York City calls. This place is literally hidden. There is a small door on north side of 44th street between The Algonquin and the Iroquois hotels. Used to be a private Club in the 20's I think. Go, enjoy, ask for Phillip then step into Manhattan the way it was meant to be for night-life. Jimmy's bar towards Broadway is not to be missed. Thank you Tripadvisor app. Thank you Phillip. Thank you City Club.

Room Tip: Rooms off street might be quieter but I don't know as our room was warm and dark and quiet. I th...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purkasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was a small, modern boutique in a good location in NYC. Our room was on the smaller side, but that's expected in NYC. It was decently priced. The bathroom was larger, and full of mirrors. The bed was comfortable and there was a balcony, a good-sized balcony. There wasn't much of a view, but it was spacious. The lobby was small, but interesting. The staff was friendly, but at one point we felt that there wasn't enough people to help out at the front desk. The restaurant in the hotel was hip. We had dessert and a drink there. If you want a comfortable room at a good rate, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend.small clean hotel.We had horrendous problems with the toilet breaking.A maintenance man came to plunge it.We were assured the problem was resolved,but it wasn't,t.We had to use the lobby toilet which was down the hall.On the last night,we were moved to another room.Too little too late.
We will certainly never stay there again.
Otherwise the room was nice,but small.View of a brick wall,but I guess that is the norm for New York.

Room Tip: Ask whether the toilet works! test it (flush) before you accept it
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAOSuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently had a great stay @ CC and just wanted to say a BIG thank you to ALL the staff who made our visit to NYC a great success.

John & I work in luxury hospitality & the service industry and we are both privileged to travel the globe a lot, (some for work but mostly for play) and every so often we have the pleasure of coming across a property that just does everything 'the right way'.

At CC the staff were always friendly & smiling, the guest areas were always clean & smelled great, our room was comfortable with thoughtful amenities & well placed gestures that made us feel very happy & content to spend our time with you. The end of our city break came too quickly and we were quite sad to leave but more importantly, we are excited and look forward to returning to CC.

Thank you and best regards

John & Shannon Gaunt

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Didn´t like the room because we haven´t got a view to the street , just to a brickwall. You couldn´t say if it was day or night. The room was ok. Like the bed and bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Location, location, location plus the room & bathroom were spacious and very-very comfortable, great mini-bar options and the zagat guide in the room was a great help too...and the turn-down service comes with an addictive surprise!

At CC the staff were always friendly & smiling, the guest areas were always clean & smelled great, our room was comfortable with thoughtful amenities & well placed gestures that made us feel very happy & content to spend our time in-house. The end of our city break came too quickly and we were quite sad to leave but more importantly, we are excited and look forward to returning to CC.

On the (-) : There is not a huge amount of closet space and there was no invitation from the duty manager or reception staff to visit the bar/restaurant for a drink/coffee.

Room Tip: Request a city view and I have heard that the petite rooms are very small but comfy enough for a 1-n...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#205 of 468 in New York City
1,488 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,675 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#195 of 468 in New York City
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#268 of 468 in New York City
2,228 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#122 of 468 in New York City
2,141 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#273 of 468 in New York City
4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Address: 55 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-6609
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $222 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing