We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money-”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #35 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not worth the money-”
Reviewed December 2, 2005

My wife and two children stayed in a suite at the Ritz Carlton and I was not all that impressed. Rooms were nice, clean and well appointed. But dresser had broken drawer, hard to monitor temperature of rooms.
Bathrooms were wonderful, clean and marble throughout. But rooms were small.
Lobby was small and the bar area was nothing special.
Didn't really care for the pro athletes wearing muscle shirts and adorned with bling using profanity. That was a huge turn off. If you are going to charge top shelf price- enforce the dress code!! I complained to the front desk about the language and the staff was apologetic but really not willing to do anything.
Overall nice but I would not rush back there, lots of great hotels in NYC for less money and equal accomadations.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank achnyer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    219
    88
    35
    18
See reviews for
358
538
58
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2005

My husband and I stayed here on for our tenth anniversary. I must say that Marek, (not sure how to spell it) the hotel's driver was FABULOUS. He not only drove us to two venues, but also recommended some great places for cocktails before our anniversary dinner. Take advantage of the hotel's car if you can get it... very nice! The concierge was great getting reservations at the restaurant of our choice... La Bernardin. Champagne was sent to our room, along with fabulous chocolate-covered strawberries. The bar of the hotel was great, with a great mojito (at closing... sorry, bartender!) All around, a GREAT experience. Be prepared to pay dearly for everything... breakfast, coffee, the room, but for a special experience... it's worth it!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank graphicgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 9, 2005

We came to this hotel for our wedding night - the staff pulled out all the stops for us and were amazed at the high standards of service and attention to detail.

The hotel is very expensive but worth it. We stayed in room 2214 on the 22nd floor and were lucky enough to have the most spectacular view out over Central Park - it was breathtaking.

If you can, take afternoon tea in the Star Lounge - the service was great, and the surroundings are beautiful.

The hotel sent champagne and strawberries to our room and even made us the most fantastic wedding cake which was a complete surprise - we couldn't have asked for more.

The great thing about this hotel, is that the staff here made a huge fuss over us knowing that it was such a special occasion, and paid attention to every detail. We lost count of how many of the hotel management came to congratulate us - it was fantastic and we felt like royalty.

If you can, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2005

It was a busy weekend in NYC and all the hip hotels in Lower Manhattan were booked. Luckily, I was able to secure a Deluxe King room (had to settle for the 3rd floor). The rooms are incredibly spacious by New York standards and the bathrooms are over the top! Frederick Fekkai products, great finishes. The bed and linens are fabulous!

The Lobby is tiny, but the location cannot be beat!

Highly recommend staying if you want Central Park location.

Classic Ritz Carlton service!
Superb!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank reamyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, FL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2005

We stayed for a week and had club level access. This place is just about the best place i have ever stayed. The service, the room, the food, the friendliness...absolutely fantastic. The location couldn't be better. I will never stay anywhere else when we go to New York.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JuleJule1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2005

My wife and I stayed for three nights in July 2005 to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. I booked through Amex platinum travel and had a great rate of $685 for a Park View King room which included breakfast. Upon checking in, we were wished a happy anniversary and the high room that I had requested was given to us. We were also given late checkout until 1600 and were invited to use the Club Lounge for the duration of our stay. We were escorted to our room on the 18th floor and the usual explanations given. The main area of the room had a king bed, which during the day had a geat selection of daytime pillows, an easy chair, table, desk and chair, TV, DVD, Satellite/Cable and a great selection of storage space. The room also had an entrance foyer with table and lamp and a closet. The bathroom had a separate WC with door, bath, one wash basin and separate shower cubicle. A super selection of designer toiletries was constantly replenished. The best part about the room was the two picture windows with fantastic views over Central Park.

We made use of the Club Lounge on every day of our stay. The welcome was always personal, warm and genuine. The service at all times of day was professional and efficient. The ambience was casual in spite of the quite formal surroundings. The food and beverage selections were imaginitively presented and the quality never faltered.

The atmosphere in the Lobby bar was that of a private club. It's position allows guests to view the comings and goings of the hotels famous and not so famous guests. We did not eat at the hotels restaurants but the menu looked very good at prices you would expect to pay at a hotel like this in the city.

My wife had a spa treatment in the La Prairie Spa and was very impressed.

The location of the hotel is second to none with the greenery of Central Park and its activites just across the street. Times Square is in easy walking distance.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would not hesitate in returning again. The service and attention from staff is first rate and personal. A bottle of champagne and a tray of chocolate dipped strawberries was even sent to our room to help us to celebrate our wedding anniversary, as if this extra touch was needed!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
57 Thank Projex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

Overall:
Very nice hotel as expected. Fairly clean, although there were some flies in the club lounge. There were several minor issues that most people would probably overlook. I would not go back because I felt the Pierre was a much better hotel overall.

Room:
Deluxe King was well decorated and had good amenities. There was only one regular chair, which made In-Room Dining a bit difficult. Typical, large Ritz bathroom which is about half the size of the actual guestroom. My wife and I did not find the bed and pillows to be comfortable.

Club Lounge:
Very inviting atmosphere but not much variety in food. Food quality was not too great either.

In-Room Dining:
Food came very quickly. The one time it was delayed, I received a call telling me it would be another 5 minutes. However, it took over an hour and 2 phone calls to have them remove the table from the room (on 2 occasions). Food quality was average.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
55 Thank ijeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 466 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 466 in New York City
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 466 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 466 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing