We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #35 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome !!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just spent 2 nights and 3 days here 12.20 - 12.22. The staff are all truly spectacular. The property is perfectly located across from Central Park. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the park on the 16th floor. Club Lounge Access is well worth the additional charge. We used the lounge throughout the day for a break from walking and the hustle and bustle of the city. Truly 5 star from start to finish. You definitely get what you pay for here!!

Room Tip: High Floor facing Central Park !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    219
    88
    35
    18
See reviews for
358
538
58
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

While in NYC this past weekend my travel companions (4 of us) stopped into the Ritz for a drink to warm up after frolicking in the Central Park snow. To our dissatisfaction we waiting 10 minutes at the bar without even being looked at. Once we finally order our drinks (3 hot chocolates' with Baileys & 1 Irish Coffee) we were told it would just be a few minutes. We asked for a few waters in the meantime & that never came. 45 minutes later & 3 different managers assuring us our drinks would take just a few moments longer and having to ask 5 times for a glass of water we received cold hot chocolate, half a glass of water and barely an apology. I am never one to complain as I was in the service industry my entire teen/early twenties life & get crass customers, but this was not the case. Trying to be friendly as it was Christmas time we asked for the bill so we could get on our merry way. We got the bill and as I am a Platinum Marriott rewards member I picked up the tab with my Marriott credit card. $80 for cold hot chocolate & a mediocre Irish coffee. Nothing was comped and there was not even an apology. We did not stay here, nor would I ever, but I can honestly say I was less than impressed with the hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Devon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Woodstock, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Delightful rooms, excellent service and much pampering. The location was perfect for a weekend in Manhattan. The staff was excellent and took great care of two women alone in the city. I highly suggest a few nights here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toodles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The suite has a touch of class while still being modern. The room looks over Central Park which is an amazing view any time of year, from the plush greens in the summer to the changing colors of the trees in the fall you can not go wrong, There is even a room for staff/security with a small kitchen area, but kept private from the rest of the room.
The lobby has remained with the traditional look but with upgraded furniture, Staff was very friendly. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel with a cozy fireplace to keep you warm in the winter but there are plenty of bars and restaurants around if that did meet your needs.
The other rooms were a good size, when last seen, they needed some upgrading on furniture, i am sure has been completed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMF521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Of course the hotel is exquisite and the location is amazing. But what surprised me was how lovely, helpful, and kind every single employee (whom I encountered) was....literally everyone...the doorman, the front desk, housekeeping, etc. I know they are 'supposed' to be nice...but this is New York...not to mention the snootiest area of the New York...so I guess I expected a little more aloofness or something. I am always when my negative stereotypes are proven wrong :-) And you should have seen the amazing chocolate extravaganza they sent to our room to wish us a happy anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGypsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place is gorgeous and has top-notch service. The concierge emailed us a few days before our visit to see if there was anything we needed (we didn't, but it was a nice touch). The room was stunning, overlooking central park. Even though Central Park South is a busy road, there was little street noise. The hotel is convenient to all of mid-town, including the theater district, 5th and Madison avenues, and, of course, the park.

My only gripe: I do wish they put coffee service in the room -- I had to go to the lobby to get it in the mornings. I suppose I could have asked for one, but I didn't think of it at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nice stay at a lovely hotel. Room was spotless and in excellent condition. City/partial park room offered a nice view of the park. Wonderful location as well. Housekeeping was very thorough and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 466 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 466 in New York City
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 466 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 466 in New York City
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing