We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views over Central Park and flawless service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #32 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic views over Central Park and flawless service”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

True luxury hotel with stunning views over Central Park! Do take the Park view luxury room - the views are worth every dollar you pay. The rooms are clean and big (in Manhattan terms), bathroom had a bath and a shower, beds are fantastic - very comfy! We were welcomed by a bowl of strawberries in chocolate sent by the Guest Relations manager, with whom we were in contact prior the trip.
We also tried the spa, which was fantastic - do try it!
The service around the hotel is flawless - very prompt, accurate and proactive.
We definately recommend this hotel to all travelling to Manhattan.

Room Tip: Park view rooms on a higher floor are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    213
    82
    34
    16
See reviews for
343
505
56
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Norman, who you will find at the Bar at the Ritz Carlton Hotel, on Central Park South. You sit at the bar, and everyone comes there for Norman, all the patrons are there for him. I feel badly when you walk in and you ask is Norman working tonight, they say no, and your face can't help but show the disappointment. He is a delight and pours a serious adult beverage! His other great attribute is his advise. I was buying an apartment on the upper east side and my interview was the next day with the co-op board, and I was nervous. He told me "when they ask you what your plans are for the apartment, tell them you love it just the way it is!" Which I did and redid the kitchen when I moved in. Priceless. I have followed Norman up and down 59th Street (he has been at 4 different locations) for the last 25 years. I am always getting a plate of something special, strawberries when I have a glass of champagne, cheese with my Malbec, killer chips with my vodka, always a gift. We all love Norman!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband took me for a Champaign Brunch at the Ritz, and we stayed there for the weekend. It was phenomenal!!!! The rooms are well groomed, the beds are extremely comfy, the service was fantastic, and the granite and gold trimmed bathrooms are very clean. Weather you are a shopping guru or just enjoy life while walking through the streets of the city,... you'll love your surroundings. You may even bump into someone famous at the hotel during 'High Tea' like we did! (there are tons of famous faces around these parts) One word describes my experience...Amazing!!! Sightseeing throughout the city takes a bit of walking, but don't bother bringing your comfy flats,...unless their designer made. Remember, this IS the fashion district of the world!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misstallahasseeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Ritz Carlton celebrating my daughter's 16th birthday! We had a suite that had a partial view of Central Park. Everything from service, atmosphere, location, room service etc.. was perfect! This hotel is absolutely worth the splurge!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juju1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. We were in a suite with a partial view of Central Park and it was perfection. The rooms were completely insulated from any street or other noises-which was wonderful! The service, the atmosphere, the location and the suite all were sublime. This hotel is worth the splurge!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juju2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the place to go in New York. Nice size and feel. Great food in the bar downstairs. Nice experience for a honeymoon. Go here for service. Great location next to the park. Close to everything. Great for couples. Great staff...went the extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed every bit of the Rtiz... I used MR points on this stay but paid a token fee for an upgrade, which gave me Club access, a spacious high-floor suite with a partial view of Central Park. The best thing was that RC also allowed me to do a late (6PM) check-out since my flight was at 10PM, and that made the last day very productive for last minute meetings and shopping. Staff courtesy was outstanding and they make everyone feel like family here.

The property location is spectacular with minutes away from 5th, Madison etc.. Very pleasant ambience throughout the hotel and peaceful nights. Excellent room-service, fitness gym... what more can I say...?

If you are a revenue guest, be prepared to pay $1000/night, but it's great value for NY visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for any requests, and you may be pleasantly surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gul1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing