We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #36 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is the second stay at the Central Park south location. Have stayed downtown at Battery Park. The hotel and its facilities are first rate and accessible to mid-town. Stayed on in a park room on the 20th floor with club access. The shower was fantastic - high pressure, consistent temperature, roomy with Asprey shampoos- one of the best I have experienced! The club was very busy with many celebs . I heard this distinctive voice behind me during breakfast and it was the Ewing brothers (Bobby-Patrick Duffy and JR - Larry Hagman). Ran into Charlie Sheen and his bodyguard in the elevator. Staff from his show were everywhere. Club staff were very accommodating and helpful with broadway tickets, restaurant reservations, and access to 9/11 memorial.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the tree line in Central Park - at least 10th floor for better views and to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank majortom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Top shelf location with incredible view from suite overlooking Central Park. Check in/check out were a breeze, the hotel staff were accomodating. Price was incredibly steep (not an exceptual value)

Only negative mark was the bartender in the bar at the hotel, older gentleman seemed like he has been there forever as was full of himself and aggitated.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have stayed at several Ritz-Carlton's including, but not limited to those in Grand Cayman, Jamaica, New Orleans and St. Thomas. This one is not as nice as the one in Grand Cayman or New Orleans or St. Thomas. The facilities in those locations are nicer and the staff, believe it or not, are better there, particularly in Grand Cayman which is truly beyond belief. This is not to say the staff at Central Park Ritz are not nice and helpful. They are, but I rank the Central Park Ritz about an 7.5 on a 10 scale. Examples of so-so service include the 4 calls it took just to reach someone at the front desk not at a busy time. It seems they just didn't want to answer their phone. And, in the club, it was clear that those who were regulars at this location rated better service as I was wholly ignored for long stretches while they conversed with them. The room was a king central park view which was nice, but small and nothing special in comparison to what you would see at other destinations, particularly for the $$$$ you spend for such a room. For example, in St. Thomas, you get more than twice the room quality and size for 2/3 the money. A glass of champagne in this facility will run you $35 and that is for a quality that you could buy a bottle for in a liquor store for $40. With all the foregoing said, it is a nice hotel, I just would not get club access next time as it is not worth it. The food and alcohol there are not that much or special. The highest floor my type of room could be obtained was the 9th floor which is okay, but if you really want a nice view, you have to pay much more to get higher. My room with club access and the view was $1K per night. If I was going to stay on Central Park, then I would consider the hotel again. If not, I would consider other locations as there are many options. I give it only 3/5 due to the value for what you get.

Room Tip: Get a room up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katman77382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you want a view of central park, then this hotel is one of the few places that offer that.

We stayed a night at a King Bed Central Park view room. The highest floor for this type of room was the 9th so although we had a view of the park, it was only 50ft or so above the tree line. So if you're expecting to be able to see the park in all its glory, you'll need to stump up for a more superior room.

Park views aside, the room was an OK size. Decorated in the style that you would expect from the Ritz (not modern) but extremely comfortable...and a great bathroom.

What makes this a 5 star review are all the nice touches that we were treated to, including chocolate covered strawberries in the room on arrival; a delicious birthday cake waiting for us after we returned from dinner; staff at our beck and call for whenever we needed the smallest thing; all the staff knowing you by name; the best spa treatment ever (according to wife), etc...

Highly recommended for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We received such personalised service. The staff were so welcoming and genuinely pleasant. It was such an oasis to walk into after a busy day out. Our children were greeted with a lovely stuffed toy and our daughter was given a complimentary birthday cake even though her birthday was several days after we were due to leave. The view from our suite over Central Park was amazing and was just like the photos on the website. We also had club level and again were greeted by the same people each day who were so nice. The restaurant was being refurbished which was a shame but Club level definitely made up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaide94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I wanted to visit the Central Park Zoo so I decided to stay at the Ritz, within a five minute walk I was there.

I only spent one night but it was an excellent one. The room was large and bright, highest quality. Little additions like the collar tabs make the difference. The staff was also top notch - kudos to Victor for the great service.

Unfortunately the bar was closed for renovations - I was really looking forward to having a drink or three there but I'll make it a point to stop in next time I'm in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Although our room on the club floor had a lousy view of the windows of an abutting building, the room, hotel, amenities and the location are superb. The only negative is that the grout lines on the shower tiles had mold and someone left a insulin pen in the minibar refrigerator. Other than those minor issues this place is awesome. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,497 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,481 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#47 of 469 in New York City
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#54 of 469 in New York City
1,108 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#24 of 469 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $775 - $1,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing