We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really enjoyed it! So centural. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #304 of 479 Hotels in New York City
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it! So centural. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Pulling up I was worries however walk though the door your mind is at ease. Air con, clean and welcoming staff. The room was perfect for the price and the central location. Really close to macys, Empire State and jump on trains. The breakfast was simple but really nice. Fresh breads, bagels, muffins, eggs, pancakes, waffles fresh fruit, tea/coffee. Perfect. Would recommend it to everyone. Have a really handy tourist information desk at the front which will help book anything for you!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kadie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Kadie27,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as we use it to better our services but we especially appreciate thoughtful reviews like yours.
We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    1,255
    418
    92
    84
See reviews for
569
885
125
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We needed a place for a two night stay in close proximity to Madison Square Garden. NYMA fit the bill perfectly. Neat, modern, clean, but no frills. Hotel staff was friendly & helpful. They did have a very nice breakfast in the morning with an array of choices-better than the usual coffee and cold Danish. There were only a few negatives: elevator was painfully slow, the shower had no place for steam to go and on our second night, very hot air was blowing through the bathroom vent at an alarming rate. Since it was the middle of the night, I stayed awake for quite awhile on "fire watch". Don't ask me why I didn't just call down to the front desk.....for some reason I had the impression that it wasn't manned all night. I cannot confirm this, though. All in all, a decent place to stay for what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellanonna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

staying two days in the city, took the train into Penn station. not much luggage but we arrived around 11AM and check-in wasn't until 3PM. walked the 2 or 3 blocks to the hotel and they tagged and held our bags for us as we explored the city til nearly 9PM. came back to check in, retrieved our bags and went to our room. room was .... small, but hey---- im only really using the bed and the shower not having a polo match or anything. they were all very satisfactory and we slept great. no hallway noise, outside noise, A/C worked good... only drawback I can see to this place is what they had for the complimentary breakfast. better off to find a smoothie truck or bagel man on the street. the selections were poor and really not very tasty. but like I said, there is tons of food outside !! Nice place, ... I would recommend and I would stay here again ...

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1204. had very nice view of the empire state building from our window. its only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were very please after staying at NYMA for 2 nights. The location is great, the price was very reasonable and I would not have to think twice about going back. The hotel was very clean and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobmngn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nyma is located within Koreatown (which means amazing Korean food in the same street), and a short walk from the Empire State Building, Macy's and Madison Square Garden. Another plus is the proximity of the subway stations at 34th street. The room we stayed at wasn't very spacious, but it was clean and had all the main amenities you can expect at a decent hotel (TV with many channels, coffee maker, A/C), as well as free WiFi and an iPod docking station. The free breakfast, however, was a huge let down. The industrial waffles and pancakes were still frozen and the tiny muffins were easily finished (and when the waiter would refill the box, he would just dump a bag of them in it). All of this in a rather small breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rofthecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good clean hotel about 15 minutes walk from Time Square but right next to Empire State Building. Very polite and helpful staff. Breakfast not worth queueing for and very little room to sit down, we didn't bother after the first morning. Overall a good place to stay in New York but remember that tax is added to your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala,florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I usually stay in NYC at the La Quinta, its sister hotel right across the street but it was booked. while i still prefer that one, the NYMA Hotel is still a very good location. i had a nice, decent sized room which i had no problems with. im happy to see they now have the local sports networks on their tv's/ i don't as for much from a hotel. im in NYC to have a good time, go to Yankee games, and hang out with friends and family. im not there very much so its just a place for me to sleep and shower. the staff was very nice from what i gathered, really didnt need to have too much interaction with them. i would certainly stay here again if i am unable to book the La Quinta. either hotel is great as it is in a prime location in NYC, close enough to all the action and far enough away from Times Square where you dont have to deal with alot of crowds going to and from the hotel.

Room Tip: ice machines are on even numbered floors,soda machines on odd numbered floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yankees2009champs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#266 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,230 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#298 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#291 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Herald Square Hotel
Herald Square Hotel
#286 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,583 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#295 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#179 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing