We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it! So centural. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #336 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Pulling up I was worries however walk though the door your mind is at ease. Air con, clean and welcoming staff. The room was perfect for the price and the central location. Really close to macys, Empire State and jump on trains. The breakfast was simple but really nice. Fresh breads, bagels, muffins, eggs, pancakes, waffles fresh fruit, tea/coffee. Perfect. Would recommend it to everyone. Have a really handy tourist information desk at the front which will help book anything for you!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Kadie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Kadie27,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as we use it to better our services but we especially appreciate thoughtful reviews like yours.
We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 2,806 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

We needed a place for a two night stay in close proximity to Madison Square Garden. NYMA fit the bill perfectly. Neat, modern, clean, but no frills. Hotel staff was friendly & helpful. They did have a very nice breakfast in the morning with an array of choices-better than the usual coffee and cold Danish. There were only a few negatives: elevator was painfully slow, the shower had no place for steam to go and on our second night, very hot air was blowing through the bathroom vent at an alarming rate. Since it was the middle of the night, I stayed awake for quite awhile on "fire watch". Don't ask me why I didn't just call down to the front desk.....for some reason I had the impression that it wasn't manned all night. I cannot confirm this, though. All in all, a decent place to stay for what we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellanonna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

staying two days in the city, took the train into Penn station. not much luggage but we arrived around 11AM and check-in wasn't until 3PM. walked the 2 or 3 blocks to the hotel and they tagged and held our bags for us as we explored the city til nearly 9PM. came back to check in, retrieved our bags and went to our room. room was .... small, but hey---- im only really using the bed and the shower not having a polo match or anything. they were all very satisfactory and we slept great. no hallway noise, outside noise, A/C worked good... only drawback I can see to this place is what they had for the complimentary breakfast. better off to find a smoothie truck or bagel man on the street. the selections were poor and really not very tasty. but like I said, there is tons of food outside !! Nice place, ... I would recommend and I would stay here again ...

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1204. had very nice view of the empire state building from our window. its only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Munsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were very please after staying at NYMA for 2 nights. The location is great, the price was very reasonable and I would not have to think twice about going back. The hotel was very clean and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bobmngn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nyma is located within Koreatown (which means amazing Korean food in the same street), and a short walk from the Empire State Building, Macy's and Madison Square Garden. Another plus is the proximity of the subway stations at 34th street. The room we stayed at wasn't very spacious, but it was clean and had all the main amenities you can expect at a decent hotel (TV with many channels, coffee maker, A/C), as well as free WiFi and an iPod docking station. The free breakfast, however, was a huge let down. The industrial waffles and pancakes were still frozen and the tiny muffins were easily finished (and when the waiter would refill the box, he would just dump a bag of them in it). All of this in a rather small breakfast room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rofthecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good clean hotel about 15 minutes walk from Time Square but right next to Empire State Building. Very polite and helpful staff. Breakfast not worth queueing for and very little room to sit down, we didn't bother after the first morning. Overall a good place to stay in New York but remember that tax is added to your room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I usually stay in NYC at the La Quinta, its sister hotel right across the street but it was booked. while i still prefer that one, the NYMA Hotel is still a very good location. i had a nice, decent sized room which i had no problems with. im happy to see they now have the local sports networks on their tv's/ i don't as for much from a hotel. im in NYC to have a good time, go to Yankee games, and hang out with friends and family. im not there very much so its just a place for me to sleep and shower. the staff was very nice from what i gathered, really didnt need to have too much interaction with them. i would certainly stay here again if i am unable to book the La Quinta. either hotel is great as it is in a prime location in NYC, close enough to all the action and far enough away from Times Square where you dont have to deal with alot of crowds going to and from the hotel.

Room Tip: ice machines are on even numbered floors,soda machines on odd numbered floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankees2009champs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#297 of 469 in New York City
2,619 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#310 of 469 in New York City
1,659 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#363 of 469 in New York City
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,429 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#250 of 469 in New York City
2,393 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#198 of 469 in New York City
3,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $128 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nyma is one of New York City's newest boutique hotels. Located in a vibrant neighborhood on 32nd Street between Fifth Avenue and Broadway, nyma is just steps away from the Empire State Building, Macy's, the Fashion District, Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The Jacob K. Javits Convention Center is also close by. Our large, brightly-lit lobby offers Wifi, a 24-hour business center with two iMacs, and full concierge services to help guests arrange for all types of sightseeing and leisure activities, and car services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing