We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

On arrival at 10pm after a days traveling we were told they had no room for us that night as a guest had got sick & was taking to hospital so they could not get her stuff out of the room until she returned & that they would have to walk us to another hotel. We were far from impressed with this but we had no choice but to go to the other hotel which was far from luxury. To accomadate us & apologise for this, the NYMA Hotel gave us a late check out on our last day. We stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was lovely, very modern. Beds were comfy & rooms were cleaned everyday. Breakfast room was mayhem & had a small choice of food so I avoided that for the rest of my stay. Its location is great. The Empire State Building is just around the corner & Times Square just a 10min walk. Liked this hotel alot but the trouble with the room on the first night kind of ruined it for me.....

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wexgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    1,325
    458
    104
    95
See reviews for
617
960
127
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Koronowo, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

That was my secound stay in NYMA and one more time realy great. Very clean and quiet rooms. Not very spacious but this is New York. Only one drawbag - breakfast area is too small so sometimes you have to wait for a table. Very good location close to Empire State Building, Penn station and other subway stations. Great feature is free lounge with coffe, tea and hot chocolate just above the reception. GREAT place to stay in Big Apple for tourists.

Room Tip: Some rooms on higher floors have realy nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maciexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Basic hotel but a good location to see the main sights. Based in Korea town, expect the street to be filled with Korean restaurants. Midtown doesn't have many other kind of restaurants so you will have to travel for meals. Flatiron area a walk away. Our room was clean enough but in need of a refurb, a little dated. We found the staff helpful and friendly, breakfast is included in the price and packed out every morning in the small and very warm breakfast room.
Tea and coffee were available from the mezzanine floor which was helpful after a day of sightseeing.
Budget hotel but not at a budget price, but then New York hotels are very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Very noisy hotel, cleanliness is low, a small kitchen area with poor food choices.
Staff is not so friendly.
Location of the hotel is very good.
Just one block from Empire State Building, and right across Metro station.
In general, not worth that price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ivangradjanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This typical city hotel is a no-frills, good, honest location for a NYC visit. There's very little in the way of facilities, free breakfast being the only one really, and that's a stampede, but not altogether unpleasant. The room we had was satisfactory, a lower city view, aircon, decent bathroom with OK but smallish towels. Beds comfortable and all clean throughout. Everywhere could do with redecoration, but overall it's what you'd expect of a city centre budget hotel (although NYC "budget" price isn't cheap, of course...). Macy's is just a couple of blocks away, as is the Empire State.
Walk a few blocks south to the Flatiron area on 5th Ave to eat at "Eataly", a sprawling indoor market style bunch of restaurants, for your local dinner. Take a cab to the Meatpacking District, or over to the west side for a broader choice. (NB: New York cab drivers refer to this hotel as " Neema", not "Nyema", they won't understand where you want if you say that!)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at NYM hotel in May 2014. We arrived at 3 in the morning after catching the train to Penn Station from the airport, we were exhausted. A friendly manager sorted us out and within minutes we were in our clean comfortable room. We woke a few hours later to a continental breakfast with plenty to choose from, great variety. This hotel is obviously very popular as the area was full of every culture of tourist.We felt very safe and close to everything from our hotel.We had decided to do every tourist thing we could from this point , it was easy, easy to subway , around the corner for buses on 5th avenue, and plenty of grayline and tourist buses and hop on/ off outside the Empire State bldg.If you want to get your body compass arranged , from here after the Empire Bldg you can easily get to 9/11 memorial , anywhere on the subway , walk to Macys , food a plenty in Korean way and surrounding area, there is food for every palate. and if you fancy a walk easy to get to Time square , easy only 10 blocks away about a half hour walk with window shopping.My only beef was the slowness with the lifts. We were on 10th floor, so no hassel getting down via the back stairs, but did not fancy the walk up , so always waited .NYC is just bustling so it was nice to retire to quiet each night. They were in the process of renovating roof so hopefully we can see this next visit.We had a microwave and fridge which was a lifesaver late at night. Each night when we came home we would get our last cuppa or hot chocolate from the 24hr tea/coffee area. people enjoyed sharing the large t.v. here for watching sport and catching up.We preferred ours in our room in comfort of our bed.Very comfortable.

Room Tip: I always choose non smoking , the beds were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edendownunder1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at NYMA and have no complaints, I asked in advance for a non-smoking quiet room and was given this. The hotel is very good value for money. The room was a good size and the bathroom. had microwave, fridge and coffee machine which was a nice extra. The bathroom was medium size (amply big enough) and had soap and shampoo dispensers on the wall, as well as body lotion. As stated in other reviews, the breakfast room is probably too small for the number of guests, but it was manageable and the breakfasts were fine with a good choice. I do think the breakfast attendant could have done with help, but they did a real good job. Hotel was clean throughout and location excellent. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. It was also one of the quietest hotels I have stayed in in New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelafar_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#306 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,359 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing