We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #336 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 for 8 nights. Very central location,in the Korean quarter, right behind Empire State Building and a very good price. The only complaint we had was that we were in a room right beside the lift so it was quite noisy but we didnt complaint as we had been put on the penthouse floor so the room was big. Free continental breakfast was ok but the room needs to be bigger as its not enough to cope with the amount of guests as some guests were standing or taking breakfast up to their rooms. New hotel, rooms cleaned daily and towels changed whenever you wanted. Reception staff helpful, also free internet usage at reception and free wifi in the rooms. Also reception area has free tea, coffee and hot chocolate machine.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

You can see the Empire State from the hotel entrance!
Location is superb, rooms are a little dated but clean and have everything you need.
Free continental breakfast buffet is an added bonus.
Can't fault it for the price!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel we had booked cancelled our reservation, and NYMA was able to offer us a great value rate right at the last minute. They had a room ready for us by midday on the day we called. The rooms are huge, spotlessly clean, have massive beds, safes, HD TV, quiet and effective air conditioning, fridges and microwaves. The staff are really friendly and there is also a very helpful concierge on site. The location is amazing - Fifth Avenue, two blocks from Empire State building, with loads of buses and subway stations to choose from. It's in Korea Town so that's the main cuisine on the street (along with Japanese), but you only have to walk a little further to find something else if needed. I would have expected to pay more for a location, service and quality like this. No hesitation in recommending for singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The nyma formerly known as the Red Roof Manhattan, located in the heart of Koreatown, offers a decent accomodation for good value. Rooms are clean and efficient and have what you need with no fluff. Free continental breakfast, free wifi and cable TV. Great central location close to Broadway and just a short walk to Times Square. Restaurants abound in this neighbourhood so no danger of going hungry. 2 elevators (you may wait during peak periods) and a dedicated lounge on the lobby mezzanine plus a tourist center in the lobby. If you just need a decent place to crash, this does very nicely.

Room Tip: Rooms at back offer no view but are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Affordable hotel at a central location, within short walking distance of Broadway for the theatres and restaurants. Close enough too to the jaw dropping Times Square and all the shopping. The Empire State Building is just around the corner on Fifth Avenue. The hotel is located along the Korean strip so Korean restaurants abound. Next door is a terrific Parisian style bakery which offers the most scrumptious pastries and two doors away is a great Vietnamese restaurant which opens till 5.30am! The hotel staff are helpful and friendly especially Mirela and Alexsa who are at the front desk. Thank you, Alexsa, for offering us the use of your personal phone charger when one was needed urgently.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the building and on a higher floor would definitely be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Sue C,
Thank your for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed your time in New York City. Our staff works very hard to ensure that our guests are very happy and comfortable during their stay and go out of their way to do so. We will certainly pass along your words of kindness to our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit New York.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel 3 times, once for 2 weeks with a friend who was working in 2005, then for my wedding in NY in 2007 and finally for my 1st anniversary in 2008. Each time the staff have been excellent, the included breakfast (unusual for NY budget hotels) was a great start to the day, and it is basically located in a central and easily accessible place for all sightseeing - and so easy to locate on your return as you just need to head for the Empire State and you are there !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Nyma for 5 nights in September 2013 and found it a very good base to explore New York.

Good - For the location it worked out a little cheaper than most of the other hotels we found in the same area. We were on the 8th floor and although the street below is quite busy we didn't notice any noise from it. Rooms are clean, good wardrobe space, decent size bathroom and very comfy beds. My hairdryer broke on the 2nd night and I informed reception and a gentleman came within 10 minutes and replaced it. There is free wifi in the rooms, computers and printers in the reception to print off boarding passes and tickets to attractions to save queing. There is a lounge area with a tv and free coffee/tea machine. There is a room to store your suitcases after check out and the lady at the desk will order transportation to the airport for you. The best thing about the hotel is location. It is very central and within walking distance to most places. Breakfast was fine with bagels, cereal, fruit, yougurts and juice. Recommend for a reasonable priced (for NYC) hotel in a good location.

Negative - We didn't spend much time in the room as we were out early and back late so wasn't a major problem for us but our room was very close to another building which meant it was constently dark and didn't get any natural light. We would get up at 7am and it felt like the middle of the night! Rooms on the opposite side of the corrider are very light. Our room was next to the ice machine which kept waking me up around 2am (not sure if somebody was using it or if it was just generally noisey). Agree with all other reviewers that the breakfast room isn't big enough. There are about 12 floors and the room only holds about 20 people so as you can imagine it is always very very busy. We always got a seat by one of us keeping watch for a seat coming avaiable while the other made drinks.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#299 of 469 in New York City
2,617 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#312 of 469 in New York City
1,659 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#362 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,429 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#248 of 469 in New York City
2,390 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $130 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nyma is one of New York City's newest boutique hotels. Located in a vibrant neighborhood on 32nd Street between Fifth Avenue and Broadway, nyma is just steps away from the Empire State Building, Macy's, the Fashion District, Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The Jacob K. Javits Convention Center is also close by. Our large, brightly-lit lobby offers Wifi, a 24-hour business center with two iMacs, and full concierge services to help guests arrange for all types of sightseeing and leisure activities, and car services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing