We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, exzellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #337 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The NYMA is located in the very Centre of Manhattan, which makes it a great starting point for exploring NYC. It is in the Little Korea quarter, with a bunch of restaurants around. The rooms are clean and tidy with a small refrigerator, TV and coffee/ tea maker. The shower is in the bathtub and fixed at the wall.
Recommendation: Try to get a room on the upper floors as the breakfast room is on the first floor and its (noisy) air condition is annoying.
The breakfast was pretty various and you get bagels, donuts, toast, muffins and other sweet pieces. Although the breakfast room is too small for the "rush hour" the guests usually make it, that you don't need to wait too long for a seat or a table. From NYMA you can reach any point in Manhattan within 30 minutes. A Metro station is just across the street
I can absolutely recommend the NYMA for a city trip to NYC.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank murmelgrumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 2,816 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Negatives: On arrival was greeted by an unfriendly receptionist who promptly told us that we could not check in until 3pm even though we were aware of this and just wanted to store our bags. After we did check in at 3pm we had to wait for one of two lifts which took ages to arrive as there were only 2 small lifts which were very slow and had to service the whole hotel (15+ floors). On the first night, just as we were about to go to bed, we noticed our bed had dirty sheets with hair from previous guest all over it which obviously meant the sheets had not been changed. Our final point that we were unhappy with is the fact that the breakfast room is very small for the amounts staying in the hotel, nowhere near enough tables and chairs, very hot, poor selection of breakfast foods.
Positives: free Wi-fi and use of lobby computers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Vanessa V,
Thank you for your review. We usually allow guests to check in as early as they’d like, provided there are clean rooms available. Our sheets are always changed between guests. However, we do wish to apologize for the hair found on your sheets. The breakfast room can get crowded during times of high occupancy. We have an extra room adjacent to the main breakfast room with some tables and chairs for spillover. Unfortunately, we currently do not have any more space to expand the breakfast room.
Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay. We hope you had a great time in New York City and that you will reconsider us in the future. The majority of our guests are very satisfied with their stay because of the central location and overall excellent value.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Solid hotel for the price. Room smaller than usual but typical for New York City. Breakfast was OK. Cold/Hot water machine. Orange juice was good. Breakfast room can get very crowded around 9 in the morning.
There is a second floor in the lobby with a big TV and coffee machine. Good place to sit down and take a break.
Finally the location. Can't beat. Traveled with parents who came from China. Being in Korea town means finding food was less a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank znd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights.
I arrived late, and called so they saved the room for me.
Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
The first night I got a small room which they replaced after one night.
Rooms facing the back are bit noisy because of the generator. Rooms on the second floor are very noisy because of breakfast.
Location is great, breakfast was very good, although quite crowded and not always I had a place to sit.
Rooms are renovated and very clean, with all facilities.
Overall this is a great hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Better a floor higher than 6, facing the street (not the back), not next to the elevator or the vend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravruva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was my second stay at this hotel. The first time I was lucky enough to have a room with a view on the Empire State Building. This time it was not the case but it didn't really matter. We had a room with 2 queen size beds to accommodate the 3 of us. The room is spacious with all the features needed including a safe which is useful when you don't want to carry your business laptop all day long! The room was very quiet and we enjoyed 2 very good night sleeps. The breakfast room is quite small but although we had breakfast at around 9 am on both days we managed to find a table quickly. What is served is sufficient and is included in the price of the room. The service is perfect and the personnel very helpful. My only critics relates to the elevators for which we had to wait for far too long most of the time. The hotel is very well located and the price is not too expensive considering this is New York. Next time I come to NYC I will book again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow! Just returned from a 2 night stay at the NYMA Hotel located on 32nd Street between 5th & 6th Avenue in NYC on a block named “Korea Way”. Had a very pleasant stay on this, for NYC, quiet street. Hotel room was typical NY, small but very clean; it was well stocked with plenty of towels. The beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast was plentiful. All the hotel staff was pleasant and check in (and out) was a breeze. Very good receptionists. There were only 2 elevators for 17 floors but we did not experience long waits. Because my daughter and I flew in on the “red eye” from New Mexico (thank you, Jet Blue!), it was early morning when we finally arrived at the hotel. No problem with storing our luggage and off we went shopping. It was 2 blocks from Macy’s, Empire State Bldg, just a great location. Around the corner from the hotel, on 5th Avenue, is a great pizzeria...yum. The NYMA is an Apple Core hotel located in mid-town Manhattan. There are several hotels under their umbrella but I opted for the NYMA because of its proximity to Penn Station, about 2 ½ blocks from the hotel with easy access to the Long Island Railroad that only took about 20 minutes to JFK airport. I wish I knew how fast and easy the LIRR was before I took the “E” train into Manhattan. Live and learn. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 13th floor of the hotel so neither noise or food smells filtered in. Another tip: s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josie87120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay here two night in mid April. Were pleased that we were able to get into room early after a 11 hour flight. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Clean room good size. Comfortable bed. Great location, close to Times Square. Next door to the wonderful Paris Baguette bakery. Continental breakfast not much. Slow elevators. A good 3 1/2 star hotel with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#296 of 470 in New York City
2,625 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#310 of 470 in New York City
1,671 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 470 in New York City
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#362 of 470 in New York City
1,217 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#241 of 470 in New York City
2,421 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 470 in New York City
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $123 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nyma is one of New York City's newest boutique hotels. Located in a vibrant neighborhood on 32nd Street between Fifth Avenue and Broadway, nyma is just steps away from the Empire State Building, Macy's, the Fashion District, Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The Jacob K. Javits Convention Center is also close by. Our large, brightly-lit lobby offers Wifi, a 24-hour business center with two iMacs, and full concierge services to help guests arrange for all types of sightseeing and leisure activities, and car services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing